We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,233: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The hotel building itself is impressive and the lobby and communal areas are very nice. On check-in the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back of the hotel and to be honest, needed a bit of updating. It was quiet and comfortable but for the price we felt it should really be a bit better. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrishaw69
Croxley Green
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This hotel is lovely. It is a wonderful Victorian spacious building. The room was huge with a good sea view. The staff were very friendly. Cracking breakfast. The only negative is that the spa wasn't open the day we were there even though it said it was on the opening hours.

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
Preston lancs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had never visited the South west before so decided to visit a few places as we returned from Brittany. Travelling back up North Padstow was our first overnight stay. The Metropole was a great choice. A large room on the 3rd floor with great views over the harbour and a great nights sleep. A warm welcome from the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnSwin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and the room was lovely and spacious with an amazing view. The hotel itself is lovely, it is slightly dated but clean and tidy. We had breakfast on both days and the food was superb and cooked food was freshly cooked and was delicious. The wedding was perfect and the staff did all they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eckersangels
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eckersangels Many thanks for your 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding and we were able to look after you all. I will pass on your thanks to all the teams here. Warm regards Melissa Harris More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here in September 2016 in a Garden Twin. Their policy required up front payment at the time of reservation - credit cards attract a premium, then a further £ 5 to park your car. Moreover, their rates are extravagant when you consider the facilities The real issue is that the whole place needs serious reinvestment - but there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bodger00
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bodger00 Thank you for posting your review although I am truly sorry to read it wasn't the enjoyable experience we strive to provide for all our guests. We are in a program of refurbishment and we have rooms out of service to decorate all year round, I can assure you that investment is being made. I do, however, apologise... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we only stayed for one night , but would definitely have like to have had longer , the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was excellent, with a view over the estuary, and the breakfast was of high quality ,

Helpful?
Thank bootneck23
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bootneck23 Thank you for your review. I hope we can welcome you back for a little longer next time! Many thanks and kind regards Melissa Harris More 

Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second stay at this hotel and once again we were not disappointed. All seaview rooms were booked so we had to book an inland room, but to be honest we preferred this one, it was brighter and the bathroom more spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with a varied choice but lacked a nice selection... More 

Helpful?
Thank jcobcreek
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jcobcreek Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased that we were able to welcome you back and that you had another enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Melissa Harris More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I myself didn't stay at this hotel but enjoyed a lovely meal in the evening with my parents who were staying at this hotel. The staff here were very thoughtful and considerate and very helpful towards my elderly parents stay to which I am so grateful. It's the lots of little things that made their stay more comfortable - I.e... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mistymiagi
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mistymiagi Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that your parents enjoyed their stay and that you enjoyed your meal with us. Unfortunately we don't have fully adapted rooms for wheelchair users but some are more wheelchair friendly and we will always endeavour to accommodate our guests needs wherever possible. We do ask that you contact us... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed several times at this hotel, and each time have been impressed with the helpful staff, comfy rooms and good food. In May we stayed for a short break before our first baby was born. We had and amazing room opening onto the garden which was brilliant for our dog and had lovely views over to rock. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie B
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzie B Thank you so much for your lovely review and I do hope you'll all be back to visit soon. Congratulations on your new arrival from everyone here at the hotel! Warm regards Melissa Harris More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a long walk around padstow and a catch up with friends we ordered afternoon tea for two , I'm sorry to say, we were pretty disappointed. Whilst all looking lovely, the quality just wasn't as we would expect, very dry bread and dry pastry. Once served we didn't see any members of staff, we had to go and find... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank beachblue23
Melissa H, General Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear beachblue23, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry to read of your disappointing afternoon tea. I have been discussing your comments with the teams here and I sincerely apologise for the service falling so far short of our usual standard. I would very much welcome any further feedback and I would ask that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (171)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Price Range: $131 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay