We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Moremi National Park P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve Botswana
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Travelocity
$2,464
View deal
Expedia.com$2,464
Hotels.com$2,464
FindHotel$2,464
Orbitz.com$2,464
Tripadvisor$2,464
Snaptravel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (180)
Room & Suite (58)
Pool & Beach (15)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Mapula Lodge
Updated 04/28/20

About

#18 of 31 Specialty lodging in Moremi Game Reserve
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Room features
Safe
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian

Location

Full view
Contact
Moremi National Park P. O. Box 22149, Moremi Game Reserve Botswana
See all nearby hotels
115Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 73
  • 26
  • 11
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Peter K wrote a review Aug 9
13 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
Mapula Lodge was a marvelous experience for the friends we were with. The accommodation was comfortable with a lovely outside shower. Our game drives were marvelous as was our Mokoro outing with our poler finishing with sundowners. The mess tent was an excellent place to get together for sundowners after a game drive.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Discover103891 wrote a review Jun 2022
8 contributions10 helpful votes
Fantastic all around. Great guides, great service, great food. The rating is 3 stars based on facilities, but we were never around for much - we were out on safaris! And it was fantastic. While at the lodge, the employees were kind, perceptive, and going out of their way to make sure we had an amazing time. The beds were comfortable, the cabins spacious and clean. Between all that and great food, what else do you need? Would readily return. Message me with any questions.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review - we really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.
Read more
davidwpatricia wrote a review Jun 2022
Houston, Texas50 contributions46 helpful votes
had never been to this camp previously and the accommodations were on par with prices , but not as superior as many of the other camps. Partly poor planning on our part but mid-May was cold in morning and night. Macula showers were poor and you would freeze unless it was mid-afternoon. But the savior was Kan, our guide, who was one of the most knowledgeable and informative we have ever come across in our trips to Okavango. Animals, birds, flora.. Kan knew it all. For the Northern part of the Okavango the animals were exceptional. Photographed (Kan knew how to get best light) and filmed everything except Rhino (of course)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review - we really appreciate it.
Read more
charles y wrote a review Jun 2022
Chicago, Illinois103 contributions47 helpful votes
We were there with a group of 6 plus 2 supplemental guides for a photo safari. The drivers were OK but not intuitive in terms of where to locate for natural lighting for wildlife photography. Our guides directed most of that so it was fine in the end. The main common building was comfortable and well stocked with all of the drinks and amenities you expect at a camp. Was more of a self service situation which is a bit different than most camps. The main platform where the meals are served has wonderful views of the plains and some local birds nest in the trunks so stuff is happening all around you all the time. We were less impressed with the room. LIMITED electrical power plugs. If you are a photographer and have a lot of chargers etc its a bit of a pain. Also missing from the room is a desk which may seem odd as a complaint but photographers want to edit and work between game drives or at night. The common building area isn't convenient in terms of power accessibility or working at night as the staff has to hang around waiting to walk you back to your tent.. The layout was a bit awkward for our use but others may find it just fine. The access to the bathroom was crazy tight. I had to go in sideways to fit thru the opening. No idea why that was planned that poorly. The front door had a goofy lock configuration so that was also awkward. Minimal lighting in the room also. Just seemed like it was missing some detailed thoughts. We liked the warthogs that play under the room and out in the plains outside the room. Once you got used to the noises they make it was amusing. Food was good but not spectacular. No real complaints just not impressionable. The camp has a lot of night time visitors (elephants and hippos) that forage so you have to be attentive. They will walk down the paths and up to your tents so its imperative to have local assistance when out and about in the dark there. The elephants misbehaved several nights knocking over posts, etc. Solid wildlife sightings of hippos, leopards, jackals, birds, small pack of 4 wild dogs and the usual prey, etc. If you are here for the wildlife then you will not be disappointed. Boat experiences were good. A good experience overall. We have been on 3 African safari's and would consider this a low mid range camp. Good but could use some room improvements.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: all rooms face the plains so they are identical
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, we really appreciate it.
Read more
Kolobezko wrote a review Dec 2021
Boston92 contributions41 helpful votes
This was first camp we stayed in during our 10 days itinerary in Botswana. Upon arrival, the lodge is very welcoming and homey. Lounge area filled with comfy couches, poofs, lovely fire pit, everything is positioned to overlook water lagoon filled with hippos. We had tent/cabin number 1. Very rustic, but comfortable. Beware of spiders! Even though there is protective netting over bed, every night we had huge, huge spiders in the bed itself, so we learned to shake the blankets and sheets before we went to sleep. Food was good, but very simple, they ask you if you have any special dietary needs and they will adjust the meal, but there are no choices which at the price tag was surprising. Our game drives were good, we also tried mokoro ride and boat safari and they were all good experiences. One big disappointment was pool. It was out of service and while they built new plunge pool area- it's not in the camp. Your guide has to drive you there and then sit in the car while you are lounging, which was very uncomfortable as we knew we were cutting into his free time. Also, as this is not at the camp, there was nothing there as to drinks/water etc, I think little ice chest with beer, wine and soft drinks would be very useful. Overall, camp is in fantastic setting, game drives were great, I hope they resolve the pool situation soon,
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded Jan 18, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
Hal72 wrote a review Dec 2021
Olympia, Washington593 contributions163 helpful votes
This was the midpoint camp in our safari. Quite interesting animal sightings, particularly lions. Good game drives; the guide worked hard to find us animals. Meals were good. The cabin was large but a bit "old" in that there was very little in the way of lighting. But, on the other hand, most time here was sleeping as we were out game driving. The mokoro trip through the lagoon was very peaceful and interesting,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded Jan 18, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
GeoffSpence wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town, South Africa6 contributions7 helpful votes
We were booked into Mapula Lodge from the 8th to 11th October 2021. Their website pictures of the lodge look fantastic. The reality was completely the opposite, extremely disappointing. The swimming pool is not functioning and popped out of the deck. 38'C. There is a small plunge pool which accomodates max 2 persons, to get there the guide has to drive one there and wait as it is unfenced, not ideal. The rooms on the website show double bed, we had 2 separate singles. The staff are served before the guests, one meal there was not enough deserts for one of the guests. The food was mediocre at best and insufficient at times. The housekeeping was non existent at the main lounge area, dirty and untidy, a T shirt lying on a side table was left there for the duration of our stay. Lack of management is evident. Luckily the abundance of game made up for the lack of hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded Oct 21, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. It's great that you were able to enjoy some top notch wildlife sightings during your time with us - we agree that the game viewing here really is excellent! It's a real shame that you weren't aware of the status of the pool prior to travelling. We do have the secondary pool, but it's in such a game rich space that a guide does need to stay to ensure the safety of the guests. The lodge's pool will be back up and running by the end of November 2021. We have both twin and double rooms available and guests are able to state their preference at the time of booking. With regards to the food, there is always plenty. Our understanding is that the gentleman in the party didn't want a dessert, and so one was brought only for the lady, as requested. When the gentleman later changed his mind, dessert was brought out for him as well. The housekeeping issue appears to have been a lapse in our usually high standards. We have addressed this with the team in camp and it's been acted upon - thank you for raising it. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula Lodge marketing team
Read more
Safreen K wrote a review Aug 2021
Gaborone, Botswana5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Everything from A-Z was perfect at Mapula Lodge. I went there with high expectations which were definitely exceeded. The rooms were comfortable and rustic; dining area, fire pit and lounge were warm and welcoming and the all the staff treated us like royalty! Considering the fact that we were a group of 13 and booked very last minute, everything was well prepared. You will get value for money at Mapula. Can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded Sep 4, 2021
Thank you for a lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
Cape Town, South Africa28 contributions4 helpful votes
On arrival at the airstrip, we were met by Eric who took us by boat to the lodge. This all depends on the water levels and the number of people. As we rounded the first corner of the channel, a beautiful huge elephant was waiting. A perfect beginning. Eric the manager was charming. The eclectic little lodge was charming. The staff was lovely and the game drives were the best we had done on our trip. This is a unique, old-fashioned, no-frills lodge with everything you need for an adventure in the Delta. Good food, good wine, good guides, and sightings in spite of the high water levels at this time. It completed our Natural Selection circuit perfectly. Thank you to Eric, Kegiso, Leo, Ricardo, and the team.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded Sep 4, 2021
Thank you for your lovely review - we do appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula marketing team
Read more
Tom M wrote a review Apr 2021
31 contributions14 helpful votes
Having visited Botswana a number of times, I have to say, Mapula Lodge may have taken the top spot for my favorite safari property in Botswana. First, the concession it sits on is vast and one of the most beautiful areas in the Okavango Delta. The wildlife viewing is excellent. My group and I adored the staff, the food, and the picture perfect setting. Though it says "lodge", it has anything but a lodge atmosphere. This property has character. It's "imperfections" make it perfect. You're in the bush and Mapula accentuates that. We had amazing guiding with KG and Mike. Mapula should be included in your itinerary and stay at least 4 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Mapula Lodge
Responded May 10, 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this lovely review - we really do appreciate it. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay here at Mapula and we hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Mapula Lodge marketing team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$1,880 - $2,820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mapula hotel maun
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictOkavango DeltaMoremi Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mapula Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Mapula Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mapula Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mapula Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mapula Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.