We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Thomas Paine Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Thomas Paine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 365: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here before , as usual great friendly staff and service, rooms superb and the food and choice of menu fantastic.We had steaks perfectly grilled as per our order. Will stop again when passing for sure , looking forward to it. Thankyou all again.

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the hotel yesterday evening with friends and we were greeted by a very friendly, professional and efficient maitre'd/barman/waiter (everything except cook I think!). My starter of smoked salmon with capers was really lovely but it was the main course of Tofu with oriental noodles and vegetables which has prompted this review. It was DELICIOUS, I haven't enjoyed a main... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chairofbowlies68
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

The hotel is modern in facilities in an older building. There is a large dining area attached to the bar and has large rooms for private groups. Meals in the bar are also available. Large parking area. Excellent menus and high standard of presentation and well cooked.

Helpful?
Thank beenplacesSuffolk
Ashover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016

We used the hotel as our starting point for walking the Peddars Way and Norfolk Coast paths. Very comfortable rooms and helpful staff. We had a small dog with us so could not go in the restaurant. The lovely staff however set us up with tables in the main bar and served our meals there - a really flexible approach.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JB3D
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

Great meal at the hotel, prices are good the quality is excellent, service by the staff was good and a great selections of drinks behind the bar, this is a great place i would be happy to recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasant evening out in Thetford...

Helpful?
Thank 234mattyp
Thetford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Had our wedding reception here and it was nothing short of amazing!! The staff were brilliant, the food was gorgeous and our room was immaculate! No request was too much and they catered to our every whim! The staff made sure our day went without a hitch and helped to make our day perfect. Thank you Gez, Liz and your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alix W
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

Just eaten in the restaurant with friends for the first time. Lovely meal. Good portions and well presented. Staff very attentive and was nice to speak to the owners. Will definately return and pass on our experience. Well done Thomas Paine.

Helpful?
Thank avrilgear
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016

My step son booked to hold his Mums wake there very nice function room and surroundings but he was charged £14.00 a head for the food ,which was diabolical 50% of the food that he had ordered wasn't made anything else i would like to say is unprintable please do not use this place you will be very disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Andy01842
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your comments, there was actually one mistake and your stepson said to the owners wife how good the food was before he left. 90% of our guests are happy with all our service and food. We only hope that your service in your establishment is as good as ours. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to starting a week's walking holiday. The room was clean and comfortable with no frills. The meal we had was tasty if slightly over priced. Breakfast was adequate although, being a vegetarian, there was no meat alternative offered and we were not offered a drink or toast top up. The hotel appeared short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise G
Gez C, Owner at The Thomas Paine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and we take all comments into consideration, our rooms have always been clean and spacious and we are happy that you enjoyed this. Our food is sourced personally by ourselves and we feel is very good value especially when you can get two steaks and a bottle of wine for £25 most of... More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

We had a delicious meal to celebrate completing a long 3 day charity walk...just what we needed! Great value, delicious food, friendly cheerful service. We booked in advance but as we were eating later in the day didn't need to. We'd highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Rainey99
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thetford
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Thetford Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#6 of 7 in Thetford
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wereham House Hotel
Wereham House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Thetford
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
7.7 mi away
Brandon House
Brandon House
#1 of 1 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE WIFI througout the hotel in all of our totally refurbished bedrooms.If you want excellent local meats and seafood then you should visit this ambient restaurant and boutique hotel,our new sizzling dishes tantalite all taste buds, whether you want indian,Chinese or Mediterranean its all here,efficient and friendly service, good local ale and fabulous surroundings you’ll experience this hotel. Recently totally refurbished and under new management, The Thomas Paine Hotel offers a new level of comfort and service. Situated within walking distance of many of the town's attractions, it makes an ideal base for exploring the area or for the businessman needing a good night's sleep. Steeped in history having been the birthplace of Thomas Paine who wrote the Rights of a man, come visit history in its making. Only 30 minutes from Cambridge and 20 minutes from Newmarket excellent for the races. Plenty of free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thomas Paine Hotel

Address: 33 White Hart Street, Thetford IP24 1AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thetford
Price Range: $91 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Thomas Paine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Thomas Paine Thetford
The Thomas Paine Hotel Thetford, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay