We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mornington House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mornington House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Warwick is a brilliant host & cook. We enjoyed three days in his beautiful historic house its a real gem. The walled garden and yoga building are in a great setting. It is great to get the opportunity to stay in a magnificent house like this.

Helpful?
Thank Kate O
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six of us stayed recently at Mornington for a family occasion. Warwick and Anne couldn't have been more accommodating hosts, looking after every detail of our visit. The rooms were excellent and extremely clean and our breakfast was cooked to perfection. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank ciarancreilly
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you so much for letting us visit your family home. We were welcomed by Warwick and Anna with lovely home made cake and tea. We chose to eat out but diner did smell lovely and great value. When we came back at about ten o'clock all our bed was turned down and our shutters closed which was a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Kivik, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

It was about 30 years ago when I was looking for a farm to buy in Ireland. Mornington House became my favourit place and many detailed plans I had worked out, but at the end I decided to buy a different place. So far so good instead I / we came there several times after the new owners had turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank karlfsievers
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Next time you come to Mornington do call in for coffee. The place wasn't sold and indeed it is still owned by the O'Hara family as it has been since 1858. More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we could only stay here one night, as we were leaving in the early A.M. for our flight home via Dublin. What a beautiful home....full of history. The owner was very kind and attentive. He left me a nice pot of coffee to start my long day of traveling. The location is in a lovely town, with a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank megsnspales
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you made the connection with your plane on time. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

We are regular visitors to Ireland and found Mornington House in the "hidden Ireland" brochure. We didn't know what to expect after usually staying in hotels. Our fears were soon forgotten when we were warmly greeted by Warwick. Whilst we were unloading the car he was making us afternoon tea and homemade cakes. The room was fabulous with the most... More 

Helpful?
Thank G3867BIkathleenm
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your first experience of staying for bed and breakfast in a private home. Thank you for posting your kind review. More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Many of us have had that trip where the experience does not live up to our expectations this was definitely not one of these. The Mornington House experience will not disappoint you. The house built around 1849 and does gracefully show its age this is part of the thrill when staying in this truly wonderful place. We stayed overnight with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon O
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mornington House. Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review. More 

Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We stayed with Anne and Warwick for two nights in a huge beautiful bedroom. Mornington has been in Warwick's family since the mid 1800's, and the history of the house and the furnishings is fascinating. The gardens and grounds are expansive and were coming into bloom when we were there...beautiful! Dinner was such a treat, Anne is a wonderful cook.... More 

Helpful?
Thank easygroove
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We were pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay here at Mornington. Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review. More 

Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night after dropping out son to Body and Soul music festival. Arrived just in time for a quick change and then pre drinks in the drawing room. Kate and I were the only guests in the formal dining room. Starter was deep fried Brie with fresh leaves from the garden. Mushroom soup was rich and teaming with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Conway
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

We hope your son enjoyed the Body and Soul music festival. Thankyou for taking the time to post your kind review. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

My wife and I had a lovely relaxing stay here for one night. The house, gardens, and food where all excellent. The bedroom was huge and the bed very comfortable. Warwick and Anne were wonderful hosts and the stay was very enjoyable, thoroughly relaxing and I would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank reprazant
Multyfarnham, Owner at Mornington House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We were delighted to receive your most generous review. Yours sincerely, Anne & Warwick O'Hara More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mullingar
9.5 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
7.1 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Mullingar
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
7.0 mi away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
3.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Mornington House

Address: Multyfarnham, Mullingar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Price Range: $165 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mornington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Mullingar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay