We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Seaton Lane Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Seaton Lane Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Seaton Lane Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Seven of us ate dinner on 11 Nov. 2015. Two of us ordered rib-eye steak with chunky chips, baked tomato and mushroom. Note the word mushroom and not mushroomS. The meal was served with, not a mushroom, but HALF a mushroom. I kid you not, they didn't even include half a mushroom stalk. The waitress served this half mushroom in... More 

Helpful?
Thank rastanura
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - and sorry to hear you were served half a mushroom. Please just ask us if you would like to have more! We hope you'll come back and enjoy a mushroom fest. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at 1.05 and were told we had to wait until 2.00 if we wanted to eat in the restaurant, even though there were empty tables that were not filled while we were there. We were told that we could eat in the lounge. On trying to order we were told that we could not have starters or desserts... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Al T
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry to read you did not enjoy your experience with us. We want you to enjoy meal - and certainly return and recommend us. There was some confusion with our new menu for which we do apologise for. Our lounge option is the same menu as the restaurant now. We are now offering starters, mains and desserts in the... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Had to come up to the north east for meeting. My PA found me this hotel than was within budget. So after a 5 hour drive arrived at 7pm. What a pleasant surprise. The quality of the Seaton Inn was of a very high standard. The rooms are very good indeed, plus the mattress just soft enough. I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter F
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - and the five stars! We do hope you will return and look forward to welcoming you again. More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

We ate in this restaurant recently, selecting two courses from the menu. The menu clearly stated "2 Courses for £12.95", we were later told this did not include dessert. Upon bringing to the attention of the management that the menu was misleading, the reply we received was unhelpful and subdued. It was disappointing we were made to pay for the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry to read that you felt our menu was misleading and that our staff were unhelpful. Your review is in relation to our Sunday lunch menu which does state on the top it is two courses for £12.95. The way it is designed gives options for starters and main courses. There is a line on the bottom offering... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

I stayed here this year whilst taking part in the great north run. I have been to the area on many occasions but never said I would stay in the same hotel, however this place is a refreshing change. Very nice place to stay with comfy beds and spotless rooms. My only very slight point would be theta the on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 999Nick34
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, congratulations on taking part in The Great North Run - well done! Thank you very much for your review and the five stars too. We hope to welcome you again. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015

I have visited this inn several times but it has just been taken over by new owners and I am sorry I will not be back. Profit at the expense of the locals is the name of the game here. All of the regular beers,lagers and ciders have gone and been replaced by inferior brands(in my opinion) and the prices... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank malcolmc125
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to read your review. On behalf of the new owners, The Inn Collection Group, we would like to stress that we will continue to run The Seaton Lane Inn in the same way in which Adrian and his team managed this cracking inn - the same ambiance, the same staff, the same chef and excellent kitchen team. Regretfully beer... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Went here for Sunday Lunch, very short notice, 6 adults 2 toddlers. Gave us a table in the bar which was fine. Had to wait a while for 2 of our party to arrive, no problem. 2 high chairs supplied. Lunch was excellent, very good portions, well cooked, well presented. Staff were attentive. If I had to put down a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan S
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for troubling to leave a review. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Thank you for the five stars too! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

We did not stay in the hotel but ate in the restaurant. This was one of the worst meals ever! Vegetables had obviously been microwaved several times and tasted of rancid butter. Chips had been reheated - definitely not as good as the chips usually served in the bar. The vegetables were replaced with a bowl of freshly cooked produce... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Judy c
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Your review is titled 'disappointing' however it has left us feeling quite appalled. We would always hold our hands up if we feel we have made an error, but in response to your review here we feel quite aggrieved. Cooking fish correctly is not an easy task. And you go on to state, sarcastically, who on earth does the taste... More 

Brighton, East Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

So I have reviewed this before, but stayed again whilst staying during a visit to the area for a family funeral. Despite new ownership, very little has changed, and it's still a fantastic stay, at a very reasonable price. Couple of things that surprised me, 1: hotel wanted payment for our room up front, quite unusual really, not an industry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki208
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Hello on behalf of the new owners - and thank you so much for a great review and for taking the time to leave this. We are very proud to have the Seaton Lane Inn and to be working with its fantastic team of staff. We won't be making any changes at all to how it is run, managed and... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

The decor of the restraunt is very good with a good atmosphere. Real ale drinkers will not be disappointed. I went on a business dinner with a few managers from work to entertain a visiting leader from the US. The menu is quite varied. I ordered prawn cocktail which was pretty average followed by chicken milanase which was a dry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FridayFoodie123
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
0.6 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.3 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Sunderland City Centre
6.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#4 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
Sunderland Marriott Hotel
#3 of 11 in Sunderland
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
\Imagine you find your ideal country pub, enjoy a fine meal and a few drinks – why move on? Well, now you don’t have to because the Seaton Lane Inn will provide you with somewhere luxurious to lay your sleepy head – at a price you can afford. The roadside inn has been extended with an 18-bedroom hotel which is attached to the main building and overlooks a paved, outdoor area. It is well sheltered from the prevailing winds and surrounded by colourful plants – including a herb garden. At night, the paved area twinkles with sunken lights and you won’t feel cold – the powerful heat lamps do their job. The hotel’s boutique-style bedrooms have been tastefully furnished by a top quality interior design team, decorated in different styles to a high standard and equipped with plasma TV, WiFi and king-size and super king-size beds. En suite shower rooms are of a high standard and hair dryers and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. There is also luxury, ground floor accommodation for disabled guests. Door entry is by card key and guests can take their choice of visiting other North East attractions – or spend a relaxing evening enjoying the culinary delights and friendly atmosphere of the Seaton Lane Inn’s restaurant, lounge and bar. Comfort, pleasant surroundings and a choice of locally sourced food and drinks to tempt the most discerning of palates – what more could you desire? For a start, you may be looking for an ideal base to savour the best of all the North East of England has to offer. That place is the newly extended and tastefully renovated Seaton Lane Inn boutique hotel. Situated by a country road through a village, it is only a few hundred yards from the A19 – making is less than 30 minutes to Newcastle upon Tyne and equally convenient for Durham City. Sunderland is just minutes away. The Seaton Lane Inn has come a long way from its early incarnation as a blacksmith’s forge; it now incorporates a stylish lounge/dining area, traditional bar and a new two-story hotel attached to the original building. The pub/hotel is run by owners who head a talented team. Their purpose is to make your stay at the Seaton Lane Inn a memorable one – for all the right reasons. These include the friendliness of the staff, the affable type of clientele you meet in a country inn, a tempting and varied menu (try the seafood) and wide range of beers, including excellent cask conditioned ales served from the hand pump, wines and spirits. You can relax in the comfort of the lounge, which has Sky TV, or join the regulars in the adjacent bar. The new hotel has 18 en suite double rooms which are tastefully furnished and have all modern conveniences including TV and radio, wireless internet access, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Seaton Lane Inn

Address: Seaton Lane, Seaham SR7 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Seaham
Price Range: $70 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seaton Lane Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Seaton Lane Hotel Seaham
The Seaton Lane Inn Seaham, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing