We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (134)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 63 Specialty lodging in Maun
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Hidden away on the North-West side of the Okavango Delta, Mopiri Camp offers its guests the perfect water camp experience. Seven spacious en-suite tents and three family units are set on the banks of Weboro Lagoon offering incredible panoramic views. The rooms are light and spacious and all have a separate bathroom with a large rain shower, and twin sinks. The bathrooms are adjoined to the rooms by a short corridor. The main area consists of a large dining room, with a separate lounge area. There is a large deck overlooking the lagoon offering hidden away seating areas and a fire pit perfect for stargazing. The swimming pool is positioned with views over the flood plain. There is a boma in the middle of the island where traditional evenings can be held and guests can enjoy the sounds of the local choir and have a chance to taste the local cuisine. The private Mopiri airstrip is only a five-minute boat ride from camp so you can travel from Maun to Mopiri in under an hour.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Lagoon View
Romantic

Location

Full view
Contact
Weboro Lagoon, Maun, Ngamiland East PO Box HA96 HAK Botswana
Getting there
Maun Airport92 mi
See all flights
See all nearby hotels
95Reviews
3Q+A
15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 87
  • 5
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is the type of place that you would give MORE stars to if you could. It is so amazingly wonderful. The camp is situated on the water with a raised boardwalk around the grounds. The rooms/tents are gorgeous and well appointed with beautiful furnishings and plenty of bug repellent. The entire staff is so wonderful. Everyone goes out of their way to make sure you are happy. Edna, Mr. X and Chilly B all made us feel like family. When I go back to Botswana, I will made sure to stay here.
Read more
Response from Maunbots, Owner at Mopiri Camp
Responded 1 week ago
What a wonderful review. Thanks so much for taking the time to write. We will ensure that this message is past on to everyone. We hope to see you back again soon! Best wishes Your Mopiri Team!
Read more
Went in June which is winter in Africa. No heat in the rooms. Farmers were burning their fields which apparently they do every winter. It was smokey and several people in our group were complaining of throat irritation. Our clothes smelled of smoke and we had to have them laundered as soon as we got to our next destination. I would not recommend going in the winter.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Maunbots, Owner at Mopiri Camp
Responded 1 week ago
We're very sorry to hear that it was very smokey when you were at Mopiri. Sadly northern Botswana is going through severe drought this year as a result of low rainfall. This means the Delta is dry and fires are common. Our team are doing the utmost to keep the smoke to a minimum. We hope that you had a good trip onwards. Best wishes
Read more
This was our first visit to Mopiri camp and we couldn't have been happier with our time here. The first thing i noticed was the incredibly friendly and welcoming staff, the second was the incredibly setting on a stunning island with the most beautiful of canopy of trees. The activities were great as we spent a morning meandering up the channels to a spot where we could experience the traditional mekoro as well as a lovely bush walk. Our guide was fantastic and very accommodating. The food was lovely home-style and we definitely never went hungry. Our last afternoon was a spot of fishing in the lagoon in front of the camp, nothing caught but again was just wonderful to be "out there" . All in all a fantastic stay and couldn't recommend Mopiri camp more. :)
Read more
Response from Maunbots, Owner at Mopiri Camp
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Mopiri! It was a pleasure to have you with us, and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
My husband and I had a wonderful 3 days here. We were on a 30-day African adventure and this one tops my list for accommodations. Murray, Edna and all the staff were so accommodating and made our stay very enjoyable. The food was excellent and the cruises out each day in the Delta were amazing. The guides, KK and Kenny were very knowledgeable with both the flora and the fauna. I can't say enough good things about Mopiri Lodge. A real hidden jewel. Thank you for making our stay an amazing experience!
Read more
Response from Maunbots, Owner at Mopiri Camp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Mopiri Camp. It was a pleasure to have you with us, and hope to see you back again in the future! Your Mopiri Team!
Read more
Stepping off the boat to the warm welcome my daughter and I already knew we were in for something special. Charlotte, Matt and the Mopiri team took amazing care of us, with incredible attention to detail. Nothing is too much trouble for this team! Our family room was generous, immaculate and beautiful, the food was delicious with our special dietary requirements discreetly catered for. Our guide Lewin patiently shared his love of the Delta with us and Kaiser guided us on the gentle mokoro ride that was nothing short of mesmerising. Our deck was the perfect place to roll out the yoga mats as we looked out on the tranquil water. Thank you to the team for making our stay truly memorable - it exceeded all expectations! We can't wait to return to this peaceful haven.
Read more
Response from Maunbots, Owner at Mopiri Camp
Responded Apr 17, 2019
Hi Jacqui, Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the whole team. It was a pleasure to have you with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again! Maybe for a yoga retreat! Your Mopiri Team!
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictNgamiland EastMaun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing