We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 528: English reviews
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just back from another stay at this brilliant family focussed holiday park . Caravans are clean, well maintained and well equipped. If you need anything sorting out with the van then a simple call to the reception will get you the help you need. Beautiful views over Wigtown Bay and a short walk down a fairly steep path to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pjb229
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked this site on Pitchup.com, wasn't expecting too much with some of the reviews. This place is really good, clean toilets and showers, seen a cleaner in them at least once a day. Bins emptied every day, tent site was good and not soggy with water. Had a sea view from my tent! Stars at night are beautiful, and could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise G
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

And we certainly hope to see you again! So pleased you had a good time. We think our Park thoroughly deserves its recently awarded 5 Star status. More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked this holiday with not too much expectations. It was really just somewhere to sleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. Amazing is the only way to describe the park. Beautiful setting, fantastic caravan (spotless and huge), amazing place. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Helpful with fantastic local knowledge. Food and entertainment brilliant, my 2 sons had the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracy2204
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Great review - thank you. I am sure people researching our holiday park will be delighted on reading your review and will make their way here! More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just returned from a M-F 4 night break. We booked a gold caravan many months ago asking for as close to the beach and facilities as possible. The site itself is a well laid out, with zoned areas and we found staff friendly and welcoming. Upon check in we were given a caravan in the blue zone, upon... More 

Helpful?
Thank Housty1
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your very comprehensive review. Despite a few niggles I think you enjoyed your stay - but sorry you have decided not to return. We don't make up beds in any of our caravans, we have a large hire fleet and need to concentrate on ensuring caravans are cleaned and made ready for the next guest. Up against... More 

Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 8 nights here in early August. We pitched up on the lower area of yellow zone near to the brick toilet block. Pitches aren't level so you'll need some levellers. Toilets were adequate and clean but unfortunately other campers had a tendency to wedge the bathroom doors open thereby allowing their children to go to the toilet unaccompanied. Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachmanchap
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

I do apologise for the lack of adequate facilities - the deep clean may have been an unplanned job - as you say - some thoughtless visitors would by-pass the code system and allow free access to the facilities to their children. Our Housekeeping Team do keep a regular check but when they are busy with other duties the scheduling... More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We camped here for 2 nights. It's set in a stunning environment and was very welcoming. However we were disappointed that we had to pay £20 per night for our family to enter the entertainment, before we had even bought a drink! kids want to attend as they are well advertised but please be aware that this additional cost will... More 

Helpful?
Thank sharry79
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

The entertainment pass you paid for would be for a weekend break - you are given this information on arrival. Entertainment passes are optional - there are plenty of other things to do that are free - swimming for example as you mention. Regarding swimming, use of the lockers is optional too. Many guests chose not to use them, leaving... More 

New Cumnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a Monday to Friday break here which was throughly enjoyed by all. We originally booked a bronze model because we were taking our dog. After booking we decided that due to the fact we were planning numerous days out in the area we would leave the dog at home. I have to say after reading the reviews... More 

Helpful?
Thank lyndeloos
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

What a fantastic review for our accommodation and our facilities. We do try our very best to make sure all ages and tastes are catered for - as you say, if you want a more expensive holiday home - then upgrade! We have luxury static holiday homes with hot tubs. I am sure other visitors to TripAdvisor will read your... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on the 30th July and got caught up in the excitement of arriving and didn't notice we had pitched up in the middle of a motorway! We were literally 10 feet from a busy road with lorries whipping past in the middle of the night. Very little sleep was had by us all. The next day a fantastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

thank you for your very positive review. Yes, we are alongside the A75 but the traffic volume is not great. There are periods - for example - when traffic is heading to or from the ferry port at Stranraer - but usually, the noise is minimal. It's difficult to give an absolute comment on the 'accident waiting to happen'. Transport... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely landscaped and set out site, great staff and a fab shop. We dont use the social club so cant comment, we keep going back time and time again. A great base for all the local places of interest, we tend to go out of season as i imagine its full of kids in the height of the season.

Helpful?
Thank Loladog_10
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a Mon-Fri break at this site. It was set in a beautiful scenic location and is very peaceful and relaxing. Our caravan was clean and we were pleasantly surprised that we had working central heating when we were in a bronze model. We managed to have 6 adults and 2 children comfortably in the 3... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina C
Deb M, Manager at Auchenlarie Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns regarding your recent stay with us. You were politely asked by the manager of our convenience store not to let your child consume food whilst in the shop. We, like many shops/stores do not allow food or drink to be consumed on the premises. You chose to ignore the request,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

335 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (318)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (171)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
4.2 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
4.7 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
5.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Marks
The Marks
#11 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Auchenlarie Holiday Park

Address: Gatehouse of Fleet, Castle Douglas DG7 2EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Price Range: $18 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Auchenlarie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Hotel Castle Douglas
Auchenlarie Holiday Park Castle Douglas, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay