We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The George Inn, Blackawton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George Inn, Blackawton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staying down in South hams, once a week for a full year, it is important to find a Pub that consistently delivers on quality , service and value. The George does all these things. The rooms are very comfortable and modern - in fact so good that I sleep better than at home. The food is high quality pub grub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Strasbourg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed in the Georges Inn for a total of four nights (October 2016), while visiting the area (Dartmouth, Salcombe, Dartmoor National Park...). We found our room and bathroom very comfortable and clean. The accommodation have obviously been refreshed recently (white walls in majority, which makes it very luminous). We also enjoyed the food, which was obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julien R
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review, and for the kind words. We really appreciate it and it does help other potential visitors to form an idea of where we are and what kind of establishment we have here. kind regards Ruth Coe

Bremerton, Washington
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

After finding lodging in Dartmouth filled, the TI found a vacancy for us here. After a terrifying trip down a narrow road to the small village, we found the inn. Obviously a local pub with B&B rooms overhead, we feared a noisy crowd below would mean a miserable night for us. As it turned out, the normal volume conversations from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allen207
rowena87, Housekeeper at The George Inn, Blackawton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're pleased to read that your terrifying journey was worth it & you enjoyed your experience with us at The George Inn.

Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Stayed for three nights while visiting Dartmouth Regatta, lovely rooms, really clean. I was in a back room and had a wonderful view. Everyone was really friendly. I will definitely visit again. The breakfast was fantastic too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Florence H
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review, and for the kind words. We really appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back to Blackawton.. kind regards Ruth Coe

cornwall
Reviewed August 12, 2016

We stayed for one night on 10.08.16 at The George Inn, Blackawton, Devon. Myself and wife with son, daughter in law and two children. Brilliant choice. Good food in the bar and a brilliant breakfast the following morning when we had to leave by 8am to attend a function at Dartmouth. The landlady got up early to prepare our breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CornwallTrumpeter
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review, and for the kind words. We really appreciate it. As the "breakfast chef" I especially value your appreciation of our early morning breakfast! thanks again, kind regards Ruth Coe

Par, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We were staying at Woodlands Grove and took a stroll early evening for our meal. It was literally downhill going. However after a superb meal and bottle of wine, all well presented in a friendly relaxed atmosphere we didn't mind the uphill walk back to base, especially as our dog had been made welcome, sampling tidbits from us! Well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara N
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review, and for the kind words. We really appreciate it, love to welcome families, walkers and dogs, so were very pleased you enjoyed the walk here and back (uphill!) kind regards Ruth Coe

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 20, 2016

My wife and I stayed at The George on nights of 24-25 Jun. The accommodation was excellent; bed comfortable, room nice and airy and en-suite clean. No complaints either about the cooked Full English breakfast which was excellent with as much additional tea and toast as we wanted. Our evening meal on Fri, 24 Jun was a different story however....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracteur2015
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review, and for the feed back on your disappointing supper. I can only apologise, we have recently changed our steak supplier, so hopefully that will address one of your concerns. The issue of cold plates should of course been addressed immediately you raised this, I am so sorry my staff were lacking...

Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2016

I stay at the George regularly and keep returning for a great welcome, my own comfy room and fabulous food. The chef comes from Asia so the curries are superb as is the all the food! I highly recommend the George and always sleep better than at home!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim M
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review Tim, and for the kind words. We really appreciate it and it does help other potential visitors to form an idea of where we are and what kind of establishment we have here. Always pleased to see you return! kind regards Ruth Coe

Sandown, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

We were recommended to try this Public House when looking for somewhere to eat one evening. I can only say it is a rather run down property in need of some refurbishment. The gents toilets and area were really in need of attention. The food served was adequate and arrived quite promptly and hot but nothing outstanding. I would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian-iow
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your visit. The George Inn is a traditional village inn, a pub rather than a restaurant. Our food offer is intended to be good home cooked, locally sourced value. We are not a "gastro pub" and I can only apologise if that is...

Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Comfortable beds a warm welcome excellent food at reasonable prices. Our third visit and it just gets better and more friendly. Lovely village in quiet location. Charming and helpful staff who really want to make your stay happy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank riverure
Management response:

Thank you for taking trouble to post a review, and for the kind words. We really appreciate it and it does help other potential visitors., we hope to welcome you back to Blackawton in the future. regards Ruth Coe

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackawton
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
840 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
107 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Durant Arms
The Durant Arms
#1 of 1 in Ashprington
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Awarded 3* village inn in the heart of the Devon countryside. Silver award from Green Tourism. Cask Marque awarded ales. Good value quality food selection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Inn, Blackawton

Address: Main Street, Blackawton, Dartmouth TQ9 7BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Blackawton
Price Range: $90 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Inn, Blackawton 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The George Inn, Blackawton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Inn, Blackawton Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn, Blackawton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I had room 1”
 of 5 bubbles FlorenceH465, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“Sleep in the car”
 of 5 bubbles 885danek, Apr 5, 2015 | Read review
“rooms at the back grat views”
 of 5 bubbles twankey, Feb 4, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for back room with wonderful views”
 of 5 bubbles lui644, Aug 17, 2014 | Read review
“rooms at the back have a great view of the surrounding countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles CathDave33, May 17, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay