We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Portland House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Portland House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Llanarmon-yn-Ial
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was attending a meeting on 21st September so stayed overnight the day before. Very helpful and friendly staff - Ruth noticed that my wife has difficulty with stairs and changed our room from the top floor to second. Very quiet even though we were on a main road. Breakfast was excellent. Thoroughly recommend Portland House.

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a lovely overnight stay in a very nice, large, comfortable room with a king-size bed. The location was quiet although only minutes from the centre of Llandrindod. The bathroom was also large with a bath as well as a shower. The welcome was warm and informative. I was very happy with the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

HI, I was looking for a place where we could eat but had the dogs with me. Portland House has seating outside that allowed me to enjoy a lovely cuppa and a sandwich at a very good price. Very friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank David H
R L, Owner at Portland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We do have seating outside and do allow dogs upstairs at the bed and breakfast. Dogs are not allowed however in the tea room itself sorry. Hope you visit again soon More 

Antrim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

Ate in the Tearoom the food was lovely, very friendly staff and very reasonably priced, room was clean and very spacious, i had a large bathroom to myself only complaint water pressure was not very good in the shower or bath, plenty of hot water, breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice, i would not recommend this guesthouse for elderly... More 

Helpful?
Thank annieAntrim
R L, Owner at Portland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It does state on our information that we are a grade 2 listed building and do not have disabled access. We have looked into the shower pressure and this has now been rectified More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in a twin room. It had everything I needed and was friendly too. There was a small TV and sink in my room plus I had use of a bathroom with bath, toilet, sink and shower which was opposite my room. It's centrally located, in a square with all the big hotels.

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
R L, Owner at Portland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review hope to see you again More 

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

Excellent family run business. Room clean, comfortable and spacious. Very helpful owner and great breakfast. Put us in right direction for eating out. Bed really comfortable. Although in town very quiet.

Helpful?
Thank Susie G
R L, Owner at Portland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review hope to see you again. More 

Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in a Beautiful corner room with the extra corner feature. Large well equipped ensuite bathroom. Large comfy bed and room was well heated for a triple aspect. Decor and furnishings are a very good standard. Shame we only stayed for 1 night. Would love to take our room with us. Breakfast was good we both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith S
R L, Owner at Portland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review hope to see you again. More 

Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

My partner took me here as he had been here before and what a really lovely place it is service is excellent the staff are really friendly and the food is fantastic my partner had an all day breakfast wow it was amazing he had a large plate and it was full, beans ,sausage, mushrooms ,bacon x 2 ,which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jane e
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Lovely large twin room, extremely comfortable bed with nice facilities including WIFI. Nice easy chairs to sit in. Excellent breakfast in good spacious breakfast room! Parking is limited but more availablity across the road.

Helpful?
Thank NorthYorkshireBapa
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Arrived early morning after a long drive, First impressions where good and pleasent owners, BUT.... In the room damp on the ceiling and paint hanging off it where looks like water damage, Poor at best shower which was decent pressure and cold or hot and slowly came out, Room was either cold or silly hot, UHT milk needs to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dcmprince
R L, Owner at Portland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Sorry you were dissapointed with your stay. We do apologise for the mark on the ceiling a previous guest had flooded the upstairs and as you say we were waiting for it to dry out and has since been rectified , the shower has also been replaced. As mentioned before we are in the centre of town and cannot help... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandrindod Wells hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hampton Hotel
The Hampton Hotel
#12 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#1 of 5 in Howey
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#11 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Portland House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Portland House Spa Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $70 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portland House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Portland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland House Bed & Breakfast Llandrindod Wells, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay