We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Save
Share
Largo Paco 6, Amarante 4600-032 Portugal
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$144
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (583)
Room & Suite (261)
Dining (69)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Updated 05/16/20

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Amarante
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
800Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 627
  • 130
  • 23
  • 12
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cheenius wrote a review Oct 6
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA83 contributions53 helpful votes
Lovely old palace with great public spaces. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable -- even had a large closet. Breakfast buffet was first rate, and of course the Michelin star restaurant was A+. How are they so creative?? I will note that if you stay on a weekend night you might experience noise from the bar down the road. Our room was mostly protected by a protruding corner of the building, but some of our fellow travelers didn't fare as well. The price you pay for being in the heart of the city is that . . . you're in the heart of the city. Adorable town, and the Douro region in general should really be on everyone's travel list of must-sees.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Annie D wrote a review Aug 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Right in the centre by the river but once inside the grounds all is an oasis of calm… the rear garden and pool are wonderful. The hotel has opulent furnishings with many antique items in the communal areas and rooms themselves. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good. No complaints whatsoever and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Leite, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Dear Guest, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa da Calçada Relais & Châteaux. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in a near future. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your review. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards,
Read more
new_world_travellers wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom1130 contributions671 helpful votes
We stayed one night at this Relais & Chateau. The location is perfect and the property is superb. The rooms are a bit dated but still comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was professional and friendly. The main restaurant was closed during our visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Leite, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Jun 13, 2021
Dear New World Travellers, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa da Calçada Relais & Châteaux. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in a near future. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your review. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards,
Read more
Beaten Track wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom80 contributions66 helpful votes
This hotel exemplifies the value you can find in Portugal. Reasonable rates in an exceptional hotel. It is a beautiful old building in the heart of Amarante with a vineyard cascading up the hill on the property. Service was excellent and breakfast too. There is a peaceful pool set in the garden which is a nice place to spend the afternoon. Also, unlike most places in the Douro, this is in the heart of a beautiful town. And so you can walk to local restaurants and bars without driving long distances like other luxury resorts in the area. Strongly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Leite, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Jun 7, 2021
Dear Guest, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa da Calçada Relais & Châteaux. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in a near future. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your review. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards,
Read more
ljbmgs wrote a review Aug 2020
Lisbon, Portugal12 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel is housed in a stylish old yellow building, located in the corner of a large property, in the center of Amarante. The garden areas are splendid and well-kept and the pool area is confortable, surrounded by a beautiful lawn. The interior is nicely decorated with classic furniture, golden chandeliers and old china. The location in Amarante is superb, right across the bridge, in the old town. The views over the Tâmega river are breathtaking. The check-in was effortless. I booked directly in the hotel website, because it was cheaper than the Relais & Chateaux website. I provided my R&C number in the comments, but the reservation did not show up in the R&C app and my profile preferences were not honored (twin beds). If this is important to you, book in the R&C website or provide all the details in the comments. Right after the check-in, we were quickly guided through a few shelves next to the front desk, which had some hotel products for sale. This was a bit awkward. We booked the cheapest room type, the Executive Room, on a promotion, for a 2-day stay, and therefore we were not really expecting the Presidential Suite. Nevertheless, we were not prepared for the quite underwhelming view of our room (see photo). Of all my stays in cheap and expensive hotels all around the world, this was, without question, the worst room view ever. Avoid room 208 at all cost! The breakfast was pretty average, particularly for a 5-star hotel. Most of the pastries were industrial, as the ones you have in 3-star hotels, but the mini-waffles were quite good. The variety and freshness of the laminated fruit was also a positive note. The service was a bit slow, due to the COVID-19 rules, but the waiters were really nice and attentive. Actually, the outstanding service, in face of all the constraints imposed by COVID-19, was the highlight of the breakfast service. Overall, it was a good experience, just tainted by the poor room view.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Leite, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to share your detailed review. We understand and we are sorry for disappointing view. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards, Manuel de Meireles Leite General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa da calcada amarante, casa da calcada hotel amarante
LOCATION
PortugalNorthern PortugalPorto DistrictAmarante
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Which popular attractions are close to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Nearby attractions include Ponte de São Gonçalo (0.05 miles), São Gonçalo Church (0.09 miles), and Amadeo De Souza Cardoso Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Conveniently located restaurants include Largo do Paco, Confeitaria da Ponte, and Pobre Tolo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Amarante.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.