We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moorland Garden Hotel

Traveler (119)
360
Panoramas (12)
Dining (80)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
729Reviews
491Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 356
  • 204
  • 103
  • 44
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It was my Wife's and I first time dining here at the moorland garden hotel , we was firstly greeted by Lucy at reception who was polite and welcoming who directed us to the Dartmoor bar for drinks, we was served by Shaun at the bar and then seated in the wildflower restaurant ,
Read more
Returned to the Moorland garden after a break of 2 years after a very disappointing experience. The food, atmosphere, staff and entertainment were 1st class, it was a very fun night. Thank you to all at Moorland Garden x
Read more
Response from Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Patricia M, Thank you very much for this fabulous review, I am really pleased to see you had such a good time. If you want to come again this year and have not booked yet please do so soon - we have nearly sold all the rooms! Thank you again Andrew Jenkins, General Manager
Read more
We were a little disappointed, on arrival there was no heating on in our room and the radiator/towel rail in the bathroom was broken. It was eventually fixed after several phone calls to reception and visits. On trying to use the bath we found the plug release did not work and
Read more
Response from Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear wegetaround548, Thank you for your full and honest review. Our housekeeping team are supposed to check that the heating is on in all the rooms where we have guests arriving and I do apologise that this was not done on this occasion. Once we realised the element had gone in the towel rail it was a bigger job and we had to wait for our Maintenance Manager to finish another urgent job he was on to then fix the heater - the incentive you gave him certainly worked! I do apologise too for the issue with the bath plug, this was not brought to my attention, we certainly should not have left it like we did. Within our menu we do have choices at each course for people preferring a non-meat option, half of the starters are vegetarian and three of the main courses are, with each one being quite different. We did have vegan dishes on a previous menu but the uptake was not sufficient, there has to be a certain amount of preparation and we ended up throwing most of this away. We are happy to adapt to produce vegan dishes on request. We are very aware of the work we need to do in the car park and on the shared exit lane. The winter weather has significantly exacerbated the problems while also stopping us from fixing them! As soon as we have a break in the weather we will be on the case. As you are in the area often I would like you to stay again, we would like to have the opportunity for you to see us in a better and warmer light! Kind regards, Andrew Jenkins, General Manager
Read more
We stayed here for a night away and stayed in one of the beautiful suites. We could not believe how big the room was and the quality of the decor and the comfort touches to the room for the price we paid. We really were in the lap of luxury with our own balcony looking over the
Read more
Response from Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rachael740, Thank you very much for your lovely review, it was a real pleasure to see how good a time you had with us. it is great to see we got the food, service and facilities so right for you. We look forward to seeing you here again soon! Kind regards Andrew Jenkins, General Manager
Read more
We visited for a night away as a treat. Welcomed by a lovely lady on reception and then after checking in we went into the bar and sat in front of a roaring fire and had probably the nicest cream tea I have ever tasted. For the evening meal we were greated by a very nice lady
Read more
Response from Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear flossyanna1, Thank you for your very kind review, I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly the hospitality and the food. These are both areas we want to excel at and it is good to see the results of our work. Do come and see us again soon! Kind regards, Andrew Jenkins, General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementMoorland Garden Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorland Garden Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorland Garden Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorland Garden Hotel
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoorland Garden Hotel
Guest room
PreviousNext
12345652
Hi Alison, Yes you are welcome to come in for Breakfast. If more than two of you it would be good to know how many, when and what time so we can be ready. Also best to avoid 9am on a Saturday or Sunday. Thank you Andrew
0 votes
Show all answers
Very large and with a fine view of the gardens
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello Joan - thank you for your question, please would you contact Reception on 01822 852245 so that we can discuss your booking requirements. Kind regards.
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes, Robert H it does, it is a set menu with good choices and the food is well cooked and presented, also served hot.
1 vote
Show all answers
Good morning, Apologies for the delay coming back to you. We do have a range of mattresses in the hotel and we do our best to make sure the most appropriate room is used when we have a special request like yours. none of the rooms have orthopoedic mattresses but we can add bed boards as necessary. Our recent reviews do have some very positive things to say about the hotel and the food so I am confident you will have a good stay with us. When yo book do please make sure we know about your mattress needs eg firm, soft, extra padding etc. We look forward to seeing you next year Regards Andrew GM
0 votes
Show all answers
"Rooms on ground floor okay apart from maintenance issues which seem to let the place down"
"Facing the Garden"
"Fantastic if you have fur babies"
"ask for balcony room."
"Make sure that you ask for a room that has been brought fully up to date, has a garden view and is not too far from reception."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Moorland Links Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDartmoor National ParkYelverton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing