We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Seaton Lane Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Seaton Lane Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Start your review of The Seaton Lane Inn
 Click to rate
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a drink on Saturday afternoon, not been here before, very nice pub. Sat in lounge area (at back of pub), nice atmosphere, music was good, but spoilt by: (a) the price of a glass of wine - £6.45 is a bit steep, even for a large glass!, and (b) the bar staff watching a gym workout session on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baz1963
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, I have raised this comment with the general manager - the member of the team was off duty at the time waiting for a lift home, we do have a strict no phone usage whist at work - all of our staff have brilliant training and are aware of what the rules...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Been visiting this place right from day 1 when it became a hotel. I was the first customer staying in the new rooms. I use the hotel for my Business trips to the North East. For me the location is ideal. Also the setup, having a pub, the lounge and the restaurant gives me all the options I need. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wolfgang K
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, it's great hearing from one of our regular's! We will see you in the near future :)

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the restaurant for a business lunch. Good choice of menu and the location was attractively design internally and externally. It was quiet but hey it was Monday. Service was good and so no complaints. I had the Gammon steak and it was cooked fine, however the chips weren't nice at all and tasted like they had been cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Truereds
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this. We make our own chips and they are usually very popular. Did you tell us at the time that there was an issue with your meal? We'd always far rather know so we can put things right there and then. Come back and give us another try.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given some Inn collection vouchers at Christmas so are doing the rounds of their inns. The Seaton lane didn't disappoint. We had chicken risotto and beef chili which were both delicious. Staff very pleasant. Found the inside of the pub very dark compared to the other places we've visited but would go back. Good value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to leave this review, so pleased you had a nice time. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant on various occasions. Each time the service, food and staff were exceptional. Costs a little more than some other places but the good alone is well worth the extra. The staff could not be more helpfull and the're is a varied menu and wine list.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this lovely review! So pleased to hear you had a great time with us on your special occasions. We hope to see you again soon!

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An appropriate place to take our 91 years old mother when we visit her in Sunderland. Sunday lunch is very adequate with very good service. The staff are always willing to help and very friendly towards mother who has difficulty in walking. Always busy on Sunday and need to reserve a table. Not exceptional food but acceptable and pleasantly presented;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed January 11, 2017

the room was ok but the electric switches are not convenient same as the bathroom, the toilet in bathroom is not flushing well. So the many little things not really convenient. The entrance door is not well fit in the frame so the light from the coridor go to the room,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thierry M
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review. We have taken everything you have commented about on board! Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

This place nailed the great pub food offering (before becoming a hotel) but now I think the attention to detail is simply not there. Plenty of choice on the menu but a little too ambitious when the basics are far from spot on. A warm welcome and service absolutely fine. The childrens battered fish goujons, with limited fish inside, were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this, did you inform anyone about the issues? We would have happily changed your meal for you, please do come back and give us another try.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We visited today for lunch - quite full but still got a table service was good - all though a standard menu food was good & would recommend. Garlic Mushrooms Goats cheese taurine Cider & chips Seabass

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzi4boro
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review, please do come back and try some more food of the menu!

Stanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

We had read good reviews about the hotel as well as the restaurant so we thought we would visit the restaurant on Boxing Day evening. When we rang to book table we asked about the set menu advertised on the website & were told it would be available when we visited. When we arrived, the young staff members were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyerbogs
Honour W, Guest Relations Manager at The Seaton Lane Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, really sorry about your meals. Please do come back and give us another try.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaham
0.6 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,232 reviews
4.3 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
238 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,928 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
451 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Sunderland High Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
\Imagine you find your ideal country pub, enjoy a fine meal and a few drinks – why move on? Well, now you don’t have to because the Seaton Lane Inn will provide you with somewhere luxurious to lay your sleepy head – at a price you can afford. The roadside inn has been extended with an 18-bedroom hotel which is attached to the main building and overlooks a paved, outdoor area. It is well sheltered from the prevailing winds and surrounded by colourful plants – including a herb garden. At night, the paved area twinkles with sunken lights and you won’t feel cold – the powerful heat lamps do their job. The hotel’s boutique-style bedrooms have been tastefully furnished by a top quality interior design team, decorated in different styles to a high standard and equipped with plasma TV, WiFi and king-size and super king-size beds. En suite shower rooms are of a high standard and hair dryers and tea and coffee making facilities are provided. There is also luxury, ground floor accommodation for disabled guests. Door entry is by card key and guests can take their choice of visiting other North East attractions – or spend a relaxing evening enjoying the culinary delights and friendly atmosphere of the Seaton Lane Inn’s restaurant, lounge and bar. Comfort, pleasant surroundings and a choice of locally sourced food and drinks to tempt the most discerning of palates – what more could you desire? For a start, you may be looking for an ideal base to savour the best of all the North East of England has to offer. That place is the newly extended and tastefully renovated Seaton Lane Inn boutique hotel. Situated by a country road through a village, it is only a few hundred yards from the A19 – making is less than 30 minutes to Newcastle upon Tyne and equally convenient for Durham City. Sunderland is just minutes away. The Seaton Lane Inn has come a long way from its early incarnation as a blacksmith’s forge; it now incorporates a stylish lounge/dining area, traditional bar and a new two-story hotel attached to the original building. The pub/hotel is run by owners who head a talented team. Their purpose is to make your stay at the Seaton Lane Inn a memorable one – for all the right reasons. These include the friendliness of the staff, the affable type of clientele you meet in a country inn, a tempting and varied menu (try the seafood) and wide range of beers, including excellent cask conditioned ales served from the hand pump, wines and spirits. You can relax in the comfort of the lounge, which has Sky TV, or join the regulars in the adjacent bar. The new hotel has 18 en suite double rooms which are tastefully furnished and have all modern conveniences including TV and radio, wireless internet access, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Seaton Lane Inn

Address: Seaton Lane, Seaham SR7 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Seaham
Price Range: $92 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seaton Lane Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Seaton Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seaton Lane Hotel Seaham
The Seaton Lane Inn Seaham, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Seaton Lane Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Billingham
2 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Seaton Lane Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sunday lunch only, didn't stay”
 of 5 bubbles VivE187, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms I have stayed in have been equally good”
 of 5 bubbles rachelwD9398BR, Jun 22, 2016 | Read review
“Car park side may be quieter as shielded from A19 but only a hum in the background”
 of 5 bubbles 612jonathan, Jun 17, 2016 | Read review
“easy to fine, just off the A19”
 of 5 bubbles Lenderson, May 29, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are modem and really well appointed, magnificent quality accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles TheTraveller1948, Apr 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question