We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Padstow
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Ship Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 291: English reviews
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A couple of things proved annoying when trying to get the children's' food - the spaghetti bolognese was penne and I mentioned this when they bought it to the table they said that it had been penne for a long time (inferring that I should know this without being told?). Also I was told that the cheesy pasta was no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne B
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

After having a lovely walk around the beautiful harbour at Padstow we had worked up quite a thirst. Although sitting right on the harbour would have been perfect it was so busy, finding a table was a no go. We walked 1min off the harbour and found this tucked around a corner. Very well presented pub and luckily the weather... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joel B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Clearing tables but not cleaning them - that's the start of the laziness. It shows through everywhere. Adjoining rooms - are the doors unlock? 'Of course sir' but no they are not. 3 people serving the you lady nobody serving the rest of us. It just goes on and on. I am only scoring this place 2 because it used... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jtyn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped into the hotel bar for a drink the day before we had dinner and had a very nice pint of Windjammer, nicely kept and nice and cold. So we decided to have a sandwich as well, my chicken goujon wrap was delicious as was my husband's BLT. The waiter also brought me some of the homemade tartare sauce... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz W
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From booking this short break, nothing was to hard work for Jacob and Wray. Being a bit fussy I had all-sorts of requests via email and phone call but they answered promptly and promised our stay would be perfect. It was perfect from arrival to leaving. The room was spacious and accommodated us with daily towel changes and a general... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Buddu C
Chesterfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If your in Padstow looking for drink avoid the Old Ship Inn, it's the most expensive bar in Padstow. A round of comparable drinks was over £7.00 more expensive than any other bar. When we questioned the price we were met with indifference and an assurance that it was the going rate in Padstow. I can tell you for a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kathCorn
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On visit to Steinsville on sea sorry Padstow called in for a drink. Pleasant nautically theme bar and surroundings with outside seating area at front . Real ale on sale choice of three including Brains SA, Doombar & on the day a offering from the Padstow Micro brewery. Price of food available on the day seemed a little expensive in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lazerlight
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lazerlight, Thank you for your review following your visit to Padstow earlier this week, it was a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the beer selection and the surroundings - our terrace is a real boon! Thank you too for the recognition of my team. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to eat with us on another visit, while... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place itself is bang in the centre of the village and has a great outdoor seating area, the array of alcohol is also brilliant, a good selection of gins and accompanying tonics. The food, decor and prices let this establishment down massively. £15 for a microwaved curry and rubbery poppadom is just ridiculous. It's not the worst food we've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank1606
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frank1606, Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent visit. While I am pleased to see you enjoyed the location and the drink selection I was disappointed to see that you did not enjoy our food. We do not microwave the curry which we make in house and this does get us very good responses... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Superb room (very clean and comfortable with plenty of space), superb friendly helpful staff, good breakfast. What more can I say!! Brilliant location complete with parking in the heart of Padstow. Also good food and a great range of beers. Will definitely being staying again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark N, Very many thanks for your lovely review following your stay with us recently, I was very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Regards, Andrew Jenkins, General Manager More 

Mercaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, right in the heart of Padstow and their is car parking, which is why we chose it. Quite a hike to get to the car park though so would be unsuitable for some. There is also a lovely walk/jog around the bay at the back of the hotel which was a great bonus. We had room 7 which... More 

Helpful?
Thank karenward2015
oldshiphotelpadstow, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karenward2015, Thank you for your review following your stay with us, I am pleased you had a good stay and were able to make the most of our location in the heart of Padstow yet still close to the estuary walks. Room 7 is a lovely room, as we are in the middle of town most of our rooms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Well Parc Hotel
Well Parc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Trevone
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
4.8 mi away
Molesworth Arms Hotel
Molesworth Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wadebridge
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Old Ship Hotel Restaurant
The Old Ship Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Privately owned family run hotel, bar and restaurant for the last 30 years. Close to Padstow harbour and all amenities. An old quirky hotel with charm and many period features, modernised and updated to offer all diners and residents a pleasant and comfortable experience and stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Mill Square, Padstow PL28 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Price Range: $35 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Ship Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Padstow, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing