We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monverde Wine Experience Hotel

Save
Share
Quinta de Sanguinhedo 166, Castanheiro Redondo Telões, Amarante 4600-761 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Only 4 left at
$158
View deal
Lol.travel
$118
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1032)
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (90)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Updated 09/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Amarante
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Finding an ideal romantic hotel in Amarante does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you. The rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel features room service and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Padaria Pastelaria Arca D'agua, which is a French restaurant that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike. Best of all, Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel makes it easy to experience some great Amarante attractions like Parque Florestal de Amarante, which is a popular park. Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel puts the best of Amarante at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable. The Monverde Wine Experience Hotel, a place of undeniable beauty wine, is committed to acting in full respect for nature and dispose of the EU Ecolabel label, reflecting the concern for environmental and energy problems, and claims solidarity and responsibility towards future generations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
575Reviews11Q+A31Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 410
  • 124
  • 19
  • 8
  • 14
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NoBaggagePlease wrote a review Sep 7
New York City, New York162 contributions85 helpful votes
Do not book a wine experience suite without clarifying that you expect to receive a view worth the money. We were placed in a room overlooking power lines, an industrial plant playing music we can hear from our room, and solar panels. A number of the other suites do not have this view. We were told it’s not possible to make a switch and they did not seem to be bothered we had paid for this suite during our anniversary (our first getaway without our child which was supposed to be special). I wish we had booked another hotel near the Duoro rather than spending money for this experience… it doesn’t seem fair at all to have paid full price for limited privacy and poor views. (All the luxury hotels we have stayed at have always had at least private views away from plants, even if some views are slightly better than others. I am very bothered by the plant more than anything - I wouldn’t care if it were just people in the vines conducting quieter labor.) We had requested a corner suite and you would think they would explain the bad views and noise, or at least heavily discount the room first.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do NOT request room 43 under any circumstances
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear NoBaggagePlease, Thank you for your comments, We always take our guests' feedback into consideration so we may improve the service. We can only regret that the Hotel has not lived up to your best expectations. We were also very surprised by your comment as our Wine Experience Suites are literally in the middle of the Vineyard. 5 facing North and 5 facing West. Each one with the same characteristics and all of them with the vine at a distance of 1 meter. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and therefore your feedback is very important to us. Kind regards, Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah A wrote a review Aug 2022
8 contributions
this wine hotel is fabulous - the grounds are beautiful, sunsets that are amazing, food was fabulous. we wish we never had to leave. only downside was the rooms were very dark (hard to find things or put on make up) but we managed in any event. we would love to return someday soon
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Heike0711 wrote a review Aug 2022
Karlsruhe, Germany14 contributions
+1
This was our 4th stay at Monverde and by now it is a must for us to stop by this amazing hotel and the amazing staff. The experience is still unbeaten and we always enjoy the time to the fullest. The service and staff is exceptional, the food is outstanding and the sommelier is not only an expert but also one of the reason why we return every year. For us, it was a real pleasure to stay there again. It feels like Portuguese paradise … property, food, wine, offerings, pool, new pool bar etc. we will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kjeld H wrote a review Aug 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark67 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
Monverde Wine Experience Hotel Amarante The setting is 5 star, but the Fawlty Towers drags it down to 3 stars 851914905 If you are looking for at job as hotel manager, at Monverde you could do miracles. The setting is unique in the middle of the wine-yard. Do book pool villa # 40 og 41 with top views anf privacy and #42 with the best view but no privacy, Bring gallons of you own water as this is not served for free and in 30+ celcius no u need gallons. Its a chill out place, with nothing to do, no even a tour of the wine yard. Great food and their own wine is tasty and extremely low priced, So do book set menu with wine tasting and stay minimum 2 nights. An english speaking customer relation manager could turn this place into af full 5 star experience. The staff is incredibly nice and doing their best, but it feels like its their first time on job every-day, English is literally close to zero, so when ordering coffee, u get cacao etc. They could do so much add on sale, just by being attentive and service-minded, but they havent been taught. So pls go and enjoy the private pool, the wonderfull restaurant and pool bar, but just manage your expectations. They could learn so much from Quinta Do Valledo Wine Hotel a few miles further south. Go both places,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Dear KjeldLH, Thank you for your feedback! We value all the comments from our guests and use them to improve as much as we can. I am however always very happy to read that our hosts are such a positive part of our guests stay! Hope that you visit Monverde again in the near future. Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
María Björk wrote a review Jul 2022
Reykjavik, Iceland3 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent 2 nights in June at the Monverde and it was absolutely lovely. We stayed in a suite with our own pool, unfortunately had a bit of rain but that didn't really matter as we sat under the shade on our patio, read a book and enjoyed the nature and wine. It has a lovely daybed, perfect for a couple :) The room was beautifully designed. The bed was really comfortable, the shower was incredible and one night we enjoyed room service by the fireplace. Staff spoke english and we had no problem ordering spa treatment, room service, etc. We tried the tasting menu in the restaurant with wine pairing and they were very generous with both food and wine (we could not finish everything). Food was excellent. Would love to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Dear 429mar_aj, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. We are also happy to know that our staff sympathy highly contributed to the success of your stay. Hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Konfetkak wrote a review Jun 2022
Dayton, Ohio10 contributions9 helpful votes
We booked monverde as a respite between our time in Lisbon and Porto on the recommendation of a friend who stayed here in 2018 and raved about it. We unfortunately really regret not staying in Lisbon longer. Issues: 1. Our room is REALLY dark. There are a million light switches but it’s impossible to figure out which is which. Even with everything on, it’s still very dark because the architecture of the room prevents light from coming in through the windows. This was compounded by the fact that the power kept going off during the first night of our stay. 2. Our shower has no hot water—only tepid at best. It’s an open shower concept so it leaks the small amount of heat available. You will be freezing after your shower. 3. We went to the bar for drinks before dinner. There was no one there when we went (around 8pm). When someone did show up, he kept trying to talk us out of wine? He claimed it was “too expensive” for us and good luck finding something in our price range (bottles go for €35-€40, glasses start at €4?). Do you not want us to buy wine here? 4. They never explained breakfast to us. We saw the set up for the buffet at dinner and asked about it and only then did they tell us about it. 5. For a “wine experience” hotel they offer very little information about the experiences. Every question is met with “look at the website” that they give you a QR code for. You can’t book anything online and it is a CHALLENGE booking anything with the staff. I expected to come to the hotel and be greeted with a, “we offer this this and this, and we can book any of those for you if you’d like.” It’s like they don’t WANT us to spend money here. Allow us to book online if you keep referring us to the site! 6. You get one key card per room. Good luck if you want to do something separately. 7. Dinner was atrocious. We had nine different servers and none of them were courteous. They plunk down your food and then run off as fast as possible, never to be seen again. Expect to wait about 20 minutes between courses and no one will ever offer to get you another glass of wine. Again—you are a WINE hotel. Why don’t you want to sell us wine?! The “amuse-Bouche” was half of a mini-pizza bagel—which Americans will immediately recognize as the snack our mothers made for when our friends came over. They ask you your whole order at the beginning, so we ordered dessert. By the time we got our entree we just wanted to leave so we cancelled it, which required a tremendous amount of effort to get the attention of a server. 8. They should have sent an email prior to our stay about pre-booking spa treatments. We got here and there was only one slot open for something I didn’t really want anyway. This really seems like something available for locals and not hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Konfetkak, Thank you for the feedback on our hotel, we always take it into consideration and try to improve in all areas that we can. We are sad that we didn't live up to your expectations. We do hope that you have the chance to visit us again in the future. We will be delighted to welcome you here again. Sincerely, Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ted G wrote a review Apr 2022
Westport, Connecticut11 contributions15 helpful votes
My son and I had a one night stay while visiting friends in Porto. The food and wine were really excellent, the staff friendly and attentive. We also found the resort very reasonable in terms of the expense, admittedly from a USD perspective.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Just realize you are a 45 minute drive from Porto when planning your trip.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Dear 56tedg, Thank you for the "perfect" review of our hotel! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and it always makes us happy to know that our staff sympathy contributed for that success. Hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jpeffer wrote a review Apr 2022
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania53 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful location and facilities. I had the good fortune to eat a late lunch there and the food was first rate, couldn’t recommend more highly. The wines produced here are top notch and the views from the dining room are endless. I would love to spend the night here!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded Apr 9, 2022
Dear Joseph P, Thank you for the fantastic review and feedback after your recent stay with us. We are delighted that the facilities and service provided, meet your expectations. We are looking to welcome you back hopefully in the nearest future to Monverde Wine Experience Hotel. Kind Regards, Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moran wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
I want you all to be aware of the bad and disappointing experience we had with the conduct of this hotel. We booked our vacation in advance with an expectation to spend there our honeymoon. Unfortunately, 2 days before our expected flight to Portugal (which was two weeks before our planned stay at the hotel), the Portuguese government decided to close Portugal's gates to Israelis (even though w had 3 vaccines already). We contacted the hotel immediately and ask them for a refund so we can use the money for our honeymoon in a different country that allows our entrance into it. The hotel said that “they don’t have a problem to refund us but this is up to a third-party provider that works with AGODA" (through which we booked the vacation). We called Agoda and the 3rd party provider many times through phone, emails, chatbot, and at all of these times, we were told that it is the hotel’s decision whether to refund the money or not and that if the hotel agrees to the refund there will be no problem to do so. The hotel, after many requests, didn’t provide the approval and insisted that it’s the 3rd party responsibility, but promised us that they will send us an email saying that from their side there is no problem to refund us- but after many requests, they didn’t. Moreover, during the dates of our stay the hotel was fully booked so that the hotel earned twice for our room, first from our payment, and also from others’ payment for the room which we haven’t used. This hotel ruined our honeymoon and we feel cheated.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded Oct 9, 2021
Dear Madame, As explained in the multiple emails exchanged. You purchase your stay through Agoda provider which in turn buys back from another online operator. Something that the hotel have no control over. Not just ours, but most hotels all over the world. As explained several times, the hotel cannot, on its own initiative, cancel any reservation without it reaching us through the agency that actually made this sale. You insists on blaming the Hotel for a purchase that you made with others and for which the Hotel as any responsability. It was amply explained, you didn't pay anything directly to the Hotel. You buy your stay at our Hotel but from a provider you don't know which one. Strictly speaking and as explained, you did not make any purchase directly to the hotel or to any other partner with signed contracts. We are sorry for your frustration, but as explained, without a cancellation request from the operator we could not cancel your reservation directly. In the future, when you think about booking an hotel and if you don't do it directly, we suggest that you check at least the conditions for cancellation or change of reservation which, as a rule, do not allow changes or cancellations as was in this case. Your room, as it was a confirmed reservation, was kept booked, so when you say that we resell your room, it is a lie and a judgment that does not correspond to the truth. We understand that our customers are our most important asset and we relate with them with respect, integrity and transparency. Your assessment should focus on this provider and not on the hotel that would love to have welcome you. I would like to wish you all the best for your honeymoon Best regards, Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karin stockholm wrote a review Sep 2021
Sweden106 contributions547 helpful votes
A wonderful hotel in the vineyard with exquisite design. The rooms are nestled among the grapes and the nature feels always present. The hotel facilities are top and the staff very friendly. Had a very nice wine tasting guided by Daniela. Can just agree with all previous reviews that praise the hotel but have some points that I want to highlight. The restaurant served very good food and the staff was very friendly but the service was at times painfully slow. Mostly due to the hierarchic system among the serving staff. Only one person could sign and check the bill, only one could bring the pepper and salt. One evening we sat waiting in the lounge area to be seated watching the half empty restaurant. And around us we had five (!) waiters but none of them were able/allowed to show us a table. Make the restaurantorganisation more effective and you have a gem as a restaurant. And as mentioned the waiters are very friendly. Finally an advice for female travellers ; Some of the hotel rooms are quite far away from the main building and the paths you walk to get there are cobble stoned so flat shoes are recommended. Truly enjoyed our stay especially as it was harvest season
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Monverde Hotel, Outro at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Responded Oct 16, 2021
Dear karinstockholm, Thank you for your comments, we always take our guests' feedback into consideration to allow us to improve our services. Best, Miguel Ribeiro, GM
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$102 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalNorthern PortugalPorto DistrictAmarante
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monverde Wine Experience Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ponte de São Gonçalo (4.3 miles), São Gonçalo Church (4.2 miles), and Amadeo De Souza Cardoso Museum (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Caffe Caffe, Cantinho Rustico, and Largo do Paco.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Monverde Wine Experience Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Monverde Wine Experience Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Monverde Wine Experience Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Monverde Wine Experience Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.