We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ednam House

Save
Share
Bridge Street Roxburghshire, Kelso TD5 7HT Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$212
$148
View deal
Expedia.com
$164
View deal
eDreams$148
CheapTickets$164
ZenHotels.com$212
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (184)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (12)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Kelso
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Ednam House sits on the banks of the River Tweed, enveloped by three acres of enchanting gardens. A spacious, stately mansion dating back to 1761 with a home-from-home atmosphere, it’s the ideal spot to recharge mind and body and soak up the best of the Borders. With the convenience of a town centre location, and the tranquillity and atmosphere of a country house residence, Ednam House, like the area it occupies, offers something for everyone.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Secured parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Finnish and 1 more
945Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 415
  • 301
  • 123
  • 62
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
morascandrett01 wrote a review Yesterday
Hinckley, United Kingdom1 contribution
We were married here 3 years ago and have been regular visitors since. Some aspects of rooms may be a bit dated but only adds to the charm of the place. Staff are warm and welcoming nothing is too much trouble.Very welcoming for dogs too we will definitely bring ours next time. Absolutely superb
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Never lost wrote a review Jul 26
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at the end of May for two nights for our wedding anniversary having had our New Year’s Eve booking here cancelled due to covid. Spent over £300 and being local we thought it would be good to support a local business with the ongoing pandemic. Amazing weather and a central location made it great for getting out and about. Reception staff friendly on check in/out. Mixed advice on booking for lunch(told on phone there was no need as we were resident)arrived and extremely rude waitress said there was no tables and we couldn’t eat at all or sit outside-despite there being free tables with no reservation on them. After a lot of fuss on the waitresses part she then gave us one of the many free tables?! Staff continually bicker with each other and make comments to customers. Graham(?)was the only excellent member of staff in the dining room and had the most impeccable manners and service. I feel the other waiting staff could learn a lot from him and he is definitely to be commended. Food did not seem to be as I have seen on other reviews or as advertised, 30mins at breakfast just to get a coffee and cold in the middle, reheated, dry potatoes at dinner. Hotel not as clean as I could expect even outside of a pandemic-never seen anyone wiping tables or cleaning anything at all. Smell resonated with a care home(not in a good way!)Dead bluebottles and slaters at the bottom of dining room windows, also several bluebottles flying around the dining room. Massive cobwebs above the entrance stairs to the rooms and rooms not being serviced “due to covid” is a poor excuse if you are able to open and run the hotel. Had to go and ask for clean towels and was told these would be put on the floor outside our room along with cups?! Unhygienic at the best of times but makes no sense when you can’t have them put in your room apparently due to a pandemic. Our room had lovely views of the river and a fantastic free standing bath but overall the room was not clean. Muddy paw prints on one of the chairs and spilt coffee stains(?)on surfaces. Dead fly on coffee cup saucer. Also dogs being allowed to sleep on the beds and on furniture with a requested blanket is a massive no for me- I find this totally unhygienic. Had I known this I would never have booked. Lastly why is there so much disposable plastic??toilet roll wrapped in a plastic bag, 3 bags of toiletries tied in a knot in a plastic bag. With this amount of plastic being unnecessarily used the notice about reusing towels definitely doesn’t hold up to much. Left it a while to write this review as I filled out a feedback form with permission to contact to discuss further and this has never happened via email or phone. I will never be back and unfortunately as a local I found it massively disappointing and wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
DTL28253 wrote a review Jul 24
Glasgow, United Kingdom2 contributions
Great location on the banks of the Tweed, and handy for visiting the town of Kelso. Hotel is very nice, though in need of some restoration externally in places. Room was very nice with a view overlooking the gardens to the river. Bed was comfortable, and a fan was provided which mitigated the high overnight temperature somewhat. Bathroom was adequate, however, the bath was slow draining due to quite a bit of hair from previous occupants around plug. Grounds were very nice, with adequate tables outside for drinks. Dinner was excellent, and wine was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was ok, however it was clear that the food had been sat under a heat lamp for enough time to dry out some items. Overall, hotel was a nice place to stay, and good value for money. Would stay there again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Ednam House
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable time with us. We do of course apologise with regard to your feedback about the bathroom plug, we have fallen short in this respect and have raised with the team. On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Ednam House Hotel in the near future!
Read more
Paul S wrote a review Jul 23
4 contributions
Fantastic surroundings. Felt safe within the out with the hotel. Beautiful scenery by the river Tweed. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (I should add I've been a chef and worked in the industry). The starter of seared mackerel was spot on, perfect with beetroot & hire radish 10/10. The main course of loin of pork with pear was exquisite, best pork dish I've eaten by a stretch (whoever is responsible for this dish is certainly understanding food). Dessert was lime infused strawberry tart... The lime was key here to add subtle sharpness to the sweet strawberries. Excellent meal overall and wow what talent behind the swinging doors. If the food was consistent to this level daily you cannot go wrong. Fellow dinners on the night were all praising the food. These chefs could cook anywhere on the planet with success! The waiting staff were on the ball too, steady ship from my perspective. I tip my hat to that!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Ednam House
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had such a fantastic time with us and ejoyed your dining experience. On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Ednam House Hotel in the near future!
Read more
JMG685 wrote a review Jul 22
Bedale, United Kingdom29 contributions29 helpful votes
Beautiful setting and characterful building. Decor and furnishings of another era but very comfortable. Dining excellent but bar service poor and service to outside tables minimal. Orangerie room was very hot and a bit Spartan.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services , Guest Services / Front Office at Ednam House
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent dining experience with us. On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back to Ednam House Hotel in the near future!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ednam house hotel kelso, ednam hotel kelso
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersKelso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ednam House
Which popular attractions are close to Ednam House?
Nearby attractions include Rutherfords Micropub (under new ownership) (0.1 miles), Kelso Abbey (0.08 miles), and Kelso War Memorial (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ednam House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Ednam House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ednam House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ednam House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cream Chimneys, The Cobbles - Freehouse & Dining, and The Contented Vine.
Is Ednam House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Kelso.
Are pets allowed at Ednam House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ednam House offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ednam House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Ednam House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Floors Castle & Gardens (1.1 miles), Hume Castle (4.9 miles), and Roxburgh Castle (0.5 miles).
Does Ednam House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.