We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lolwe Drive, off Aput Road, opp. Nyanza Club, Milimani, Kisumu 40100 Kenya
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$102
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$93
View deal
Travelocity$102
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (124)
Room & Suite (30)
Videos (2)

About

#6 of 72 hotels in Kisumu
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Overview Sovereign Hotel is an upmarket boutique hotel, offering unprecedented service and luxury on the lake shores of Kisumu. It is located in the leafy and peacefully Milimani area, only a stone's throw away from the centre to town. By providing great service, serving exciting culinary delights and offering wellness and fitness choices, our guests are treated to a complete hospitality experience. Accommodation We have 35 luxury suites. We offer single, twin and executive luxury suites. All suites are elegantly decorated and equipped with all modern amenities such as DSTV flat screen TV, AC and minibar. The suites come with high speed Wi-Fi and Satellite TV. Each suite has a floor area of at least 44 sq. and includes a lounge, an office space and a small balcony. The bathrooms are very clean and are fitted with rain showers and vanity mirrors amongst other amenities. Gastronomy The dining experience is top-priority at Sovereign Hotel. Maestro, our restaurant at the Sovereign Hotel, serves up an eclectic menu, encompassing several world class cuisines like French, Italian and Indian. We also have a Japanese cuisine where our guests can choose between teppanyaki, cooked live on the hot plate, and freshly prepared sushi. Our extensive wine list offers wine to complement every meal. The Legends Bar & Lounge is an atmospheric cocktail bar, with a jazz-age feel. A wide variety of cocktails, wines and spirits is on offer here. Kick back and relax while allowing the lake breeze and the lake view to soothe your senses. Café Caprice serves quality coffees and teas as well as delicious pastries and breads, freshly baked in our in-house bakery. Wellness & Health Chill and relax while lounging on the sunbeds, or at the covered terrace overlooking the pool and garden. The health club consists of a 12 meter long swimming pool and a mini spa; consisting of a steam room and a beauty and massage room. Time spent here is a sure recipe for relaxation and rejuvenation. Events & Conferencing Our conference and banqueting facilities can host a variety of events equipped with state of the art facilities. Both indoor and outdoor venues are available, for up to 150 people. The gardens and the swimming pool are perfect for informal joyous occasions. For meetings, our executive Chambers boardroom is perfectly suited. Conferences, weddings and formal events can be accommodated in the Hibiscus Hall, seating 150 people. Our specialized events team is on hand to help you organize your event. We welcome you to come and experience what Sovereign Hotel has to offer! Apartments The apartments are tastefully furnished, with attention to details, modern colors, designer lighting and high quality accessories. Located in Milimani, perfect for those looking for a functional and high standard accommodation. They are stylish one bedroom apartments and are approximately 45m2 and can comfortably accommodate up to 2 people. The rooms are located 200 meters from Sovereign Hotel. The house they are built in has a beautiful rooftop terrace for scenic views and incredible sunsets of which guests will have access to. The house is hi-tech, including a state of the art lighting system and high speed WI-FI internet. The design is characterized by the English aristocracy with rigorous use of materials, such as mahogany wood in contrast with the light elements used on the walls. The fully furnished apartments come equipped will all the necessary amenities. From king size bed with en-suite bathroom, LED flat screen TV, a dining area with table and chairs, fully equipped kitchen complete with cutlery and crockery and the living room with comfortable lounging sofas and chairs. There is access to a common lounge and veranda facing the lake with a long garden. All utility bills, security, cleaning services and laundry services (bed linen but not personal laundry) are part of the incredible offer! Included is also access to Sovereign Hotel to enjoy free swimming and the option of being able to enroll in a membership program which gives you discounts on accommodation and F&B. The strategic position will allow you to easily walk to all major points of tourist and business interest.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Squash
Darts
Fishing
Karaoke
Squash offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, Polish and 1 more

Location

Full view
64Somewhat walkable
Grade: 64 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
205Reviews5Q+A56Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 107
  • 63
  • 25
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ann wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
Incredibly friendly staff that makes you feel taken care of, great food, very clean and well maintained and secure environment. We stayed here while visiting Kisumu and also used this venue for working on a group project. They made it easy for us from reservation to check out. Our research team was very happy with the conference room, food and tea/coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs conference room with a view of the lake. The 2nd floor rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
It was our utmost pleasure to host you in Sovereign and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful reviews. We sincerely hope to get the chance to host you and the team again in the short future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ronald O wrote a review May 2022
34 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This hotel was excellent and the images are exactly how the place looks Staff were super friendly, the room was super clean and quiet And the Jazz bar is 👌🏿👌🏿 Only bit for improvement is that the porters could be a bit more proactive in helping with luggage.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded May 7, 2022
Hi Ronald Thank you for having chosen Sovereign Hotel as your place of during your recent visit to Kisumu. It was our utmost pleasure to serve you and ensure your stay with us was most enjoyable and memorable. We have a porter that is stationed in reception to help guests with their luggage and we will definitely look into ensuring this service is provided with much more expertise and with a timely manner. Looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela A wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
It was our second time back at the hotel having been there in January. we love the location as it is near a Mall and the generally serene area is great for an evening walk. It's quiet at night. However we didn't get as good service this second time. The hotel needs overall improvement. One feels that management has settled and is too comfortable with the way things are, despite competition from other hotels, yet the facility has great promise. the bathroom sink was old and didn't drain water easily so we had to get creative to prop the stopper to get water out. it was hard to regulate hot/cold water from shower. The bathroom needs an overall touch up. Otherwise the sleeping area is comfy and welcoming, and one gets good sleep quality. On check-in, the receptionist didn't brief us about meal times or check in/out times. we had to ask for tea/coffee facilities to be brought to the room and the housekeeper brought only one coffee sachet whereas we were two people in the room. No creamer for the tea/coffee was provided. On check out the receptionist didn't give us a receipt despite saying she would (as we were going back to the room after we cleared the payment, she promised to give us the receipt as we left. we forgot to ask for it when we handed over the key. but having promised us, she should have given it to us). one felt that the staff, though friendly, were going through the motions. However Alfred, the waiter in the restaurant, was very pleasant and enthusiastic. the security team is friendly and welcoming. In short, it will be hard to come back a third time when there are other options in Kisumu. we fear a third experience will be far worse given that our second stay was not as good as the first one...things getting worse? We didn't get value for our money!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Hi Agatha Thank you for your reviews, we always strive to ensure our guests have wonderful stays with us and feedback like these is what helps us improve and maintain our high standards. We regret to have not given you a memorable and enjoyable stay but have taken all into account and will ensure action is taken. We hope to get the chance to host you again and provide us with a chance to have you experience first class service that Sovereign is well acclaimed for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stevemwan wrote a review Jul 2022
Kenya2 contributions
I really liked the ambience, strategic quiet location away from the rather busy CBD. Rooms are quite good, well finished & spacious. Quite superb hospitality and catering services. There is room to improve relationship /customer care services
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level especially those with a good view of Lake Victoria would be ideal.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Hi, It was our utmost pleasure to host you in Sovereign, and thank you very much for the 5* rating and wonderful reviews. We strive to ensure our guests have the most memorable stays with us and will ensure all services including relationship/customer are top notch. Looking forward to hosting you again in the short future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tamara Williams wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The hotel was really nice and the rooms are spacious! The people are very welcoming. Restaurant is good. I really enjoyed my stay. I want to leave an extra special review of Maria at the spa. I have had many many massages and she was the best I ever had. Her hands were magic and thank you for making my vacation extra special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded Jun 24, 2022
Hello Tamara It was our pleasure to host you in Sovereign and are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for the lovely reviews, we sincerely hope to get the chance to host you again in the short future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jules wrote a review Apr 2022
29 contributions5 helpful votes
Loved the warm reception right from the security guards at the entrance. Bruce was very kind and professional, he ushered me and made sure I was well settled. The roms are heavenly, very homely, you can't go wrong! Gordon the waiter, was very warm as well. All the staff in general, they would smile at you on the corridors, with a warm greeting. I liked the pool setting, very private not like usual hotels where most pools are located at the hearts of restaurant. Hope to be back someday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded May 2, 2022
The Sovereign family strives to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable and memorable experience during their stay. It was our utmost pleasure to host you and are delighted you enjoyed the services we have to offer. Thank you so much for the lovely reviews and 5* rating. We are very much looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AustralianHelen wrote a review Mar 2022
Canberra, Australia97 contributions64 helpful votes
Elizabeth was so helpful before our arrival at the hotel. This was our first time to Kisumu and Elizabeth assisted us with local information and booking a car to take us to a local scenic attraction. She is a wonderful Ambassador for the hotel. We stayed in the Annex, which is very private and had a spacious living area and kitchen. The sunsets over Lake Victoria were magical. Thank you to Elizabeth and the staff at the Sovereign Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded May 2, 2022
Hi Hellen Thank you so much for the lovely reviews!! we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the whole experience in Kisumu. We hope to see you and Mr Williams again in the short future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
_shivona_tavares wrote a review Jan 2022
Nairobi, Kenya68 contributions8 helpful votes
We went for a weekend from Nairobi. We were just thrilled with everything in the hotel - starting with the check in staff's warm welcome, the spacious room (very clean, with all amenities and a lovely view), the pool, spa, the lounge together with sumptious breakfast. The staff are exceptional and took good care of us throughout our stay. The newly introduced sushi bar was amazing. We hope to visit them again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Hi Shivona Its been 2 months since we had the pleasure of hosting you in Sovereign. We are really glad you had a wonderful time with us and many thanks for the lovely reviews from your last visit. Looking forward to hosting you again during your visit in Kisumu.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yasmin Mueni wrote a review Nov 2021
Nairobi, Kenya7 contributions
Stayed at Sovereign for 3 nights. Checking in was pretty flawless. Stayed in room 204. Happy with the team that cleans the rooms, they do a pretty good job. However, the toilet in room 204 has a problem. Once you flush, the water will keep running until the next time you go to the loo again. Meanwhile, there are signs all over saying how we should try to save water. Tried to get some work done by the pool on day 1 but there were some casual workers banging on the walls for hours fixing something, which was very destructive and annoying. If you sit by the pool on any occasion or whatever day, prepare not to be served by anybody. All the staff seem to concentrate on the inside and nobody comes out to the pool to see if any of their clients sitting outside want anything. I actually had to go in and order whatever I needed all the time and made sure to wait for them to hand it over to me, whatever it was to and still waited for hours. And even then, it took ages. Had breakfast on day 2 and my table didn’t have cutlery. Also day one of breakfast, it was very confusing on what’s where and how to navigate. Tried the prawn tagliatelle on day 1 for lunch and it was pretty good. Nobody checks how you’re doing and if you’re enjoying your stay. Parking is very small and if you have a big car, it is a struggle to reverse out (however, the security team try to help you reverse so credit to them) I sent different waiters & waitresses on numerous occasions for a drink and nobody acted on it so again, I had to go and get whatever I needed, on a self service basis. Wanted to have a swim on day one but there were so many male workers hanging around staring which made it uncomfortable. Day 1 I noticed they didn’t have pool towels but day 2 they brought them. All in all, we paid a premium for our stay and didn’t get the service we deserve. I really hope the service can improve. Tomorrow is my last day and still, nobody has asked how my stay has been so far and I’m just about to go and get myself another drink. Meanwhile, my coffee cup from 9am this morning is still sitting on my table. I would stay here only for the rooms. Definitely not coming back unless the service improves.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded Dec 5, 2021
It is unfortunate we did not get you to experience the premium service we are acclaimed for. we have increased the frequency of refresher trainings with our service team to ensure Sovereign sticks to the first class services we provide. Management is also looking into the all the issues aforementioned and will take action accordingly. We are glad you enjoyed the prawn tagliatelle and the comfort of our luxurious rooms. We hope to get the chance to host you again to provide us with another chance for you to have a memorable stay. Looking forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful & merry Christmas!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edge T wrote a review Sep 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Got a room with a view of the lake... Awesome. Check in was swift, service was great and the room was great!!! Location...great! Quality of sleep Great! They just need to fix the fixture that holds the shower otherwise everytime I showered had create a mess and hold the shower head. TV needs to have a differnt wall mounting to enable one to watch from the bed. Hotel is very clean and well kept. Unfortunately I did not spend so much time at teh property but I will definitely return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Odhiambo, Guest Services / Front Office at Sovereign Hotel
Responded Dec 5, 2021
It was our utmost pleasure to host you in Sovereign, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the services we offer. Looking forward to you next visit. Wishing you a wonderful & merry Christmas!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNyanza ProvinceKisumu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOVEREIGN HOTEL $85 ($̶1̶0̶3̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Kisumu, Kenya

Frequently Asked Questions about Sovereign Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sovereign Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kisumu Impala Sanctuary (0.3 miles), Dunga Bay (0.6 miles), and The West End Shopping Mall, Kisumu (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sovereign Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sovereign Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sovereign Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sovereign Hotel?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sovereign Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nairobi Java House, Acacia, and Dunga Hill Camp.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sovereign Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Sovereign Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sovereign Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sovereign Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sovereign Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sovereign Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Polish, Dutch, and Swahili.