We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,238: English reviews
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Used an internet voucher to buy dinner, bed and breakfast. This is a big, Victorian hotel in a tiny and attractive market town. Interior looks really good after a fairly recent refurb. Good sized room with comfortable king-sized bed and tea and coffee. Large bathroom. Dinner was excellent. Good local ingredients, very well cooked and presented. Very attentive and efficient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnW140448
Llangynidr
Reviewed November 6, 2014

Stayed for one night on Travelzoo £99 deal; superior room (139) and 6 course dinner. Can thoroughly recommend all aspects of hotel - modern public rooms and spotlessly clean toilets. Attentive staff and one of the best dinners my wife and I have tasted in many a long year. 14 other couples on same deal in dining room. Obviously a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WestMonBoy
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2014

The Hotel wasn't bad but wasn't great either! The Hotel itself is a lovely building but is tired and dated. On arrival the Car Park was a pain to find, could have done with better signposting or include this information on the booking confirmation. The room was satisfactory but the TV was a little dated and would not work! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HomeFarmCheshire
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2014

Currently staying at our home in Wales so chose this venue to meet up with family as it was roughly halfway. We weren't disappointed. The staff were pleasant and eager to please and there were plenty of them. Our lunch was beautifully presented and there was plenty of it. I can't comment on the accommodation as we were just using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucindaLucile
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucinda Thank you so much for your generous feedback about your Sunday lunch at The Metropole Hotel and Spa. I love Sunday lunch at the hotel and will often be seen with family enjoying the food and atmosphere. It gives me great pleasure to see so many local people enjoying the hotel with family and friends. I hope that...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night in a Superior room, which waslarge and really tastefully done. They are a great mix of old and new. The hotel itself has retained its grandeur from its early days but also tastefully modernised. There are lots of nooks and crannies with the odd reading chair or chaise longue as well as a special...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cidertommy
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cidertommy Thank you very much for your generous prise following your recent stay with us. Vaughn is part of a great team and I am fortunate to have such delightful staff working here at The Metropole. I hope we shall be welcoming you back again soon, Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner

Gloucestershire
Reviewed November 1, 2014

This is our fifth visit to the Metropole with our family, and our experience has been just as enjoyable this year. As with previous years, we looked at somewhere different to go for a few nights away, that could provide warm, comfortable, relaxing and welcoming hospitality, with great food and a spa for us all to enjoy, but again, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alcazemka
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alcazemka, I could repeat exactly what I wrote last year after your feedback. It's great when people 'get' The Metropole. We are not a bland modern purpose built lodge/hotel on a roundabout but a full service hotel with smiling staff, character and hopefully a little style. I was pleased we sorted out the mattress efficiently. As I have said...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2014

Thank god we only booked one night, service was poor at reception and nobody at back or front of hotel to say where to go etc. The staff were good but what a shame a hotel in mid-wales and not many staff spoke English let alone welsh. We were looking forward to the La Carte menu only to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank William E
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear William, I was aware that you spoke to Robert Hughes my General Manager about your stay and dinner. I am sorry that it was a huge disappointment. I confirm that the menu displayed on our website was our a la carte however on the night that you were staying it was not running due to large functions that were...

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed here yesterday and really enjoyed it particularly the evening six course taster menu. We stayed as part of a very good value deal and were happy with the room (although there was some noise from other rooms) and use of the swimming pool, jacuzzi, small gym and sauna. The breakfast was also fine if not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PeterWynne
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our family owned hotel. It is a challenge maintaining such a large building however one we enjoy. I hope we shall welcome you back again soon. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2014

Good and the Bad, I went to book this originally after seeing it advertised on travel zoo as an offer, however went to book and was told the offer was not available, fair enough, but on arrival got talking to a few other guests who told me they had managed to book the offer after I had tried and ending...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank xofyor
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear xofyor, Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Metropole. It is always frustrating for me when I read feedback I would like to investigate further but cannot trace back due to your Tripadvisor name which cannot be traced through our records. We read and act where possible on all feedback and will certainly discuss the points...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 29, 2014

We were most pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. However, not so sure about the room we were initially allocated. We called the hotel beforehand and were advised that for the Monday we could book a special deal for £99 that included breakfast and a 6 course taster evening meal with a glass of champagne (well worth checking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynda G
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynda Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay and please accept my apologies for the problems you had upon arrival. The 4th floor has all been refurbished however I am sure that arriving in bedroom where the servicing of the room had not been completed would leave a bad impression. I am sorry and pleased that this...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
239 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
753 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
568 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Radnor Restaurant @ Hotel Metropole
Cuisines: British, International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $152 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Metropole Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Tower. bedrooms..not with view of carpark.....”
 of 5 bubbles LynneB642, yesterday | Read review
“We had a superior room as we are used to a large super king bed.”
 of 5 bubbles lovedays78, 4 days ago | Read review
“Rooms at the back are off road, but the road is fairly quiet anyway!!”
 of 5 bubbles travelexpress, 5 days ago | Read review
“Rooms on the third floor would probably be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles petalwales, 1 week ago | Read review
“Make sure you make your preferences known when booking”
 of 5 bubbles WorcesterEileen, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question