We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bridge Street Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/27/22
Booking.com
$217
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/26/22
Agoda.com
$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/27/22
Priceline$215
Travelocity$199
Hotels.com$199
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (207)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 02/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 in Kelso
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.4
Value
4.1
Ednam House sits on the banks of the River Tweed, enveloped by three acres of enchanting gardens. A spacious, stately mansion dating back to 1761 with a home-from-home atmosphere, it’s the ideal spot to recharge mind and body and soak up the best of the Borders. With the convenience of a town centre location, and the tranquillity and atmosphere of a country house residence, Ednam House, like the area it occupies, offers something for everyone.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking garage
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1039Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 458
  • 336
  • 133
  • 66
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nathalielemarrec wrote a review May 4
1 contribution
We had a very relaxing stay at Ednam House. All staff members were super friendly, the food was really nice and we enjoyed being in the conservatory and the bar. The only drawback was that our room looked a bit tired but it was clean. Plenty of river walks and cycle trails to keep you busy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Ednam House Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
Jayne A wrote a review May 3
Norwich, United Kingdom18 contributions6 helpful votes
No valance on bed base my pet hate. Although clean overall carpet was stained. Overall shabby appearance. Staff were lovely, helpful and polite. Breakfast good. My 4 night stay started badly after eating in the restaurant the first night myself and another guest felt and were ill overnight, which may or may not have been caused by the food. Feeling pretty rough the next day I returned to my room to find a letter addressed to me accusing me of smoking in my room and threatening me with a £30 fine (I don’t even smoke inside my own home) when I asked about it in reception I was told that two cigarette butts were found on the floor. As I explained they quite possibly had fallen out of my pocket as I don’t even throw them on the ground and there were no ashtrays in the garden so I put them in there to dispose of them in the bin and if I had have why hadn’t the smoke alarm been activated This ruined the rest of my stay as I felt I was being watched. I am visiting Kelso again in 6 weeks but luckily not here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We would to express our sincere apologises that you had a negative experience in our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We have taken note of your comments and shared with our department managers for them to follow up accordingly. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
Inspire223551 wrote a review May 3
2 contributions
Had a great Sunday night stopover. Staff, service and evening meal were excellent followed by a great breakfast the following morning. Love the restaurant and setting, will be back when the weather is better!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, First and foremost thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed everything Ednam House has to offer and will certainly pass your compliments onto our team. On behalf of our entire staff we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
Oneear wrote a review May 2
Uk16 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Enjoyed a night here recently with my partner - the Sunday Seclusion package, including a two course evening meal and a full Scottish breakfast. The welcome, and indeed all of the service we received was wonderful, and we also benefitted from a surprise upgrade to a Principle River View room. The hotel is lovely, an old fashioned building, which, while not perfect, was full of charm and ambience and well appointed. The room, with roll top bath and ensure shower, was large and warm with fabulous views of the River Tweed and the swans on it. The evening meal was cooked beautifully, tasted amazing and had generous and perfectly sized portions. We enjoyed a walk around Kelso, right outside the hotel front door, afterward before a good night's sleep. The breakfast was similarly filling, tasty and well presented,and a stroll through the grounds alongside the river was very nice. Highly recommended, and we'll be visiting again, with thanks to all the staff who helped us enjoy our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, First and foremost thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed everything Ednam House has to offer and will certainly pass your compliments onto our team. On behalf of our entire staff we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
Tim C wrote a review Apr 2022
Croft-on-Tees, United Kingdom957 contributions261 helpful votes
It is always a pleasure to come and stay here as it is a beautiful building and the staff are absolutely wonderful The food is excellent and there is a very nice bar and it is lovely to sit outside in the garden and have a drink The rooms have been recently upgraded and are very comfortable and dogs are welcome
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Ednam House Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
davidschermer wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Amazing location and amazing food but the hotel needs a bit of a refurb. Unfortunately, one evening of our stay clashed with a wedding reception - we couldn't book Afternoon Tea and the bar food we ordered instead never turned up.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We would to express our sincere apologises that you had a negative experience in our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
nirvana247x wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
A lovely period residence set by the river Tweed, yet still accessible to the town, nearby castles and local areas of beauty. Full Scottish breakfast to be commended. Great customer service from all staff. Original part of main house with lovely period features and quirky red phone box library. Room accommodation was average size, clean but furnishings a little tired and in need of repair.Mattress in definite need of replacement. Water pressure in bathroom needed sorting - rainfall shower output very weak and bath took an hour to run after having mentioned to reception re water issue. Dog biscuits and dog mat in room. More extensive menus for bar and restaurant would be good, despite being able to choose from both menus. Benches and flower borders near the river in need of repair and could only find one dog waste bin, which also had a broken lid. Enjoyable stay overall.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Ednam House Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
traceygreener2 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Lovely House, friendly welcome. The hotel is right in the heart of the town and beautiful setting by the river. Here for a wedding. A perfect venue and would definitely come back. The breakfast was amazing. Rooms clean and beds of top quality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, First and foremost thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed everything Ednam House has to offer and will certainly pass your compliments onto our team. On behalf of our entire staff we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
janeysharp1972 wrote a review Apr 2022
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom2 contributions
We have now visited Ednam House Hotel around ten times - and every trip is a treat! Every aspect of the hotel is superb. The food is particularly good. It is locally sourced and exquisitely prepared. We love Ednam House Hotel!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded Apr 14, 2022
Dear Guest, First and foremost thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed everything Ednam House has to offer and will certainly pass your compliments onto our team. On behalf of our entire staff we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
cocobarker1 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom25 contributions9 helpful votes
Went here for a pint after fishing this week... What a disappointment, loud 80's music, terrible beer selection. This used to be a bar for fishermen to finish off a days fishing on the Tweed, sadly not any more... There's more atmosphere in outer space.. No other fishermen there, place is soulless and needs a real makeover... Such a shame, it used to be mecca but not anymore.. Collingwood Arms in Cornhill so much nicer, better selection and cheaper... £15.50 for three CANS of Guiness... Won't be back again I'm afraid..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Kilday, General Manager at Ednam House
Responded Apr 9, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit with us. Kind regards, Reservations
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ednam house hotel kelso, ednam hotel kelso
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersKelso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ednam House
Which popular attractions are close to Ednam House?
Nearby attractions include Rutherfords Micropub (under new ownership) (0.1 miles), Kelso Abbey (0.08 miles), and Kelso War Memorial (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ednam House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Ednam House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ednam House?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ednam House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lemon and Thyme Restaurant, The Cream Chimneys, and The Cobbles - Freehouse & Dining.
Is Ednam House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Kelso.
Are pets allowed at Ednam House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ednam House offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ednam House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hume Castle (4.9 miles) and Roxburgh Castle (0.5 miles).
Does Ednam House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.