We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

709 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 536: English reviews
Start your review of Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My do ghter enjoyed her time at Amani Tiwi..mostly because the pool is amazing. But the customer service is horrible. Every time I ordered for something I would be reminded that I have to pay (maybe because I was a black local tourist and therefore the staff thought that I could not afdoes my stay there?) There are a number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nereah O
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

It's really not what I expected. The rooms are extremely basic, nothing to write home about. The customer service is poor. We came in on full board and each and every time we ordered a drink, the waiter would remind us that we would have to pay for the drinks in a very condescending manner. This was highly irritating because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanne S
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited the place in February 2016. On the first day we went to the breakfast and just from the breakfast to meeting with resident. During that time (1.5h estimated) somebody clearly was in our room and managed to check it very well - 100 USD in cash were missing (and they were very well hidden). We immediately told this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iza K
Kisumu
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the hotel in feb. the ambiance was great and chilled and not crowded. We were welcomed by an amazing cocktail and ushered to our rooms (double standard rooms). The rooms are as basic as day, the double rooms have a queen size bed and a tiny bed(I still do not understand why the tiny bed, why not have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CORNY C
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Corny, Thank you for review & thank you for taking your time to comment on our services etc & we take them seriously. Your reviews are very valuable to us & this is where, if there are any areas which that need to be worked on, we do just that. We have gone through it & those points you...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amani Tiwi is a pleasant resort to spend a few days on the beach in Kenya. Even the standard rooms are spacious and air conditioned. The beach is beautiful and clean. The staff is extremely welcoming and friendly. The pool is huge and has some shade from the intense sun. The food is varied and good-- I did not like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank libby9098
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Libby! Thank you for review. It was our pleasure to host you here at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort & we believe you had a memorable stay with us. We do have three set meals in our main restaurant & they are all buffet. We do serve high afternoon tea with snacks between 4oopm to 5oopm. Our pizzeria restaurant is...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its a amazing palace for friends. The checking was very smooth with great smile from receptionist. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. walking distance to the beach. restaurant stuff remember us by our names and food was very delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EliteLuxury_KE
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review. The pleasure was all ours to welcome you again to your preferred holiday destination! From your review, we believe you once again had a pleasant stay with us. We cant wait to welcome you back again to our Paradise Under African Skies! Karibu Tena! Joseph Kaunda - Front Office Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love it soo much and would like to be back....jst some adjustment on there menu ....love Amani Tiwi from staffs to room suite swimming pool I jst love everything about Amani Tiwi it was a great experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryam S
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Maryam, Thank you for review & thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination amongst many. The pleasure was ours to host you at our resort. To quote you,'...love Amani Tiwi from staffs to room suite swimming pool I jst love everything about Amani...' We look forward to welcoming you back here at our Paradise Under African...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is quite lovely, friendly staff for sure but a bit too inquisitive at times. The food was disappointing, repetitive and at times just bland. They also took ages to clean the rooms and the pool didn't look too clean at times. The beach is lovely though but during the day (low tide) you have to step on coral...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wambairem
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review. It was our pleasure to host you here at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort. Sorry If you felt the food was disappointing but we do change our menus on a daily basis & we try to carter for all kinds of guests. About the rooms, for the in-house guests, we clean the rooms between 9oo...

Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Smooth Check In procedures Amazing and Warm staff. We even got upgraded to a Deluxe room. Big and spacious room. Well laid out and quite private. Their restaurants are fresh and food is very delicious. Rates are pocket friendly. Worth a repeat visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanSonko
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dan, Thank you for review. Thank you for having chosen us, amongst many, as your holiday destination. It was our pleasure to host you & we believe that you have very fond memories of this place. We cant wait to welcome you back to our Paradise Under African Skies! Karibu Tena Dan! Joseph Kaunda - Front Office Manager

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The front office staff were very friendly and helpful, Miriam was exceptional when handing any issues we had. Make sure to request for the rooms on the block near the dinning area. Initially were placed in the old rooms. They should not book anyone there until they renovate. they are dull and the bathroom ceiling was peeling and pouring, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pollyNairobi
G M, Front Office Manager at Amani Tiwi Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Polly, Thank you for review & thank you for having chosen Amani Tiwi Beach Resort as your holiday destination. Sorry about the room. We do periodic & preventive maintenance too to out facilities & am pleased to note that Miriam & other staff members were exceptional in their duties. To quote you,'... Miriam sorted us out by moving us...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

724 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (690)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (232)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (228)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ukunda
1.2 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
1,286 reviews
4.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
938 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 30 in Diani Beach
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
361 reviews
17.0 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 58 in Mombasa
2,846 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently up graded with an addition of another specialty restaurant-Sultan Dhow & Aqua wine bar overlooking the Indian Ocean with a wide choice of wine served by glass. Refurbished Floodlit Tennis Court. A dedicated 3D 84 inch screen facility, Ultra modern conferences in a separate hotel wing.New hotel boutiques, air conditioned rooms, Hi- speed WIFI Internet & 32'' LCD TV with Satellite feed in the rooms, Complimentary mini fridges, electronic safes, Tea & Coffee making facility, Hair dryers, Mosquito nets and superior guest toiletries Dedicated 24 hours in room dining menu. Upmarket Hair Salon Beauty & Wellness Center.Superior guest amenities. Weekly Complimentary traditional renewal of Wedding vows.3 Specialty restaurants and 4 bars including swim-up sunken bar in the a 167 Meter length free form swimming pool... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amani Tiwi Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 1877, Ukunda 80400, Kenya (Formerly Tiwi Beach Resort)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amani Tiwi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amani Tiwi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amani Tiwi Beach Hotel Ukunda
Tiwi Beach Hotel
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort Kenya/Ukunda
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ukunda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ukunda
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ukunda
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ukunda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Amani Tiwi Beach Resort staff and other travelers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Amani Tiwi Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“always insist on the new rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles pollyNairobi, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floors less noisy and make sure you get a room with working AC. theGYM and pool were enjoyable.”
 of 5 bubbles etyangmalindi, Jan 4, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms toward on the southern side give the best hosipitality”
 of 5 bubbles Powers101, Dec 15, 2016 | Read review
“Insist on the type of bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Tabiii, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“If you want value for money try to get deluxe rooms on the upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles georgeo594, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question