We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gwbert Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gwbert Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 405: English reviews
Start your review of The Gwbert Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed a few times at the Gwbert for business. Location would be good for a holiday if you want to be "away from it all". Rooms are of a very good standard for the cost. Restaurant is excellent, always busy even mid week. Breakfast is also excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff at the hotel were very pleasant. The room was perfectly serviced. The shower a little hot and the cold water would not go cold. The tv, bed room facilities etc etc could not be faulted. The evening meal was particularly good. Lots of choice. Well presented. The breakfast was cooked to order and could not be faulted. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave b
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All members of the staff were very helpful and courteous at all times. Our room was really good, very clean with a very comfortable bed, power shower in the bathroom as well as a bath. A good size wall mounted television with a comfortable settee on which to sit on to watch it. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 16, 2017

Great view from room on very top floor - could like in bed and see the river looking towards Poppit sands. Super evening meal - great service and again lovely view from dining room. Great service - pleasant, efficient . really personable staff. Food was cracking very fresh and prepared to order. Good choice - we had the antipasti to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed her the weekend just gone and were thoroughly happy with our stay. The room was amazing and as we paid for a sea view room, the view was incredible too. We were not expecting the room to be as nice as it was, we had a large bathroom with a shower and a bath, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlcoffey98
london
Reviewed January 8, 2017

We (couple) had a two night break at this hotel and left slightly disappointed. Now you will see some exceptional reviews of this hotel and you might wonder why my review is less fulsome in its praise ? Let me start by saying I think the staff are first class and hard working. The fabric of the hotel however is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Biker3000
ManagementAdmin, Manager at The Gwbert Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at The Gwbert Hotel. Firstly, thank you for your lovely feedback relating to our staff. We take pride in delivering friendly and efficient service to all our guests and will be sure to pass this on to them. Although we are sorry to hear of your disappointment, I would also like to...

northwich
Reviewed December 27, 2016

We booked a cottage, joined to this hotel. We were taking the dog so even did research on the area and the Hotel was advertising "pet friendly". We did notice that to eat in the Hotel you had to sit in the conservatory, not a problem. We paid the supplement for the dog and off for Christmas we went. What...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nett b
ManagementAdmin, Manager at The Gwbert Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Firstly, you have stated in your review that you booked a cottage. Although we allow dogs in our holiday homes, this does not automatically mean that dogs are permitted on the same basis at the hotel. As you experienced, our staff are clear on our dog policy in that dogs are permitted in some bedrooms using their own...

Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2016

Just returned from Brynteifi and I must say 'Wow' what amazing views. The cottage is absolutely perfect and very child friendly. The hot tub was an added bonus which we all enjoyed even if it was freezing outside. Would definitely want to go back again! Area is also perfect for exploring with some lovely beaches.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 55travelbug2016
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

We booked a couple of days away here with a deal which included dinner bed and breakfast. This was on the basis that dogs were welcome, which we were happy to pay the supplement for. On arrival we were told that dogs weren't allowed in the restaurant. We weren't to bothered by this as we were happy to eat in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank smithawk
ManagementAdmin, Manager at The Gwbert Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. We are, of course, glad to hear you enjoyed your visit on the whole, however, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify the matter of our dog policy. Our pet policy has remained the same for over 20 years in that dogs are permitted in some guest...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2016

This is an independent hotel. Food was good and freshly prepared, the view across Cardigan bay was amazing. Worth a visit any day though book if you're planning a Sunday lunch or any 'special' day. Staff were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fishonsaturday
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
675 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
10.7 mi away
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
2.8 mi away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#7 of 14 in Cardigan
14 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ty-Parc Guest House B&B
Ty-Parc Guest House B&B
#3 of 15 in Cardigan
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Gwbert Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Cardiff, United Kingdom
south wales
Dorchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nantwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Gwbert Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room. With a Sea view is defiantly worth the upgrade”
  • View over the estuary from room
 of 5 bubbles IanA40, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Good views from the front”
 of 5 bubbles HelenS651, Jan 16, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for refurbished room and if staying with dinner package ask what's included.”
 of 5 bubbles Biker3000, Jan 8, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles fishonsaturday, Nov 9, 2016 | Read review
“A room with a view 👀”
  • To me it was like a Shirley Valentine moment 😃
  • Fantastic view from our bedroom 👀
 of 5 bubbles Rosalind06, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question