We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve

05/14/2017 05/15/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

After almost a year of non stop working Kongoni was recommended by friends as a place close to Nairobi for a getaway. When I arrived I was immediately struck by the beauty and elegant simplicity of the house. For 4 days we enjoyed game drives , sundowners, boat rides and delicious food. The staff were friendly and very knowledgeable about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
Management response:

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate this

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed February 23, 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time there, food was very good (thank you Clara) and the service (Martin and Wesley). Had a very relaxing massage which really helps after a long work day. And as always the perfect location to see animals and relaxing. Enjoyed it a lot and I will be back hopefully soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larus84
Kongoni L, Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay

New York City, New York
Reviewed February 22, 2016

This lodge has all the potential of being a great weekend getaway place but alas, it is not there yet. Pros - beautiful landscapes -fantastic spot for the bush breakfast -wonderful view for the sundowners -they allow dogs! -friendly staff Cons -We received very little information about the lodge upon arrival. I finally asked on the last day and learned...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Malle25
Kongoni L, Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review

We are extremely disappointed on the very few occasions when a guest has complaints about the Lodge. All of us who work so hard here to make sure that your stay is an enjoyable one will think carefully about your comments. However I wish to respond to some of the accusations. We pride ourselves on a relaxed and homely atmosphere...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Kongoni over the weekend with family and loved every minute of it. The views are breath taking, the first stop when you get there is the verandah. Sit for five minutes and take it in. This is a guaranteed therapeutic experience. The kids always run to the pool area. Food is fresh and tasty, the beds comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SerahMwihaki
Kongoni L, General Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We ,who work hard here at Kongoni Game valley,appreciate it . We look forward to welcoming you again

Montalla
Reviewed October 31, 2015

This is the complete African experience. Courtesy of the owner, all costs are covered so everything you pay for your accommodation go to the support of the animals, and the roaming veterinarian clinics.The food is super good courtesy of chef Purity and Wesley our waiter was very. The food is very good courtesy of chef Purityand Wesley our waiter was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnandpat88Montalla
Fleet, Hampshire, Uk
Reviewed October 22, 2015

We visited Kongoni Lodge over a weekend and had a wonderful relaxing time; the setting is beautiful. We were greeted on arrival with cool flannels to wash the dust of the journey from our hands and faces, and a refreshing drink to wash it from our throats. Our room was very spacious with everything we required - with just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwoUKtravellers
Kongoni L, General Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review. We really do appreciate it when clients take the time to give feedback especially when it is so pleasant.! We hope to see you again at Kongoni Game valley

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed August 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in a nice cottage which was clean and nicely taken care of, staff were very very nice and we had no issues. The swimming pool was also nice and the views of the lake were beautiful - I would recommend! Adding characters for trip advisor :( ............

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irina Z
Reviewed July 12, 2015 via mobile

This would have been a nice stay were it not for terribly unprofessional management who managed to make us feel unwelcome even before we arrived because we had two small kids and they were evidently both uncomfortable with this. They also seemed uncomfortable with anyome who isnt white skinned and we were subjected to a number of uncomfortable racial comments...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Anabelle T
Kongoni L, Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you experienced such an awful time at our beautiful lodge. It was not our intention in any way to make you feel uncomfortable and we do hope that you return one day in order to enjoy what so many people feel about Kongoni. I do need to ask you ,why you did not voice your...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed June 13, 2015

Kongoni Lodge is a beautiful colonial home that is set in a beautiful part of Kenya. All the rooms are arranged around a stone courtyard with a water fountain. The lodge has several common rooms, including a large living room with a fireplace, a huge indoor dining room, and a couple of outdoor eating areas. There is a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank foggyglam
Kongoni L, Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. This means a lot to all of us who try so hard to make Kongoni a wonderful experience. We sincerely hope that your travels will bring you to our lodge again

London
Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

We are sadly leaving Kongoni Lodge today after being here for 3 nights. Everything was superb and well thought out! Helen and Richard who manage the Lodge introduced themselves and were great for advice on helping plan our itinerary! All of the staff were so friendly and attentive- Wesley our waiter was brilliant, Francis our guide had incredible knowledge and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RebeccaLeeLondon
Kongoni L, General Manager at Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve, responded to this review

Many thanks to you both for the kind words. All of us who work here and try to make Kongoni a success certainly appreciate your review! We hope to meet you again in the near future

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
05/14/2017 05/15/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naivasha hotels
11.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
11.9 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#3 of 41 in Naivasha
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Elsamere
Elsamere
#6 of 41 in Naivasha
107 reviews
11.9 mi away
Enashipai Resort & Spa
Enashipai Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Naivasha
716 reviews
5.0 mi away
Wileli House
Wileli House
#10 of 41 in Naivasha
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location & Transport: Kongoni Lodge is located on a 2,000-acre estate run by the Animal Rights Reserved Foundation (ARR), populated with vast wildlife, ranging from leopards, hyenas and migratory lions to buffalo and giraffe. It sits in the rift valley, overlooking the shores of Lake Oloiden, adjacent to Lake Naivasha. The lakes are surrounded by Acacia trees and are home to a large hippo population, as well as over 400 bird species, including Lesser Flamingoes. Due to the high altitude of 1884m/6180ft above sea level, mosquitos are very rare and malaria is virtually nonexistent. In peak season, daily Safarilink flights operate to and from Wilson airport in Nairobi, which only take 15 minutes, and flights to and from the Masai Mara are approximately 40 minutes. Alternatively, guests are welcome to book helicopter transport straight from our doorstep to any desired location. Car transport is possible, with Nairobi and Nakuru being two and three hours away, respectively. Accommodation & Communication: With over a century of history behind it, Kongoni is now a private house that opens up for guests offering privacy and exclusivity in a tradition colonial setting. The main house offers five en-suite bedrooms, all off a central courtyard designed to accommodate the late countess. All rooms feature newly renovated bathrooms with 24hr solar hot water. The Lodge is equipped with wireless internet, DVD library, satellite television and 24hr electricity. Further to the main house, just across the gardens, is the Pili Pili & Chui guest cottages both with 3 en-suite bedrooms, a private living room, dining room, kitchen and veranda. The cottages are available as extra guest bedrooms or to rent as a whole for a self-catered experience. We can offer a chef and nannies for families at an extra cost. The Kitchen: Our cuisine has developed as a blend of various cultures. Our house chef Samuel Ngige & Purity Nyaruai Wanjau (formerly of Hogmead, Nairobi) both come from families with a passion for cooking and have over 40 years between them in Mediterranean, European, North African, Indian, Swahili and many other cuisines. We cook healthy, locally sourced dishes that everyone can enjoy.We use locally farmed organic produce. Fruit and vegetables, free range eggs, yogurt and fresh cream come from local dairy farms. Fresh fish and seafood is bought in from the coast or Lake Victoria, and spices from Zanzibar provide the perfect seasoning. The veranda, gardens & pool: A major feature of the house design is the long veranda that overlooks the front lawns and gardens. The view is populated with Acacia trees all the way down to the Lake and towards the distant volcanic peaks. The overall impression is one of privacy, quiet and nature's abundance. The gardens are open to wildlife; one can sit peacefully on the veranda and watch zebra, warthog and giraffe that are frequent visitors and come remarkably close. Another attraction is the pool that provides a way to cool down, particularly in the hot and dry season. Wildlife conservancy & Animal Rights Reserved Foundation (ARR): Kongoni Lodge is situated within a wildlife conservancy named ARR Reserve. Guests have the option to go on a game drive where they can see our resident leopards, elands, giraffes, buffalos, warthogs, hyenas, impalas, jackals and many more. You can drive through the hills of Kongoni Estate and enjoy a sundowner around a bonfire or alternatively choose Mundui Estate where flat plains allow you to see Thomson's gazelles and bat eared foxes in their natural habitat. Animal Rights Reserved Foundation's aim is to aid wildlife and support local communities in order to create conservation awareness. From the base, which is located a 5 minute walk from the main house, they operate a mobile vet unit and veterinary centre and rescue animals from all around Kenya. A percentage of every guest bill will be donated on your behalf to ARR. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve

Address: Kongoni Lodge & Game Valley | Moi South Lake Road | (Before Kongoni Road Side Village), Naivasha 20117, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Price Range: $105 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Kongoni Lodge On The ARR Reserve Naivasha, Kenya - Rift Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kongoni Lodge on the ARR Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I preferred the cottage for more intimate animal viewings, but the entire property is gorgeous”
jennifermG1294OE, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms looked wonderful in their different ways”
clusicoll, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“A view towards the lake is best.”
johnandpat88Montalla, Oct 31, 2015 | Read review
“'Bird' room particularly nice”
Jacaranda_12, Apr 17, 2015 | Read review
“I had a chance to look through the whole lodge and all rooms look equally beautiful and comfortable”
114tashap, Apr 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question