We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,351: English reviews
Start your review of Metropole Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for 4 nights, very enjoyable. Rooms slightly dated but fine. Staff are a credit to the hotel, we found all staff were polite, approachable and very helpful. Food was delicious in the restaurant and in the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Traditional hotel with good views in the brassiere and main restaurant. Staff are welcoming, friendly, sociable, helpful and eager to please. Our room is good size, all amenities and maid service everyday. Breakfast is very good, brassiere serves good choice of meals and the restaurant offers excellent food. We had dinner there on our last night, delicious and reasonable. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evemania
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel at least once a year for about twenty years and seen it change from a pretty grim Trust House to a really good independent hotel with continual improvements. However, it now seems to have lost it's way. The staff, as usual, were extremely pleasant and friendly and the general decor and ambiance are fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although this is an old hotel, it was conveniently placed for our short stay in Padstow. The room had everything we needed (even a teapot) which I was very impressed with. The hotel was lovely and warm and quiet. The most important thing was the food, the evening meal in the restaurant which was included in our deal was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night. Welcome and check-in was excellent. Room was outstanding and very well prepared. Complimentary tea and biscuits in the Brasserie was a very nice touch. Breakfast, the following morning, was excellent. We really enjoyed our one night stay and would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMartyn
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Terrible hotel. I am sure Fawlty Towers is better. They would do better by gutting the whole place and starting over. Will definitely not return! Would actively advise family and friends to seek accommodation elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CJ G
Emma C, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CJ G, I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that I did not have an opportunity to discuss this with you at the time. Guest feedback, both positive and negative, is central to our continued success therefore if you would like to contact me directly either by telephone on 01841 532...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming to this hotel for a few years and always receive a friendly welcome and good service. The views from the rooms at the front of the hotel are the best. Padstow has plenty of of lovely walks and cycle trails.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynwarwick
Emma C, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lynwarwick, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Guest feedback is vital to our continued success and we always appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their thoughts and experiences with us. We are indeed spoilt with the views from the hotel! Everyone here was delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable...

Tiverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location-fantastic food-very efficient and friendly staff-our room was a little tired and could do with a bit of TLC and the cleaners were out at 8am hovering but other than that a lovely hotel that I would recommend a stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank klhaughton
Emma C, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear klaughton, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Guest feedback is central to our continued success and we always appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their thoughts and experiences with us. We are very proud of our chef and the food he produces as well as all of our team; we feel...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having visited many times over several years it was disappointing to read on menus that the so called Dinner, Bed and Breakfast payment did not allow for 3 courses to be partaken of. The quality of food is excellent but portions are minuscule. Staff are courteous friendly and efficient. Parking now charged for and most annoyingly Disabled spaces occupied daily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a table overlooking the Estuary it was a winter sun and the view was wonderful.The meal was excellent turkey with all the trimmings and as i am coeliac i was catered for no trouble at all.Even when it came to the sweet a delicious chocolate mousse all gluten free of course.This was our second year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacymorris
Emma C, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jacymorris, Thank you for posting your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your festive celebrations with us once again and hope that Christmas Day lunch can become a regular event in your festive plans. We all look forward to seeing you again very soon. Warm Regards Emma

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

221 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (196)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
368 reviews
2.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
899 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,265 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
6.3 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Price Range: $136 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Metropole Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Estuary view at the front not the side”
 of 5 bubbles lynwarwick, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the estuary”
 of 5 bubbles jacymorris, 1 week ago | Read review
“If available, choose a room with a seaview”
 of 5 bubbles WillTrel, 1 week ago | Read review
“I had room 23 single room,it was great with harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles 130mairim, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“I had room 23 but there are rooms on the lower ground, that look our over the garden with patio doors, delightful on a summers evening.”
 of 5 bubbles ge0ff19, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question