We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Save
Share
Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Only 1 left at
$267
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$318
Travelocity$267
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (305)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (36)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Gullane
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Baggage storage
Valet parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
698Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 494
  • 114
  • 41
  • 31
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sarah L wrote a review Sep 18
1 contribution
My friend and I have stayed here previously albeit it was a few years ago and under different management and had an absolutely delightful time. We can't say the same this time around. The issues started when we came down for breakfast, we saw two Indian men standing at reception on their phones as we walked into the restaurant, they did not greet us it also took them almost 10minutes to come into the restaurant to give us menus and ask if we wanted tea or coffee. They took our order and then proceeded to disappear again for a number of minutes during this time other guests came into the restaurant and sat themselves or got themselves menu's. Once they finally reappeared with our breakfast meals we again had to ask if we would be receiving pastries at some point as we had already asked twice previously, we were passed off with a very dismissive "Yes, yes". But about 5 minutes later we did finally receive them. We saw these so-called managers spend more time on their phones and walking in and out of the restaurant than actually serving guests, may I add that this wasn't a particularly busy morning and if they had been doing their jobs correctly nothing they couldn't handle. I could go on about the issues of this hotel (service, decor, rooms) but it's not worth it because the standard as clearly fallen from where it was a few years ago. We won't be back, and I will be sure to tell the rest of my friends and family to book elsewhere in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anonymous A wrote a review Sep 18
2 contributions
1-star review for the absolute disappointment that was our stay here. This hotel although on the outside looks absolutely stunning has so many issues on the inside both in the extremely outdated decor and the absolute incompetence of who we could only assume was "management" due to the suits. The room we stayed in was not only outdated but numerous items were either broken or not included despite it being advertised on the website. 1. Chair was broken and dusty 2. Windows didn't latch properly 3. No tea or coffee making facilities despite being advertised 4.Constant noise throughout the night 5. Chips and cracks in the paint work of the room 6. Carpets looked like should have been replaced a decade ago For the amount of money, we spent and for what is supposedly a "5 star" hotel it was an absolutely appalling standard. Not to mention the service from the staff in the restaurant who spent more time either standing around staring or looking at their phones, we had to constantly ask for our water and wine to be topped up because apparently even with a nearly empty restaurant and three staff members this was too difficult for them, our food not only took ages to come out but once we'd finished our meal, our plates sat empty on our table for a good 15minutes after we'd finished because again the staff obviously had better things to do. When we came down for breakfast the following morning it was like watching children in suits, running around not knowing what to do, we found it embarrassing to see. We seated ourselves as we couldn't find anyone, we then waited 10minutes for someone to take our order, then waited another 15minutes for our tea and coffee to arrive and when we finally got our food it was borderline cold as we could only assume it had been sitting and waiting for someone to get and bring to the table. The only highlights were the gardens and the food (when it finally arrived to the table). The gardens were absolutely stunning and immaculately kept (the only area of this hotel that is 5 star). Overall save your money and stay somewhere else because this is definitely not a 5 star hotel, this would have to be not only the worst hotel my husband and I have stayed at but also the most poorly managed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liz M wrote a review Sep 17
Seattle, Washington16 contributions5 helpful votes
We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always enjoyed it however on this occasion thanks to the Manager David and his staff was the best ever. Service second to none. David was amazing and always seemed to be there. Unflappable and confident. Nothing was too much trouble . Must mention Javier as well. Exceptional visit. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review with the Trip Advisor community. Your kind words and generous custom are massively appreciated. Having stayed several times before, I do hope this continues and I am able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelbugwanderer wrote a review Sep 16
Scotland, United Kingdom22 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed recently mainly due to the fact my husband wanted to golf and there is no better place according to him. I have to say, despite being persuaded to come along I was throughly surprised at how much I enjoyed my Husband's golf trip. The area was so refreshing and relaxing. The hotel is steeped in history and you feel this while there. The staff treated it like a home and took the time to speak to the lone woman enjoying her cake and champagne while watching the golfers tee off. And of course my promised 'romantic' meal at the end of the day was absolutely beautiful. Thank you to all. Wonderful time and hope to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Greywalls. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visiting with us. Should your husband insist on more golf in the not too distant future, it would be a pleasure to look after you once again. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel R wrote a review Sep 16
Inverness, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Not long returned from another wonderful visit to the East Lothian area and another visit to Greywalls Hotel. We stayed for 2 nights in a large double room overlooking Muirfield golf course. The weather was delightful, which always helps when wanting to get out and about. When we weren't out touring, we had the comfort of our room and lovely staff taking care of our every need. We had 2 lovely meals when dining each evening, and they even presented a little plate after dessert to take note of our Anniversary. All in all, a great experience from a property that gives a real "home from home" feeling. Thanks, again and until next time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay, and your kind words whilst visiting and now here are much appreciated. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Littletourer84 wrote a review Sep 14
Essex, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stumbled upon the hotel at a similar time last year. Having done another trip to Scotland this year, we booked another few nights in the fabulous Greywalls. As it was last year, another fantastic experience. The staff could not have been more helpful. We were met by David, the General Manager who looked after us on several occasions during the stay. We dined one of the nights and it was wonderful. I understand the Head Chef has changed since our last visit, but we believe the food has gotten better. Service was wonderful from some new faces in the team, and the room was as you would expect, and with a nice view of the golf course. All in all, we cannot fault our time here. We hope to be back next year for another wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. It is always wonderful to receive repeat custom and even better that you have enjoyed your time back as much as your first visit. I am certainly looking forward to welcoming you back next year. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ghcdonaldson wrote a review Sep 13
1 contribution
Very disappointed by our experience. We have been to Greywalls on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed it. However, the limited menu did not reflect the price of the meal. The quality was generally good although the flat iron steak was a little chewy. Looks like it is having difficulties with finding staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Greywalls hotel. As with many aspects within the hotel, we pride ourselves on the cuisine that we offer, so I am saddened that you have not found this to your standard when you visited. Equally important and with the guest at the forefront of our minds, is the price. We certainly feel the price is in keeping with likeminded properties with similar standards in the area, but appreciate we need to offer everything to the high standard we strive for each and every time to warrant the cost. Please accept my apologies if this has not been the case on this occasion and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PRIORY wrote a review Sep 9
Glasgow, United Kingdom16 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We had 4 rooms booked as we were working locally and looked stunning on the website . We weren't interested in the golf or the restaurant so I can't comment on that side of the hotel . Our work has us placed across the country every week so are used to many types and standards of accommodation. We ended up with the 4 " caddy" single rooms which did not match the price tag they came with . This is a 4 / 5 star hotel , but these rooms were so badly outdated , worn , broken with stale odour ....they shouldn't even expect a 2 star rating . It's almost a battle of words between reality and what would have been described as by the hotel ... They would be classed as classic and vintage - we called them outdated and worn ........they would say the rooms have character ....we would say they smelt stale and old . They would say the windows and furnishings were rustic.... We say they are just broke . They would say the room is in peaceful and tranquil ....we say it's a non stop humming and banging from the boiler or central heating which does not stop throughout the night . One of the showers did not work ... One of the sinks were cracked ...... The windows were badly in need of repair that they didn't even close so the hotel's attempt to fix was to fill the gap with insulation tape . There were no tea / coffee making facilities in the room ( booking site said there should have been ) . The floor boards creaked at every step , the carpets looked like the they were used to tee off from. We have stayed in 2 star B&Bs that blow these rooms away so my question to the hotel is ....why have these rooms not been updated as you could easily decorate these rooms to a far higher standard with the amount that you are charging . I'm not going to critique these rooms without evidence ... The window image really says it all ..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued custom and feedback. We were aware of your discontent for the Caddy Rooms shortly after your arrival. Not for what you have now outlined, but because they were single rooms and this being deemed unacceptable for you, even though this is what was booked on the website by yourselves, where it clearly outlines the single room status. The rooms are priced at a third of the price compared to our next category up, so approximately £130 B&B per night. These rooms are a firm favourite with our guests and are constantly let from early Spring through to the Autumn months. The price tag is fully justifiable. This being said, yes, all should be in full working order and presented to the high standard we pride ourselves on, so please accept my sincere apologies for any short comings that you have found not to be to your standard. With the feedback provided, we will certainly take on board and use all helpful elements to improve. With thanks and kind regards, David Robertson, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LA1256 wrote a review Aug 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom69 contributions69 helpful votes
We stayed at Greywalls many years ago and were looking forward to having lunch there with a friend who was staying for three nights, particularly as the building and the surroundings are very attractive. However the experience was underwhelming, to say the least. Nobody is at the entrance to greet you and we had no idea where to go. Staff were pleasant enough (when we found some!) but everything seemed a bit haphazard. Lunch was of a decent 'pub grub' standard but at twice the price, which neither the food or the service really merit. We had lunch in a small bar (dining room not available) and our conversation was completely drowned out for about 5 minutes by a member of staff hand grinding ice for one of our drinks (the place was so dead I can assure you that he could easily have found somewhere else to do it), water we had asked for didn't arrive and dessert took forever to appear. Greywalls has the feel of somewhere that feels it is so special (with prices to match) that it doesn't need to make an effort anymore - sadly it isn't that special and there are plenty of alternative restaurants and hotels locally that people can take their custom to instead. It looks like Greywalls is past its best and we won't be coming again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience when you joined for lunch. I am obviously saddened by the short comings experienced when you visited. Having shared with the team, they are equally disappointed, but appreciate the feedback received in order we can use this information positively to improve on the issues you have experienced. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing visit, and I do hope you will reconsider your not wishing to return. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
templeschoolhouse wrote a review Jul 2022
Gorebridge, United Kingdom34 contributions58 helpful votes
We were given a generous £ 200 voucher as a birthday gift to use at Greywalls. The gardens are beautiful and the actual building is stately and welcoming. Our room was spacious and the huge bathroom was very nice though in need of deoration. It shouldn't be too difficult or expensive to give the windows a lick of paint. We checked in on a Sunday afternoon for a 1 night stay. In the afternoon the hotel felt soulless. There was a musty smell in the public areas. The staff were very pleasant. We went elsewhere in Gullane for a superbe lunch. We just had a bar meal in the evening in the hotel and it was good. (Thanks to Kat for finding us a place in the restaurant) . Over and above our voucher we had to pay approximately £187 just for the bed and breakfast. I would never recommend this place to anyone and I cerainly won't return. Even the bedroom had no convenient socket to plug a phone charger in. Flatters to deceive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Overall, it seems as though you have enjoyed your stay from the many elements you say are “Beautiful”, “nice” and “pleasant”. Disappointingly though, it seems there has been points that have not been to your standard, so please accept my apologies for any shortcomings during your stay. It is never pleasant to read when a guest does not want to return, and I am sorry this is the case. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$304 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
greywalls hotel and chez roux, greywalls hotel muirfield
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEast LothianGullane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Which popular attractions are close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Nearby attractions include Gullane Beach (0.8 miles), Yellowcraig Beach (2.0 miles), and National Museum of Flight (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria, Cherish Vintage Tearoom & Emporium, and La Potiniere.
Is Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Gullane.
Are any cleaning services offered at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dirleton Castle (1.6 miles), The Lodge Grounds (3.3 miles), and War Memorial Garden (4.2 miles).
Does Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.