We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Saffron Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Saffron Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of The Saffron Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Old hotel, you hear everything from the neighbours and the corridor, quite dirty. Thhe food was average. There is no doubt I will not come back. It is interesting i still remember the place after so many months..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TDEPL
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you feel that the hotel is not up to the standard you expected. The hotel is old but there have been some extensive changes and still on going. We do not agree that the hotel is dirty we have regular cleaners coming in everyday and they always try to give there 100 percent every day to help...

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

They were doing an offer of £8.95 on a Friday for fish &chips and a drink had my doubts that they could serve a good meal and a drink for that' price,answer they can fish was excellent as was the service,as per the title there wasn't many people so lack atmosphere hopefully this will be turned round with this review

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank derek g
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the fish Friday is back by popular demand and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon. Regards.

essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have not stayed in hotel as live locally but have used restaurant on 3 occassions, Christmas, Valentines Day, and most recently Saturday family lunch. Christmas lunch was very good with high level of staffing. Valentine's far less so with far fewer staff unable to grasp how a table should be laid, palming off a wine different to that ordered from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EssexCritic
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed on this occasion. We work very hard to offer good food and friendly service and I am sorry we didn’t meet your expectations. Our chefs take great pride in providing great quality dishes time and again...

Southborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My company hired a conference room for a day with lunch. It is a very comfortable venue, I am tempted to stay their with my wife for a couple of nights so we can explore the area. It was better than average, but we did not try enough of the facilities to give it a higher mark. Lunch was sandwiches,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnwpf
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Feel free to book with us again and explore the area, Saffron Walden is a great place to explore so we hopefully get to see you back soon again and maybe try something more adventurous from our great menu selection. Kind Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I are planning our wedding for June 2017, and we decided to ‘try before we buy' the local to hotels in and around Saffron Walden. We needed somewhere that was good value for money, without compromising on quality. We thought that following a one-night stay, that it was worth a review on here. The hotel is right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to your taste. We hope to see you again in the future and good luck with the wedding planning we hope you have a fantastic day! kind regards

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2017

My wife and I have now eaten lunch at this town centre hotel on four occasions over the last few months. Each time we have been greatly impressed by a) the helpfulness of all the staff b) their efficiency c) the considerable variety of choice on the prix fixe menu d) how much that menu alters each time we attend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewjameswarren
Saffronhotel, Manager at The Saffron Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and your very lovely comments. Our aim is to provide the best possible service in all areas to guarantee that your stay can be a memorable one. Our menus have all the popular dishes but we also like to give plenty of variety in terms of choice and daily specials. Hope to see you...

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Tired rooms, helpful staff, restaurant / bar food excellent very limited parking, OK for one or two days only. Value for money no but inline with similar accommodation in area, spoilt by US and Asian hotel facilities and cost.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesapj
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 3, 2017

Not the greatest place I've ever stayed in.Certainly not the worst.Miniscule availability for car parking.Rooms in desperate need of sprucing up.Staff very friendly though and it's right in the middle of town.Breakfast was ok.No frills but served a purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anselmo4217
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Stayed with a friend in a standard twin room. The room was tired and in need of refurbishment, but very clean and staff were helpful. The car park has only 3 spaces, so to say it has free car parking is a bit misleading!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 716sharonm
Wellington, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 29, 2017

A nice place to spend a night. Comfortable room, good food and very friendly and helpful staff. Yes, there wasn't much parking space as some have commented, but I got in there no trouble. I would certainly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saffron Walden
3.3 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
166 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
241 reviews
5.7 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
368 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.4 mi away
Queens Head Inn
Queens Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Littlebury
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Saffron Walden takes the second parts of its name from the threatening fortification of Walden Castle, erected by the Normans after the Conquest, and the first from the rare and precious saffron crocus, for which the town became famous, used in medicine, cooking and as the source of a rich yellow dye. The hotel has 16 en-suite bedrooms (all 100% non smoking) which all have tea/coffee and ironing facilities. The hotel also has a paneled Restaurant and Lounge/Bar area. We also cater for functions including parties and weddings in our Saffron Suite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Saffron Hotel

Address: 8-12 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Price Range: $78 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saffron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Saffron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saffron Hotel Walden
The Saffron Hotel Saffron Walden, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Saffron Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room could do with renovation/upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles jesapj, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Can only comment on room 16 which was clean, compact and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Orianapc, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
“We had room 21 and this and room 22 are accessed up a steep stair case.”
 of 5 bubbles 781trishr, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“for a quiet night rooms 21 or 22”
 of 5 bubbles 725alfredc, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
“Poor hotel poor parking”
 of 5 bubbles belgieNorthBerwick, May 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question