We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mallard Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gullane
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mallard Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mallard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

One night stay for a golfing weekend. The hotel is clean and the food is of a good standard. We were playing golf all day then went to the golf inn & the old club house in the evening so didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. It maybe could do with some modernisation but it's ideal for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greig A
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 28, 2016

I have been coming to this family run hotel for over 20 years on golf trips and find it difficult to fault The hotel has bags of character and the food and hospitality is always great. The location could not be better However if you are looking for a stereotypical chain hotel, which is bland, sterile and characterless then this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveh_54321
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed July 23, 2016

This hotel is in the ideal location. Our bedrooms look out over the golf practice ground and then on to Gullane 1 and 2. The staff were very helpful in all respects from later food if we had a late tee time to keeping the bar open if we would be coming in after a night out for a "wee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mallard. In our publicity material we say that the hotel is "a pitch and a putt" from the first tee. Sometimes people think we exaggerate but as you comment we have the ideal location for a golf hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments about the staff and their willingness to go...

Montpelier, Vermont
Reviewed July 2, 2016

We had a great time at the Mallard this June, 12 rooms , a pub, and the nicest staff who made us Yanks very welcomed. We had 3 golf view rooms, walked to the Gullane courses and all the great restaurants and pubs. Internet was poor in one room, fine in 2 others. Breakfast was really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Mallard. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially the views from the rooms and our proximity to the golf courses - "only a pitch and a putt" from the first tee? - well almost! We do hope you Yanks return to the Mallard for our Scottish hospitality.

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 19, 2016

This was an okay hotel , the room was spacious , and clean , the bed was very comfortable , however they need to scrap the old shower as its not powerful , and you cant use it , unless you hold it in your hand - and spray yourself , as the aerial holder has seen better days in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73North
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mallard. We are delighted that you found the room spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. However we are sorry that you had a problem with the shower. This has now been replaced. we thank you for highlighting the problem. Thank goodness you recognised our redeeming features - especially the view which...

Reviewed June 11, 2016

Our family of three stayed 5 nights in connection with a junior golf tournament in Gullane and were thoroughly pleased. Not luxury by any means, but more than adequate for the price, and the owners and staff made it feel like home. Great breakfast (included) and good food in general. Cozy bar looking out on Gullane courses. If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben Z
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Mallard. We are delighted to recieve such a positive review. We are not a flash establishment it is true but we do work hard at giving value for money, good honest food and above all a "drop of Highland hospitality in the Lowlands" We do hope you will return for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 25, 2016

This hotel is a disgrace and to charge £80 per night ! The building needs a major refurbishment not simply redecoration. One single socket in a bedroom, beds that should have been tipped years and years ago, the radiator that did not work, toilet seat was wonky, a chair that broke when you sat on it. It reminded me of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank derekj143
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Mallard. As regards the charge can I just say that, as we do not have any Single Rooms.The rate you mention was in fact for Single Occupancy of a Twin-bedded room. We feel this is fair. All of our rooms have at least two double sockets and I can only think that one...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here several years on golfing trips in a party of 16 men. It serves it's purpose being in the heart of golfing country but the hotel is more than a little tired and could do with a serious refurbishment. The food is quite good and very friendly staff. My TV was not working so I used iPad with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mallard. Staying only 4 days ago you may have been aware of the refurbishment of the function that was going on? The painter has also been busy painting the front of the hotel and continuing a rolling programme of redecoration of the bedrooms. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 10, 2016

I have been coming to The Mallard for nearly 25 years. The hospitality offered by Cameron and Susan is 1st class. The rims are always clean and functional. The menu is varied and the food is always great. The location is perfect for a golf break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mallard. We always try to offer a drop of Highland hospitality in the Lowlands. This is our family motto! We are delighted by your comments on the food and accommodation......and of course the location of the hotel - being only a pitch and a putt from the first tee! We look forward...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Together with 8 Friends we have enjoyed our 24th year golfing based at the Mallard. Once again we had a warm welcome from the owners Cameron and Susan, and we intend to celebrate our 25th anniversary at the Mallard next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mallard We are delighted that you once again enjoyed your stay. Nothing speaks more of customer satisfaction that repeat guests!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
0.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,209 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
300 reviews
4.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
200 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only pitch and a putt from the first tee, the Mallard offers a warm relaxing atmosphere to golfer and non-golfer alike! Whether you want to stay in our comfortable rooms, hold a party or wedding reception or just pop in for a meal you can be sure of a warm welcome from Cameron, Susan Law or a member of their friendly staff. Of course our main clientele come to enjoy the huge choice of golf courses in the area but there is so much more to Gullane, East Lothian and of course Edinburgh is a short train ride away. In such great walking countryside The Mallard welcomes dogs free of charge except in the rooms where food is served. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mallard Hotel

Address: East Links Road, Gullane EH31 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Price Range: $51 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Mallard Hotel Gullane, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mallard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get golf view room”
GregM488, Jul 2, 2016 | Read review
“pick the golf course views”
73North, Jun 19, 2016 | Read review
“As for a room overlooking the nearby golf courses.”
annt120, May 9, 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 has great views”
39sheenam, Jan 1, 2016 | Read review
“Well worth a visit”
andrewpL7971PX, Dec 25, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question