We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Save
Share
Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$388
View deal
Agoda.com
$305
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity$388
Priceline
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (301)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (36)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 in Gullane
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Valet parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
687Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 490
  • 114
  • 41
  • 27
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lawrie4465 wrote a review May 23
Brussels, Belgium21 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in a room on the first floor overlooking Muirfield and next time will request the same. The bathroom was good and the room charming and the bed super comfortable. The dinner was exquisite and the wine selection very good for the price. At £75 we might not eat there very night but it was well worth it. The garden was wonderful and next time we will book a team in the room looking onto the garden. We look forward to coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Erica G wrote a review May 4
Edinburgh, United Kingdom38 contributions55 helpful votes
It was OK...sadly just OK. The place was lovely, the food not brilliant. I wouldn't go back for the food. We were positioned in low seats,more suitable for coffee and cake I felt, not lunch. Location lovely,food should have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
BOFA BOY wrote a review Apr 2022
Callander, United Kingdom1055 contributions506 helpful votes
My wife and I enjoyed our two day break at Greywalls Hotel. The staff were absolutely first class, very friendly and extremely helpful and the food was lovely. The only criticism we would have is that the overall appearance of the hotel and the cottage (No 7) that we stayed in could do with a bit of a “makeover” as it is beginning to look a bit “tired”. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure to get the chance to speak with you on several occasions during your stay. I thank you for the positive and equally, very useful feedback as well. With feedback such as yours, it is always deemed a tool for us to use in order to better any elements of a stay for yours or future guests who stay. I do hope I have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to have you at Greywalls and I thank you for your kind and much appreciated custom. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Johwill2161 wrote a review Mar 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom152 contributions109 helpful votes
The welcome, garden and ambience - provided by roaring fires - were five star. The rest was below par. The dinner restaurant had a very limited choice of only three starters, mains and desserts. The starter and dessert were adequate, although below expectations and the main was poor. I chose the duck and it was tough as old boots. The only highlight of the meal was the pretty plate with Michel Roux’s name on it which was proudly displayed before the disappointing arrival of the food. The wine was ridiculously priced - £40 for quite limited quality.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Enjoy the garden, views of the golf course and collection of books in the library
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after visiting Greywalls. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the gardens, ambiance, and the welcome you were to receive. I am disappointed you have felt the dining experience was so poor and not to your standard. We hold ourselves in high regard when it comes to our cuisine but appreciate any feedback we may receive, in order we can evaluate and take this feedback forward into making any needed improvements. Although you found the meal not to your standard on this occasion, I do hope it will not stop you from returning in the future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Miss_Kitten wrote a review Mar 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom198 contributions81 helpful votes
We bought my brother and sister in law a gift voucher to stay for their 40th birthday and they had a lovely time, so we were keen to try it out. We drove up and the hotel from the outside is quite beautiful. The hotel is full of character and plenty of golf paraphernalia and photos (as you would expect next to Muirfield (which my husband loved!). The library lounge was lovely and relaxing to sit and have a drink in. I will say I thought all the staff were fantastic - friendly, professional and helpful. We loved our room and it was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and the only thing it didn't have was a tea/coffee tray or bath (I'm not going to lie I was a little disappointed here, as when you have a young child, getting any time to yourself is difficult and I like a bath when I can!). However that aside, we loved the room. I do question why there were no tea or coffee facilities as I like a coffee getting ready in the morning and missed that. We had dinner that evening and thoroughly enjoyed it, with a few glasses of wine to accompany it. Breakfast the next day was lovely too - the nicest smoked salmon that I've had I think and beautifully cooked scrambled eggs (don't doubt you can get scrambled eggs wrong - not many get them right in my opinion!). We liked that the hotel is a little more formal and the service was just fantastic and we look forward to coming back sometime soon! We had also booked my husband's mum and dad in the following week, so it's a family affair and we all have thoroughly enjoyed, so I recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing out to Muirfield
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your generous and detailed feedback with myself and the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to have you at Greywalls and I thank you for your kind and much appreciated custom. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Wyandour wrote a review Mar 2022
Cupar Fife371 contributions442 helpful votes
We stayed overnight last week. We were in a Garden cottage room. Very spacious with comfortable seating area. Very good size bathroom with very good walk in shower. Number 7. We had a glass of wine on arrival whilst waiting for our room in the library lounge. Breakfast was very good indeed though was surprised to see breakfast buffet with shared spoons for cereal and fruit. Cross contamination perhaps from spoons. Drinking in the lounge area after dinner was very comfortable with a very good selection of drinks on offer. Staff as you would expect were very professional, friendly and efficient. Lovely Hotel in beautiful grounds
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us to the extent you have. With regards to our buffet, we have followed Government guidelines throughout and the use of a buffet was allowed. I agree with your feedback of cross contamination, but we would hope that our dear guests follow good hygiene practices and use our several sanitising stations throughout the hotel to protect themselves and others. I do hope you are able to return in the near future for another enjoyable experience. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Edinbur wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel full of character and history, having been a private house and Officers Mess. Stunning view of Firth of Forth and Muirfield Golf Course. Lovely gardens. Stayed in single room, which was comfortable but no tea/coffee making facilities. Very nice cocktail bar with great selection of whiskies. Had a great meal at restaurant, the steak tartar was amazing, and three course meal included appetisers, Good value at £60. Great breakfast selection, particularly good the haggis and black pudding.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your Trip Advisor experience. I am delighted you have enjoyed your experience with us and thank you very much for your kind and generous custom. With regards to tea and coffee making facilities, we are always happy to deliver a hospitality tray at any time for you to enjoy a hot drink. I do hope you are able to return in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, David.
Read more
Sylvia wrote a review Mar 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom10 contributions20 helpful votes
We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and, based on some reviews, were really looking forward to it. Unfortunately our experience did not match what some others thought. I anticipated a lovely traditional hotel and it was, up to a point. However the bedroom was not what I expected. Bathroom was fine apart from no real ability to regulate water temp in shower to much below boiling. Bedroom had old and in my view tatty furniture that wasn’t very clean. The dressing table stool was very rickety and sofa was past it’s best. There was no hospitality tray in room but, when requested, was delivered quickly. However I’m not sure when kettle was last used but it was filthy and I had to clean it before I could use. Dinner was ok but definitely not worth what it would cost to a non resident. Breakfast again was just ok. Night before we left I completed their express checkout so that we could leave easily next morning. We were only 5 minutes away when manager called to say perhaps there was a “misunderstanding “ but we had left an outstanding bill!! To say I was disappointed and upset was an understatement. When I explained about express checkout he said perhaps it was in his e mail. Something perhaps he should have checked before calling guest!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded Mar 10, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for takin the time to post your review. I am sorry to read that your stay did not match your expectations. We strive to offer our guests the best possible experience and service, and I send my sincere apologies that your stay fell short of this. I take your feedback on board and will also pass this on to my team in order to continue to improve our offering. Above all aspects of the running of the hotel, the cleanliness of the hotel is high on the list, so I am greatly disappointed to learn that you feel we fell below standards. Please have my assurance that I will personally check all raised points. Please allow me to thank you for your kind and generous custom, and again thank you for your valued feedback. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Queenshill wrote a review Feb 2022
Edinburgh110 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
We were due to have stayed at Greywalls last year to celebrate my 60th birthday, but thanks to the Covid-19 pandemic our visit had to be postponed twice. However, as with so many of the good things in life, it was well worth the wait! Having previously stayed in another ICMI hotel we were very much looking forward to our 2 night break at Greywalls, and on check-in were thrilled to catch up with General Manager, David Robertson, who had looked after us so well at the other hotel. All of the staff at Greywalls are so friendly, welcoming, and quietly efficient - attentive without being obtrusive. Our room was spacious and well appointed with stunning views out over the landscaped gardens. The bathroom was luxurious with a roll-top bath and an amazing steam shower. The bathrobes & slippers were very welcome and the peace & quiet afforded us excellent nights of uninterrupted sleep. The atmosphere and the ambience in the public rooms is cosy & welcoming, more akin to a family home than a hotel, and we enjoyed spending time in the lounge, library and bar. As might be expected of a Chez Roux restaurant, the food is of the highest quality, with an excellent range of dishes on the ever-changing menu, delicious pre-dinner canapes, and gorgeous petits fours served with the post-meal coffee. Breakfast was also a sumptuous delight, with local produce, and a good selection of dishes cooked to order. Although this was our first stay at Greywalls, we fully intend that it will not be our last and we cannot wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded Mar 9, 2022
Dear Guest, What a delight to see some familiar faces from a past property I worked at. Your continuing support for ICMI properties and thoughtful words are massively appreciated. I will look forward to seeing you back at Greywalls in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Tibby Elmwood wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom112 contributions92 helpful votes
I would like to start this review by saying how efficient and attentive the staff were. The hotel is in a good location, near to the beach and town centre, and the breakfasts were nice too. However, these are the only positives I have to share on this hotel. From the outside, it’s a pretty impressive looking building. On the inside, though, it is tired and tatty, and everything seemed old and musty. We stayed in a large cottage which had the same run-down feel to it. The bath salts were out of date and our shower had a lot of black mould in it. The dining room and lounge areas are dreadful, full of people yet you could hear a pin drop - totally lacking any atmosphere or warmth. I really wouldn’t recommend Greywalls and wouldn’t return. I think that it is relying on an old reputation it maybe once had. With hotels just down the road, like the Bonnie Badger, I think Greywalls needs to up its game. There is certainly room for improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$300 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
greywalls hotel and chez roux, greywalls hotel muirfield
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEast LothianGullane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Which popular attractions are close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Nearby attractions include Gullane Beach (0.8 miles), Yellowcraig Beach (2.0 miles), and North Berwick Law (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria, Cherish Vintage Tearoom & Emporium, and La Potiniere.
Is Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Gullane.
Are any cleaning services offered at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dirleton Castle (1.6 miles), The Lodge Grounds (3.3 miles), and War Memorial Garden (4.2 miles).
Does Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.