We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Bell Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 532: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had our wedding ceremony, sit-down lunch and evening reception all at The Bell in Thetford on the 20th August 2016. All the pre-planning with Lauren (and then Clare when Lauren went on maternity leave) was fantastic and the attention to detail by Clare was excellent; nothing was too much trouble. As for the day itself, WOW!!!It was a truly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Poodler2
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to this hotel as friends of ours where getting married and their reception was held at the bell inn. The wedding side of it was perfect all went amazingly and they even catered amazingly for myself and my partner as we a dairy and gluten intolerant. As for the rest of the stay all the staff where very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie B
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was dark even with all lights on, surprising as my room faced the Main Street. The staff were not very helpful and downright rude when another customer was complaining about the noise and general condition of his facilities. The evening meal in the restaurant took over 30 minutes to arrive and was not of very good quality, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnlambert9848
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in late July. As other reviewers have said, it's not amazing, but there is a bit of charm to this place (and ghosts according to some people although we never saw or felt them). The front desk staff are quite friendly. The breakfast staff seem to be still trying to get it together. The service is pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank jas0719
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All in all a pleasant stay considering the price paid. No it wasn't amazing, perfect etc etc but the accommodation was comfortable and clean. The shower/bath worked fine. There was ample complimentary tea/coffee in the room. Hairdryer also in the room. We ate in the Restaurant and the food was good and the wine was reasonably priced. Breakfast was good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mondo99
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest I was expecting it to be worse but I think I was lucky with my room some of my colleagues weren't. Some bits are better than others! Was very poor value but if you get a good deal expect to get what you pay for!

Helpful?
1 Thank foodfanaticalie

Travelers are raving about these Thetford hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not the easiest place to find owing to the road network which the authorities seem to have made as difficult as possible. You need to park in the pay and display car park, not the one on the other side of the hotel. The hotel is pretty old and in a shabby state although the owners seem to be making... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found your room comfortable and the team friendly, Thetford itself isn't the best town to visit but there are plenty of places in the local area to enjoy. We do hope you will visit again. Clare More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay here at the Bell Inn. A lovely Old Pub with lots of history that we love. The staff were so friendly and always so helpful and hard working to please. The family room was big and spacious, we had great night sleeps. The food was delicious and always had service with a smile. (A big... More 

Helpful?
Thank 58penny
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us, your kind words will be shared with Olivia, Linda, Dom and the rest of the team and we hope to see you again soon. Clare More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Has a degree of automatic prestige for its association with 'Dad's Army' (though evidence of the connection is quite sparse) but will most certainly need to look to its laurels when the new leisure complex (including a 62-room hotel) is up and running next door. The staff were pleasant but my room was inferior to half-decent b & b accommodation;... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheSpreadEagle
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the issues you reported were not fixed at the time and the standards were not up to scratch on this occasion, your review will be shared with the team. Clare More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night - would not have done another. The room was dirty all over with the added bonus of a plastic knife covered in some sort of substance found in the drawer. The toilet was disgusting (surely it can't be that difficult to at lest clean the toilet) and the shower was a joke. Breakfast was OK... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bluenose1076
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is valuable to us and I will ensure your review is shared with our team to ensure these issues do not arise again. Clare More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
5.8 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Bell Hotel

Address: King Street, Thetford IP24 2AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Price Range: $87 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Thetford, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay