We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caledonian Hotel

Traveler (235)
Room & Suite (64)
Dining (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
67Somewhat walkable
Grade: 67 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
7Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
793Reviews
239Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 49
  • 166
  • 236
  • 165
  • 177
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My partner and I stayed at the Caledonian Hotel on our way to the Isle of Lewis. It was a handy place to stay, but the hotel itself was very run down. The hotel needs a good renovation. When we had a shower we sprayed water everywhere despite trying our best not to - I think we
Read more
+1
Checked in, tried to check out later but nobody around that could process. In our mind AWFUL place to stay. Rooms are soooo tired and bathroom in our room and my daughters room were disgusting. Shower waste of time!!! No wonder they request payment when you check in. First
Read more
Stayed here for one night. This hotel is very dated and you feel like you are stepping back in time! Our room was actually ok but the bathroom needed ripping out and replacing. The corridors to the rooms where very down trodden and the breakfast room was cold and very
Read more
Response from Andy w, Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2018
Thank you for your review I have passed your kind comments onto the team i have also forwarded your comments to the owners regarding updating the hotel we do have a refurbishment project about to start but as I am sure you would appreciate this takes time and unfortunately will not be completed overnight.
Read more
We stayed here overnight and found the room comfortable, although the bathroom could do with an upgrade. Check in was good with the option to take a hairdryer if needed. Room was clean with comfy beds and a decent size. Breakfast was buffet style, hot food and cereal. I
Read more
Response from Andy w, Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2018
Thank you for your reviiew we are pleased you had a comfy stay i have passed your comments regarding vegetarian breakfast onto our chef we do hope to welcome you back to the caledonian hotel in the future
Read more
Four of us booked single rooms ,we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist. Our rooms were clean warm and comfy ,shower was hot and the breakfast was excellent. For the price and location I would recommend it. And we will be back same time next year thanks Caledonian
Read more
Response from Andy w, Manager at Caledonian Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2018
Thank you for your review we are very pleased you had a comfy stay at the Caledonian hotel and I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip around the highlands We look forwards to welcomming you baclk to Ullapool and the caledonian hotel next year
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Bedroom
Bed
over het bed kruipen voor 141 euro per nacht
kamer kon niet goed dicht
schimmel en viezigheid
PreviousNext
12345613
I don't know. I was just a foreign guest at this hotel. I suppose you have to ask the local people.
0 votes
Not sure about that but there was a gentleman in a wheelchair so I would think they might have give the hotel a call
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes it does, we did not use it as they have lots of rooms on the ground floor. Try and get a room with a view to the front which would involve a lift as the rooms on the ground floor overlook the carpark and a wall. Enjoy your break Ullapool is lovely. Travel further North from there for the views try to go to Lochinver and travel on the single track road to Kylesku on a sunny clear day if possible as the views are amazing
1 vote
Show all answers
"Take time to talk to them they work hard and don't deserve awkward customers"
"if you have limited mobility ask for a ground floor room as there are lots of stairs and no lift. Some steps to dining room no handrails."
"Don't bother"
"Don’t book one really is the best thing one could do"
"Go to another hotel"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
caledonian hotel ullapool
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandUllapool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing