We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Moorland Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 478: English reviews
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked as a break for my friend and I . The hotel staff were lovely and very friendly . As mentioned in another post a few maintenance issues ( our bathroom ceiling ) bit more housekeeping overseeing wouldn't go amiss ..but otherwise our room was very nice and overlooking the grounds with their quirky interesting garden features . The evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maz T
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

phoned last night about cream tea offer lady said you dont need to book came from ivybridge today at 3pm and was told cream teas had sold out! offer was on till 5-30 really disspointed so my my husband and grandson

Helpful?
Thank Aileen J
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Please can you contact me directly on gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk as I would like to respond to you directly in relation to your recent poor experience at the hotel. Kind regards, Andrew More 

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed just for one night with a group of friends. Our room was lovely, large, well appointed with a beautiful four poster bed and a view which nearly looked over the grounds. The room had obviously been very tastefully refurbished but some of our friends were not nearly as fortunate and we all paid the same amount. We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabelle H
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that there were elements of your stay which fell short of your expectations. I have addressed these issues with the Head Chef, and also changed the breakfast buffet set-up taking on board the points that you raised. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As it turns out this is not only my first visit here but also where my parents had their wedding reception some 50 years ago !! It is a lovely hotel. Excellent rooms, the odd bit of maintenance required but clean, spacious and in a very beautiful setting right on the edge of Dartmoor. Room was boiling hot being west... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin R
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a SUPERIOR Double Room ( The best and the most expensive they had on offer but I was given a so called premier Double room Which was a standard room with a very dirty furniture, chairs, Fan, hair dryer and an awfully dirty bath, upon complaining about the room and presenting them with a print out of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry there were errors made with your booking through booking.com, but these have now been addressed. I am sorry that this was not explained to you directly by the Manager on duty. I have investigated and addressed the issues that you raised. Please contact me directly at gm@moorlandgardenhotel.co.uk if you wish to... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
334 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful property in a stunning location. We only stayed one night and wish we had stayed longer, the service was uniformly excellent, the room very well equipped and spotless, most comfortable. Dinner was really good, delicious and so well presented. The only downside of our stay was breakfast which was pretty ordinary in lay out, presentation and offerings in very... More 

Helpful?
Thank DAVID V
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was sold as a luxury stay but was not to the standard sold, fortunately the staff were fantastic and resolved all issues quickly and efficiently. A potentially disappointing stay avoided by great diligence. Would stay again on a different package.

Helpful?
Thank TomalinaThumbelina
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to a standard of luxury that you were expecting. Thank you so much for your comments in relation to the staff at the hotel, which I have enjoyed sharing with them. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future... More 

Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights 4-7 Aug in a twin room. The hotel room was very clean and nicely decorated but the hotel generally lacked any atmosphere. All the staff were very young and inexperienced. Breakfast was a disappointment, cold plates for the hot buffet, tea was very cold and had to keep asking for hot tea. Selection of anaemic looking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I was very sorry to read of your disappointment with breakfast, and I will be putting measures in place to ensure that these standards are improved. Thank you for commenting about the sculptures in the garden. They all come from local artists and they are indeed eclectic. I am pleased that you found the... More 

Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by moorland of Dartmoor. I only stayed one night, I needed to be near Tavistock and this was a very good choice, being within easy reach of Tavistock and Plymouth, not to mention Dartmoor itself. My room was well appointed, clean and comfortable, perfectly quiet and very dark which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adminsuz
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Moorland Garden hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew More 

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the restaurant at Moorland Garden at Yelverton for dinner and booked before arrival. There was a wedding party taking place and we were asked to sit in a bustling lounge and wait. We waited about 15-20 minutes and during this time were not offered any drinks. The food was excellent but the service was rather erratic between main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cadwallader2015
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that the service you experienced was not as attentive as it should have been, and I would like to apologize for this. I am pleased that you found the food to be excellent. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

431 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Balcony Room (40)
Viewed
Garden Standard Room (33)
Viewed
Lilly of the Valley Suite (32)
Viewed
Peony Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Premier Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Second Premier Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
13.2 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
6.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
5.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel
Boringdon Hall Hotel
#2 of 21 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Price Range: $111 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay