We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Ship Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 276: English reviews
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

£750 for a weeks stay for two of us is a sizable sum, but of course this location is superb and having car parking is a great benefit, however the AA rating of 2* is correct for everything else. Bedroom 4 was small, at the back, and has an awful minute ensuite 'wardrobe' with a shocking glazed door on, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank UKJohnRichard
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off for a drink whilst visiting Padstow, the guy that was behind the bar serving had such a bad attitude and was rude to several customers. No loo paper in the ladies and over priced food, far better places in Padstow

Helpful?
Thank mrsbake1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Padstow harbour is over looked by the ships inn it was lovely to sit outside watching everything going on the service was good menu and prices reasonable and beers of a good standard worth a visit while there

Helpful?
1 Thank garry s
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear garry s, Many thanks for your kind review, I was pleased to see you had an enjoyable time watching the world go by and found us such good value too! Do come back again. Regards, Andrew Jenkins, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Found this lovely pub on a day out to Padstow, we were lucky enough to have had glorious weather, we got there early enough to secure a table outside for us and our puppy. The menu had a good selection of choices at very reasonable prices. We opted for the Padstow steak burger with chips and it was excellent. Service... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian P
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristian P, Many thanks for your glowing review, it was a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the food and the service - our burgers are made to a special recipe and it is good to see how well they go down. Can't guarantee sunshine everytime but do please come and see us again! Regards, Andrew Jenkins, General Manager More 

Solihull
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

The website looks very appealing, however, upon arrival it isn't as good as it looks!. The welcome was fine but the member of staff on reception didn't look particularly well presented and was wearing grubby old boots for the duration of our stay - even when serving breakfast in the dining room.The rooms were extremely disappointing (we had booked 2... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian R, Thank you for your full and frank review following your stay with us, I do apologise for the poor standards you experienced, this is far from our norm and what we all expect. We will certainly be addressing the uniform issues you mentioned, while we want to be less formal than some hotels we still need to... More 

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

I never stayed at this hotel but you can get a good reasonable drink at this bar, good selection of drinks, alcoholic and hot drinks anf there is a large dog friendly drinking area outside the front of the hotel which is also covered just in case it rains! The food menu did look very good and the prices are... More 

Helpful?
Thank The_Tamworth_Taster
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear The_Tamworth_Taster, Many thanks for your kind review, I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our drink selection and thought the menu good and good value. This is very helpful for our future guests - hopefully you will be able to stay and eat next time you are around! Regards, Andrew Jenkins, General Manager More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Ordered Scallops starter followed by Whole Dover Sole main. Total cost was £29. Starter consisted of 3 overcooked scallops which defied the fork. Main consisted of a whole flatfish, probably Dover Sole but all only 9inches long and 4.5 inches across which, I suspect, may have been under the legal landing size. Complained to the waiter who simply apologised and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lenandval
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lenandval, Thank you for taking the time to review your latest visit, I do apologise for the disappointing expereince you had - as you know from previous times here this certainly is not our norm. I have discussed your concerns with the kitchen tea, and we have reviewed our systems so we can make sure the scallops do not... More 

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

My husband and I stopped for lunch last Tuesday (7th June). We both ordered skate wings off the 'specials' board. After a wait of half an hour, they arrived. The smell of ammonia was overpowering and we didn't eat it all. Unfortunately we didn't complain, but left having paid nearly £40 with two soft drinks. Surely, in such a famous... More 

Helpful?
Thank aphrodite38
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aphrodite38, Thank you for your comments following your visit for lunch last week. I am very sorry that the fish was not right, skate can sometimes go very quickly and often is not noticible at the time of cooking. If we had had the opportunity to do something about this we would have done whatever we could to have... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

We were flying to the isles of scilly from Newquay so decided to stay overnight nearby to get a good night's rest before our holiday but oh dear what a mistake. We were first disturbed at around 10 pm by the fire alarm but ok no problem but then again at 2.30 am when we got dressed and assembled downstairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank wanderer186370
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wanderer186370, Thank you for your review following your stay last month. I am sorry you had a disturbed night due to the fire alarm activating. This is a rare occurence but when it does we have to react and evacuate the property to ensure everyones' safety. We have now dealt with the issues that were causing the alarm to... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Ate evening meal here, chose inside as was a little cooler than previous days, clean and smart inside. Food was ok reasonable price nothing to get excited about. Service was prompt and good. Had spinach and pea taglitelle, was ok but rather dry could have done with more sauce

Helpful?
Thank hikazzy
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hikazzy, Many thanks for your fair and honest review after your visit for dinner the other evening. It was good to see that we were efficient with our service and that we were keeping on top of the cleanliness during this peak week. Thank you too for the feedback on the pea tagliatelle, I have been discussing this dish... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
3.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
11.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Old Ship Hotel Restaurant
The Old Ship Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Mill Square, Padstow, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Price Range: $35 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Ship Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing