We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux

Save
Share
Largo Paco 6, Amarante 4600-032 Portugal
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$146
View Deal
ZenHotels.com
$183
$135
View Deal
SAVE $48
Snaptravel
Agoda.com$146
StayForLong$183
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (573)
Room & Suite (252)
Dining (65)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Updated 05/16/20

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Amarante
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The lemon yellow façades of the Casa da Calçada are a clue to the sunny stay that awaits you at this hotel. Situated at the heart of the town of Amarante, between the bustle of Porto and the sun‑dappled countryside of the Douro Valley (both less than 40 minutes away), this hotel with its golden interiors is a favourite with those who love beauty, golfers (there is a splendid 18-hole course nearby) and fans of great food and wines. The Largo do Paco Restaurant, awarded with the famous 1* Michelin Restaurant, is waiting for you to show you the high Portuguese gatronomy. The proposed visit to the region’s best wine “quintas” will ensure that you never forget the differences between Tawny, Ruby, White or Vintage Port.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
788Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 622
  • 127
  • 22
  • 11
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ljbmgs wrote a review Aug 2020
11 contributions8 helpful votes
The hotel is housed in a stylish old yellow building, located in the corner of a large property, in the center of Amarante. The garden areas are splendid and well-kept and the pool area is confortable, surrounded by a beautiful lawn. The interior is nicely decorated with classic furniture, golden chandeliers and old china. The location in Amarante is superb, right across the bridge, in the old town. The views over the Tâmega river are breathtaking. The check-in was effortless. I booked directly in the hotel website, because it was cheaper than the Relais & Chateaux website. I provided my R&C number in the comments, but the reservation did not show up in the R&C app and my profile preferences were not honored (twin beds). If this is important to you, book in the R&C website or provide all the details in the comments. Right after the check-in, we were quickly guided through a few shelves next to the front desk, which had some hotel products for sale. This was a bit awkward. We booked the cheapest room type, the Executive Room, on a promotion, for a 2-day stay, and therefore we were not really expecting the Presidential Suite. Nevertheless, we were not prepared for the quite underwhelming view of our room (see photo). Of all my stays in cheap and expensive hotels all around the world, this was, without question, the worst room view ever. Avoid room 208 at all cost! The breakfast was pretty average, particularly for a 5-star hotel. Most of the pastries were industrial, as the ones you have in 3-star hotels, but the mini-waffles were quite good. The variety and freshness of the laminated fruit was also a positive note. The service was a bit slow, due to the COVID-19 rules, but the waiters were really nice and attentive. Actually, the outstanding service, in face of all the constraints imposed by COVID-19, was the highlight of the breakfast service. Overall, it was a good experience, just tainted by the poor room view.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Leite, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to share your detailed review. We understand and we are sorry for disappointing view. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards, Manuel de Meireles Leite General Manager
Read more
Sónia Sousa Ell wrote a review Aug 2020
Lisbon, Portugal17 contributions1 helpful vote
Ok! Location location location! No doubt about that! But then you want to park the car and you have the entrance of the hotel to do it and you really have to have driving skills to park there, since the alternative you have is a backstage park where your car will rot and melt in the sun with no shadows at all. Then there’s the breakfast time where a sweet little lady tries alone to help all the guest running around without any help and of course ending up to the fact that she alone can’t reach every client. And there’s the room itself.... we got one of the best rooms in the hotel (I can’t imagine how the others would be)... the room and the bathroom should level to the standards of a Relais & Chateaux... but they don’t..... at all... the hotel is really overrated! And having stayed in so many Relais & Chateaux hotels around the world I really don’t understand why this one belongs to the chain.... Let’s see how the Michelin restaurant turns out. To be continued...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manuel Leite, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Aug 9, 2020
Estimada Sónia Ell, Permita-me antes de mais que escreva esta resposta em Português pois, tendo ambos a mesma nacionalidade, penso que assim fará mais sentido. É com lamento e espanto que leio o seu "review". Lamento porque claramente não fomos de encontro às suas espectativas e espanto pois tento sempre ver as criticas dos nossos clientes de uma forma construtiva e no seu caso tenho alguma dificuldade. Sendo a Casa da Calçada um edifício histórico classificado, datado do Sec. XVI, a entrada imponente deste Hotel será sempre garantidamente a mesma. Confirmo efectivamente que temos um parque alternativo a céu aberto, dentro da nossa propriedade, para garantirmos que os nossos hóspedes têm um local seguro/vigiado onde podem deixar as suas viaturas. Dizer que as viaturas apodrecem e derretem ao sol parece-me um pouco excessivo. O sol não incide durante uma parte da manhã, pois nasce no lado oposto e ao final do dia a arvore que lá existe permite cobrir uma parte dos lugares com sombra. A Anabela que, concordando consigo, é a alma do nosso pequeno-almoço nunca está sozinha, principalmente em épocas de grande procura. Hoje a Anabela não esteve presente mas, na sua primeira noite teve seguramente mais 3 a 4 colaboradores a ajudar. Não quero com isto dizer que não possam existir momentos de maior afluência durante o serviço, mesmo quando existem mais colaboradores a ajudar. Por último gostaria de a questionar se não teve a oportunidade de consultar o nosso website ou de ver imagens dos nossos quartos? Fico com a sensação que esperava algo completamente diferente no entanto, o que está disponível para consulta pública é exactamente aquilo que temos disponível para os nossos hóspedes. Quartos, no seu caso com vista rio, com uma decoração clássica de acordo com a traça deste edifício. Somos inspecionados anonimamente a cada 3/4 anos pela Relais & Châteaux, sendo que na última avaliação obtivemos uma classificação de 88%, muito acima dos mínimos exigidos por esta Associação Hoteleira. Costumo despedir-me, em todas as minhas respostas, com a expectativa de voltar a receber a visita dos nossos hóspedes, mas penso que neste caso em especifico não seria adequado. Mesmo que não seja para a Casa da Calçada espero que pelo menos um dia regressem à cidade de Amarante. Despeço-me com os nossos melhores cumprimentos. Obrigado. Manuel de Meireles Leite
Read more
KeithC894 wrote a review Feb 2020
Interlaken, Switzerland47 contributions15 helpful votes
This was our third trip to the Casa da Calcada and we absolutely love it here, the setting is absolutely beautiful and the staff are absolutely wonderful. The Casa is just so relaxing one can just stay in the gorgeous hotel bar overlooking the river or in one of the fantastic rooms with extra comfortable beds. Or if you feel like doing something Amarante is a great place for a visit to the Douro region or Guimaraes / Braga. I can't think of a greater compliment than to say we bought my in-laws a voucher to stay here as a thank you for them looking after our kids.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from DIR_GERAL, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Feb 22, 2020
Dear Guest, We're delighted to hear that, once again, you enjoyed your stay at Casa da Calçada Relais & Châteaux. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests, at all times. We look forward to hosting you again in a near future. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your review. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards, Manuel de Meireles Leite General Manager
Read more
VeroBrisbane wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia117 contributions78 helpful votes
We stayed in the luxury suite with a river view and it was superb. The room is spacious and beautifully decorated with period furniture and artwork. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom provided ample space with the only criticism being that the shower was not free standing. The location is perfect and the view from our room spectacular. The staff were always attentive, immaculately presented and very professional. They went out of their way to help us whixh we really appreciated. The breakfast was ample and provided a large variety of freshly prepared options. We also enjoyed a dinner in the dining room. I was sad to leave this beautiful 16th century palace and would return in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DIR_GERAL, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear Guest, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa da Calçada Relais & Châteaux. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in a near future. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your review. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards, Manuel de Meireles Leite General Manager
Read more
Randy P wrote a review Dec 2019
Memphis, Tennessee286 contributions156 helpful votes
My wife and took a trip around the world to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in several hotels in half a dozen countries, and this was by far the best. It is rare when you cannot find one small fault with a property. But I honestly cannot think of one. The location is great, the property oozes charm, the staff is friendly, service is great, excellent food, etc. And it is all done at a fair price. Our only regret is that we did not stay here longer. Do yourself a favor and book a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DIRETORGERALCALCADA, General Manager at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Responded Dec 27, 2019
Dear Guest, We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Casa da Calçada Relais & Châteaux. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in a near future. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your review. Have a wonderful day! With kind regards, Manuel de Meireles Leite General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa da calcada amarante, casa da calcada hotel amarante
LOCATION
PortugalNorthern PortugalPorto DistrictAmarante
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Which popular attractions are close to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Nearby attractions include Ponte de São Gonçalo (0.05 miles), São Gonçalo Church (0.09 miles), and Amadeo De Souza Cardoso Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Conveniently located restaurants include Largo do Paco, Confeitaria da Ponte, and Pobre Tolo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Amarante.
Are any cleaning services offered at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.