We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Traveler (568)
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (25)

About

#4 of 5 hotels in North Berwick
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room service
Free parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free Internet
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Business

Location

Full view
46Car recommended
Grade: 46 out of 100
16Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
2,710Reviews
18Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,023
  • 805
  • 527
  • 239
  • 116
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Beautiful hotel, with stunning sea view from our room. Excellent spa facilities. The food was great even for 3 fussy vegetarians nothing was too much bother. Afternoon tea was also amazing! Would definitely stay here again. Only regret is not booking a longer stay. We booked
Read more
Had a wonderful overnight stay here on Saturday as a treat for birthday/anniversary celebrations. Our room was fabulous, very large and spacious with breathtaking views out to the Firth of Forth.  The bed was very comfy, we had a great nights sleep. Everything you need for a
Read more
Response from Andrew B, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am delighted overall you had a great time with us and many congratulation on your birthday and anniversary. I am pleased you were allocated a room looking over the Firth of Forth and North Berwick golf club as these rooms really do have stunning views and I am also please you made the most of our room service option and you were able to enjoy breakfast in your room. Our location is ideal right on the waterfront and only a 15 minute walk into North Berwicks High street. With stunning views from all our public areas you can enjoy the scenery at all times. So glad you you enjoyed your dinner the chefs here at the Marine do a great job catering for all areas of the property from bar snacks, afternoon teas to weddings for up to 150 people. The Spa is great and the outdoor Hydro pool is a great way to finish of your day to relax and unwind. The team at the Marine really do make a difference and strive to make all our guests experiences that little bit special and I am pleased you experienced this during your stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation and your great feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future Kind regards Andrew Boe
Read more
One of the characteristics of Scottish hotels is the friendly atmosphere created by the staff. In this respect , this hotel was no exception. At every level the staff were courteous and helpful. What was apparent however was that they were overstretched and in many ways fire
Read more
Response from Andrew B, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Dunn, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I very much appreciate your honest feedback as it is the only way we can continue to improve what we are offering our guests. Firstly I am delighted the team made you feel welcome and they looked after you during your stay with us even though they were stretched in certain areas which is something we are working on to improve. Breakfast is an area we are working hard to improve and all feedback is greatly appreciated. The most important meal of the day breakfast needs to be prepared and organised or it can become a struggle for the team especially when there are a large number of guests arriving to breakfast at the same time. This is very much an area we are working to improve. In relation to your evening meals I am sorry you felt the meals were restrictive and this something we are again improving due to feedback from guests we are now giving our dinner inclusive guests a £25 allocation towards the full a la carte menu rather than the reduced set menu which is going down very well. I am sorry your wine choice was not available and I am glad the team actioned accordingly. At the Marine we have no two rooms the same, you can get a different experience every time and the size, position and character of every room changes as the categories improve. I am pleased the team were able to offer you an upgrade for your disappointment with your first room. We are aware there are area of the property that are needing an upgrade and we are currently working very hard towards this goal so we can enhance the overall presentation of the Marine. Thank you once again for your honest feedback and I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to show you the true Marine experience. Kind regards Andrew Boe
Read more
Stayed overnight with my elderly parents and my husband. The rooms were lovely and the spa was spot on but the breakfast was terrible . We were told at reception that breakfast was served until 10 am . We decided that 9 am was early enough for my parents to be ready without
Read more
Response from Andrew B, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Audrey, Thank you so much for your recent feedback and I am disappointed to read your comments in relation to your breakfast experience and I can assure you I will be addressing this with the team. There is no excuse rudeness and I am very surprised to read this. Breakfast being the most important meal of the day, we need to get it right. On occasion with the demand put on the team due to our guests arriving at the one time this can cause a bottleneck and as a team we do our best to keep everything stocked up and available and I am sorry this was not the case during your visit. We are always looking to improve what we are offering our guests and your comments will help us continue to do so. I am pleased you found the rooms to be lovely and you enjoyed the Spa which is fantastic especially the outdoor hydro pool. I am disappointed that the breakfast experience will deter you from returning and I do hope you will change your mind and give us another opportunity in the future to show you true Marine breakfast experience. Thank you so much again for your honest feedback Kind regards Andrew Boe
Read more
Although the rooms are comfortable they’re not on par with the nether abbey . We had an executive king room and apart from the bathrobes and a larger bed it was nothing special. The service in the bar was lacking and this was reinforced by our sandwiches etc being laid on an
Read more
Response from Andrew B, General Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I appreciate you doing so. I am sorry you did not find the rooms to be the standard you were expecting. At the Marine we have no two rooms the same each are individual in their own size, shape and character. I am sorry you encountered service issues in the bar and I will be sure to address this with the team, it is key we have all items in stock that we sell and also we are preparing service areas correctly and ensuring tables are cleaned and clean for our guests. I am delighted you enjoyed the Spa, the area is fantastic and Fiona and her team do a great job looking after all our guests who use this facility. The outdoor Hydro pool is also a great feature and a great way to relax after a long day. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future and allow us to show you that the service standards you received on this occasion was just a little blip and not our normal standards. Thanks again for your honest feedback Kind regards Andrew Boe
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$161 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald marine hotel north berwickmacdonald marine hotel and spahotel macdonald marineberwick hotel marine north
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandNorth Berwick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing