We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Custom House

South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL England
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (265)
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (13)


#22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Marina View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
866Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 310
  • 315
  • 146
  • 63
  • 32
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
lucyandharrydarl2020 wrote a review Nov 6
Newbury, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon. The location is fantastic and we had a lovely harbour view in our room. The service was a little lacklustre throughout but especially when we first arrived and we were greeted by a very unenthusiastic man on reception. The room was ok, a little tired and unfortunately the noise level was very loud (thankfully the 10pm curfew meant it was quieter late at night but in normal times I think this would be a problem). We ate in the restaurant the first night. Very average meal and you can get much better elsewhere in the town. Despite mentioning we were on our honeymoon, none of the staff congratulated us or acknowledged the occasion, which was a stark contrast to other places we have previously stayed and would have helped to make the stay more special. In summary, our stay here was average.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Harriet_Kelly wrote a review Nov 2
Bridgwater, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
We booked a table in the restaurant for 8pm (curfew for closing at 10pm) 2 hours is more than enough time for a couple to eat. We were greeting and asked if we were eating, we replied yes and were told to hurry up and order as the kitchen shuts in 20 minutes. I was quite shocked as we booked online and no where does it state that the kitchen shuts at 8:20 extremely early in my opinion. We order starters and main (unfortunately by the time we finished dessert was out of the question) When my coke came, it had an empty salt packet stuck to the glass - Wasn't impressed as glasses clearly not cleaned or checked properly. It was changed but put me off drinking anything else and I left most of it. Doubt we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Candace Jury, Sonstige at The Old Custom House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Harriet K, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.
Read more
BathGarry wrote a review Nov 1
Bath367 contributions122 helpful votes
Hotel directly on harbour side and close to local car parks. Check in easy and we were allowed into our room early. Room very clean and all mod cons if slightly on small side. Breakfast good choice and good service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Candace Jury, Sonstige at The Old Custom House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you to leaving Old Custom House, Padstow a review! We hope you had a great visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, The Team at Old Custom House, Padstow.
Read more
Sue C wrote a review Oct 2020
Bedford, United Kingdom35 contributions7 helpful votes
Enjoyed our stay with great harbour views. Wrong room on first night was sorted for 2nd & 3rd night. Only downside was very thin walls which was a shame as had noisy neighbours for 2 out of the 3 nights. Great location for the South West coast path from the doorstep.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Response from Candace Jury, Sonstige at The Old Custom House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! Best wishes, The Team at Old Custom House, Padstow.
Read more
Philip B wrote a review Oct 2020
Kingswinford, United Kingdom67 contributions45 helpful votes
We went for a two night stay to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. I knew when I booked that we would have to park on the public car park right opposite the hotel. What I wasn't expecting was that it would be so busy. On arrival, I paid the £16 for two 24 hour periods, more than enough to cover our stay. Although the car park was pretty busy, we managed to get a space very close to the entrance, so we only had to cross the road to the hotel entrance. On the following day, we took the car and had a trip to Port Isaac and Tintagel, arriving back in Padstow around mid-afternoon. The car park was totally full with not a single empty space. Not only that but there were quite a few cars patrolling the car park in the hope of finding a space. We had to drive around the car park for ages, until luckily I did manage to find a space that had just been vacated, otherwise it could have been a long afternoon. As for the hotel, it was great. We couldn't have asked for a better location. Right on the harbour and within a very short walking distance of the centre of Padstow.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from Candace Jury, Sonstige at The Old Custom House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Philip B, thank you so much for the positive review! Best wishes, The Team at Old Custom House, Padstow.
Read more
$128 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
old custom house hotel padstow, old custom house padstow
United KingdomEnglandCornwallPadstow
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Custom House
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Custom House?
Nearby attractions include Padstow and Stepper Point Walk (0.3 miles), Padstow Harbour (0.2 miles), and National Lobster Hatchery (0.02 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Custom House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Custom House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Custom House?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Custom House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ben's Crib Box Cafe, Paul Ainsworth at No. 6, and Cherry Trees Coffee House.
Is The Old Custom House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Padstow.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Custom House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St.Eval Church (4.9 miles) and Pawton Quoite (4.7 miles).
Does The Old Custom House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.