We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Save
Share
Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$413
View deal
Expedia.com
$394
View deal
Trip.com
$413
$360
View deal
Hotels.com$394
Travelocity$394
CheapTickets$394
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (285)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (34)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Gullane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Valet parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
654Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 473
  • 110
  • 37
  • 25
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
340i wrote a review Jul 11
Glasgow, United Kingdom6 contributions7 helpful votes
Very disappointed in our stay here. A refurbishment is badly needed, especially the plumbing! There is a clear absence of leadership/management of inexperienced staff who did their best. We passed our comments to the staff member at the door when we checked out but she was so robotic and repetitive with her responses and very obviously couldn't care less. This hotel is clearly surviving on its location, lovely gardens and proximity to Muirfield.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Michelle S wrote a review Jul 9
Montrose, United Kingdom55 contributions23 helpful votes
After reading some of the reviews I was a little concerned before arrival. From the moment we arrived the customer service was excellent from all members of staff. The house has several lounges and a small bar which meant it never felt busy at all. It felt more like staying in a private residence than a hotel. The gardens are simply wonderful. We stayed in one of the cottages which was larger than expected. It had old fashioned charm and cleaned to a high standard. It had an enormous bed only let down by too soft pillows and duvet which was too warm for the time of year. The bathroom was very modern with a bath and excellent shower. The food service was outstanding. This was somewhere we wouldn't usually have stayed so for us it felt quite luxurious.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Topa wrote a review Jul 5
UK212 contributions12 helpful votes
We visited Greywalls Hotel last week for afternoon tea. The Hotel is set in beautiful gardens, really nice to walk through and very restful. You can have your tea or coffee and cakes outside or in the hotel it self. Hotel the setting outside is very nice especially on a sunny day, but we chose to go inside. The room where we had our afternoon tea was excellent, very nicely furnished and comfortable. The coffee, sandwiches, cakes, scones and meat titbits were excellent. The staff who served us were also excellent, very efficient, helpful and friendly and just to top it off the hotel is dog friendly. Ten out of ten for everything. Well worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind and generous words on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you have enjoyed to the extent you have, and hope you are able to return in the not too distant future for much more of the same. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Janice C wrote a review Jul 1
1 contribution
I live in Australia and my sister was going to Greywalls for both her and her husbands’s birthdays so wanted to surprise them with drinks. A cocktail and whiskey was correctly delivered but also gave them £100 and they were to be told it was for a bottle of their choice. After speaking to her she was unaware of any £100!! Contacted Greywalls via email and had to follow up 10 days later. The Manager contacted me and would look into it and get back to me in 24 hours, no email so again after another 10 days followed up. Another apology email came advising it had been credited to the bill. She said she would contact my sister to apologise and again after nearly 2 weeks….yea NO CONTACT!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
SW15_22 wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom42 contributions15 helpful votes
Mixed experience. Rooms feel overpriced given size, condition & lack of view. Pros: lovely gardens and attractive buildings right on the edge of Muirfield. Cosy communal rooms. Cons: room was very tired (broken toilet seat & furniture), lacked basic amenities (no fridge, limited clothes storage, kettle had to be plugged in on the floor) and had no view. We stayed in a large cottage room which had a very small bath and no view. Dinner was a similar story: canapés & mains were good but puddings and petit fours were very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from David Robertson, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I am disappointed and send my sincere apologies that we have not met your expectations. Feedback such as yours is always extremely helpful in order we can assess where and what can be bettered, so we can continue to strive for the high standards we set ourselves. Regardless of the negatives pointed out, I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Greywalls in the near future. Kind Regards, David Robertson, General Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$233 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
greywalls hotel and chez roux, greywalls hotel muirfield
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEast LothianGullane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Which popular attractions are close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Nearby attractions include Gullane Beach (0.8 miles), Yellowcraig Beach (2.0 miles), and Dirleton Castle (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cherish Vintage Tearoom & Emporium, Osteria, and La Potiniere.
Is Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Gullane.
Are any cleaning services offered at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dirleton Castle (1.6 miles), The Lodge Grounds (3.3 miles), and War Memorial Garden (4.2 miles).
Does Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.