We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Duke's Head Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Duke\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

865 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 858: English reviews
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I will have to 'sandwich' this review. Anyone with a background in sales may recognise that term with a swear word embedded in for effect. Let's start with the building. It's incredible. Since slowly growing up, I have developed a passion for historic buildings and the story behind them. The Dukes Head is one of those buildings that offers elegance,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were in Kings Lynn doing a bit of shopping and stopped off at the Duke's Head Hotel for a drink, had a look around and liked what we saw, so we made a booking for that evening for a meal.We were not disappointed, the menu was very varied with lots of choice, the service was excellent and the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Paul - Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and in particualr the food and service was of a high standard. Kind regards Darryl More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked with the hotel direct at short notice, when all the usual booking sites said the area was full, spoke to a lovely member of staff called Hannah, who not only arranged a fab room for our 2 night stay but also organised the meal in the restaurant for my wife's Birthday, on our second night and offered a... More 

Helpful?
Thank BJ-AV-UK
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

BJ - Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that your wife had a great Birthday here with us in Lynn. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again on a future occasion. Kind regards Darryl More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Did not compare well with last visit 25 years ago. Gather it has been taken over. On the plus side it was very clean throughout. Excellent evening meal but there was only one vegetarian option listed. What happens if you want to eat there every night? Breakfast buffet also well presented, plenty of choice. Well cooked poached eggs. Well stocked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nettie P
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Nettie - Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel but regret that your room was near an extractor fan. I am unsure if you asked for a room move which we would have done our best to accommodate. Your feedback will be shared with my team... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel in on a lovely square close to the main shopping area and the river. The room was pleasant but on arrival there were a pair of used dirty socks on the floor in the room. The shower was in need of a clean and the grout was pink instead of white. I did mention the socks to reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Linda - Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to learn that the housekeeping standards were not up to our usual high standards. This feedback will be shared with our head housekeeper but in the meantime, please accept my sincere apologies. I am unsure what you were expecting in regards to breakfast given that... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked 2 nights at this hotel on a Groupon deal and were very pleased. Nothing amazing but very comfortable, clean, good food, nicely stocked bar, comfy lounge. Couldn't really ask for more. When we stayed it was being overseen by the duty manager Debbie, who was extremely efficient. She ran it seamlessly. What a great team she has. Every... More 

Helpful?
Thank CHP1536
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

CHP - Thank you for sharing your review. I am delighted to read that Debbie and the team did such a great job of looking after you and that your stay was a good one. Kind regards Darryl More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked two rooms through Groupon with afternoon tea and evening meal. The tea was two excellent scones with plenty of jam or butter, tea or coffee but no sandwiches or cakes. Nevertheless tasty and filling. Both our rooms though different were large and nicely presented and clean. We were very pleased to find that although we were overlooking... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

David - Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team here at The Dukes Head. The cream tea was as advertised on Groupon (which is Scones and Tea) although we regret you were expecting Full Afternoon Tea on arrival. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Lynn on a future visit. Kind... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had to use this "grim dated" hotel as my usual Knights Hill in Kings Lynn was unfortunately full. I was initially annoyed that they do not accept any cancellation prior to 24 hours before arrival. It is a horrible, dated, grim hotel which is more like an Old age carers home than a hotel. The whole hotel is dated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary A
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Gary - We regret that your opinion of our hotel was not as we would have wished and we are sorry that The Dukes is clearly not 'your cup of tea'. We very much welcome constructive feedback but as your comments are neither helpful nor constructive I feel it would be a waste of my time and professionalism to respond.... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a weekend break at Dukes Head. It is a clean and comfortable hotel very well placed for visiting Kings Lynn and North Norfolk. Car parking is limited but alternative facilities can be found in the immediate vicinity. Excellent breakfast, both full English and Continental, served in pleasant surroundings overlooking the Market Square. All staff were approachable and helpful and... More 

Helpful?
Thank John G
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

John - Thank you for sharing your review of The Dukes Head. We are sorry that you're sleep was disturbed by noise from the beer garden in an adjacent pub but pleased your overall stay was a good one. We have spoken to the local council to ensure the pub is following local guidance. The rates you paid were for... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed here after finding a deal via Groupon, for 2 nights with dinner, breakfast and cream tea on arrival (it's worth noting this only includes dinner for the one night and not two). We weren't overly impressed with the dinner menu, though the breakfasts were good with the usual variety of a hotel buffet- probably wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank NalaWolf
Darryl H, General Manager at The Duke's Head Hotel, responded to this review

Nala - Thank you for sharing your review of The Dukes head Hotel. We are sorry to learn that our new Summer menu failed to impress you although the general feedback has been extremely positive from other diners. We are pleased you took advantage of the Groupon deal and we hope to see you again. Kind regards Darryl More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

515 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (92)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (316)
Viewed
Classic Room (32)
Viewed
Cosy Double Room (24)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Feature Room Campbells (37)
Viewed
Feature Room Sandringham (31)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near King's Lynn
0.1 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Knights Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
Dragonfly Hotel King's Lynn
#9 of 15 in King's Lynn
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#5 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of King's Lynn old town and overlooking the historic market place, the Duke's Head is perfect for discovering what Norfolk has to offer to the business and leisure traveller. Since Georgian times, this impressive classical building has welcomed visitors including Princess Victoria and Sir Robert Walpole (generally considered to be the first Prime Minister of Great Britain) in considerable comfort and style.Its location overlooking the ancient market place in the centre of King's Lynn would have denoted its importance in a town peppered with fine historic buildings. The Duke's Head is located walking distance away from King's Lynn station, nightlife, restaurants, bars and leisure club. Kings Lynn is serviced by regular trains to London and serves as an ideal location for discovering Norfolk. North Norfolk is an ideal tourist destination. Whether you enjoy the lively atmosphere and entertainment offered by traditional seaside resorts, the tranquility of the small fishing villages, which spring to life at high tide, you can't help but be impressed by the beautiful coastline and the fascinating history of its towns. The Hotel has recently benefited from a 3 million pound refurbishment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke's Head Hotel

Address: The Duke's Head 5-6 Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Price Range: $96 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke's Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Duke's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Dukes Head Hotel
Dukes Head Kings Lynn
The Duke's Head Hotel UK/Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay