We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Duke of Breeze Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Duke of Breeze Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've always enjoyed staying at the Duke of Breeze. The staff are friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooftop bar is one of the highlights of Kisumu. A great pity that it is now closed. I really hope this is only temporary.

Helpful?
Thank 89IanS
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

I like this hotel because it's affordable, within walking distance of the matatu station, and a 50 shilling trip to megacity (which has a large nakumatt grocery store and cinema). When wifi works, it's great, available at the rooftop bar and in the second floor restaurant. The food at the restaurant is good, but like anywhere in Kenya, it takes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

I had a non-renovated room on the first floor. These rooms are the cheapest options in this hotel and we noticed that. Although the room was clean and the beds were nice, the bathroomdoor was really bad. The door couldn't be closed because of the woodenplate of the door that was hanging on the ground. In my opinion It would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wietse K
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in Kisumu and were unable to sleep due to the excess noise coming from the rooftop bar and the street outside. The room was spacious and clean, with a hot shower and nets. Breakfast was decent. Next time, I would look for a different place that would allow me to get some rest.

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey K
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

It was nice to be there, I met new friends, I enjoyed one of the best Friday night in Kenya in the rooftop bar and I will keep it in my mind as a very nice memory. A special thanks to the lovely Pauline.

Helpful?
Thank Elisa19889076
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

Before I moved to Kisumu, I have staid here in 2012, 2013 and 2014 for quite a number of days. I always enjoyed. The rooms were not perfect, but the price is very okay. I also have heard since the last time I have come they have done renovation. Once I move out of Kisumu I will certainly stay here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

Return trip to Kisumu this year and I had no hesitations in booking the Duke Of Breeze again. Super friendly staff, secure hotel with excellent roof top bar. The new upgraded rooms were well presented too!

Helpful?
Thank Lee B
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the new room, the rooftop and found our staff very friendly! We hope to see you for a third visit very soon! Many greetings from the Duke Staff! More 

Kisumu, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

The so called renovated seems a bit overpriced and don't have access to Wifi (bog down for those who want to communicate), They must improve on the shower area. Its terrible. They have done well to paint the room (I guess that's what is renovation) but the room has not TV and lacks the homely feeling. Probably the first and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brezhnev O
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

We have noted your first review on Tripadvisor. We are wondering if you stayed with us in a new room as the rooms have new beds and beddings, furniture and even new floors. We are a bit surprised that you did not note the same if you were indeed in the room? Also we have free WIFI available in the... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

my room was over looking the city, quite interesting views of the usual busy city of kisumu and its nice people and there rich culture, a walk later in the afternoon to the famous lake Victoria is a must for you to have said you visited Kisumu

Helpful?
Thank monthly2015
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind review! Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, the view and the rooftop! Hopefully we will see you soon again! More 

Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 via mobile

By and large, if you know what to expect then the Duke is fine. I.e. if you are traveling with a group who like to socialize, then this place is perfect. What it is not, is a place for rest and relaxation. Rooftop bar has ok views, and was lively until 2am on the Saturday night I was there. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise R
DukeKisumu_Kenya, Owner at The Duke of Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We will look into your recommendation for the windows. We recommend when you come to stay with us next time that you try out our renovated rooms which are on the back side of the hotel. Happy to read you enjoyed the rooftop! It is only on Friday and Saturday that we have music at the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal City Hotel
Royal City Hotel
#15 of 26 in Kisumu
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#5 of 26 in Kisumu
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#4 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#1 of 26 in Kisumu
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kisumu
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Duke of Breeze Hotel offers clean, spacious and affordable accommodation in the heart of Kisumu town. Sports bar with DStv and Rooftop bar with Free high speed internet. Local and international dishes available at sports bar and Rooftop bar. As part of our Corporate Social Responsibility: The Duke of Breeze is proudly associated with the Ujima Foundation. An NGO since 1999, Ujima Foundation is empowering young orphans to take control over their own lives. "The best support is self support" is their slogan. Most of our staff are graduates from Ujima Foundation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Breeze Hotel

Address: Off Kenyatta Avenue next to Yatin Supermarket | Kisumu Central Business District, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Price Range: $33 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Duke of Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay