We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shearwater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shearwater Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

698 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 669: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice hotel with great room and facilities. Comfortable bed, spacious room, decent wifi, clean and mostly pleasant staff. 2 incidents lead to 3 stars instead of 4. Terrible iron, so paid 3 euro per shirt for ironing, no difference. Called room service to order food told there is a 7.50 'trade' charge. If that's the case write it in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dfferent
County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Here with family over the Christmas and have to say flawless, kids camp excellent ,breakfast excellent, bar food excellent but its the staff what makes this hotel . Big mention to managers seamus and sueanne very friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnsonjake89
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

A well maintained beautifully clean hotel. It is also an advantage that one can park their car safely on the underground car park which is very safe. The Pub restaurant does the best cocktails I have ever tasted and very reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen g
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night with our three kids.We have drove by the hotel on many occasions on route to Galway.We will definitely be stopping off now.Staff are very welcoming and professional. A big mention to Seamus and Ciara in restaurant .Thanks guys and hopefully we will be back very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Triona K
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Triona, Thank you so much for the great review and your kind comments regarding the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all our team worked hard to make it all the more memorable. Seamie and Ciara say thanks for the personal Mentions. Regards Michael

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived on 30th December for 3 nights.Ther was 22 of us in 7 rooms. We(2 adults and 2 kids) had a Family Suite which was great. The kids had their own room and tv. The Hotel has been repainted and tidied up since our last visit,it looked very clean and new. The staff here are very helpful,although the young...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bcsireland
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bcsireland, On the whole a great review and thank you for this. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you noticed that the hotel had recently undergone some cosmetic changes. You comments on the team in the bar are very welcome as to continue to improve the food and service we need to have constructive comments such...

Wicklow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a lot to do in town and hotel very limited. The smell of smoke in the rooms was awful and although we asked for twin room we got room with four beds which could really only fit one double. The bar food was good but they ran out of many options by the time we ordered. At times it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connells_Carrig
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great little spot near Galway for a wedding. The hotel also has a good gym for working out. Has bumper plates too and a platform. Service is great. Awesome staff. Managed to give us everything we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn V
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bjorn, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on here. I am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding. Weddings are increasingly becoming a specialty here so its always nice to get some feedback from those who attend. I see you use a Gym regularly as you speak with authority on the subject. Getting rid of...

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a night on business. Not very enjoyable for me after a meal in the bar. Got little satisfaction from management. Situated on the outskirts of the town within walking distance of town centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

HI Mary, Thank you for your review. It seems like it was a food issue in our bar that was to blame for the poor rating. I'm sorry, that having brought it to management, that your displeasure was not fully acted upon and to your satisfaction. Perhaps you might contact me at the hotel to give me more information. Thank...

Kilkelly, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night at Shearwater hotel just before Christmas. Receptionist was very friendly and was checked in immediately. Very nice hotel. Room was spacious and clean. Comfortable bed and large bathroom. Excellent breakfast. There is also a bar and restaurant on site. Near to town centre, within walking distance. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank May04sam2015
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear May04sam2015, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were kind enough to take the time to tell people about it. Perhaps you might say hello the next time you stay so as I can thank you in person. Kind regards Michael

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here for a family christening and from beginning to end it was flawless, ill start by saying the Christmas décor is fabulous and the food is very good. Don't normally write reviews but its only fair to mention staff on this occasion, Seamus the manager couldn't have done enough for us throughout the day and we were fortunate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james442016
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, What a great review...thank you for taking the time. Seamus and the team that looked after you are delighted to get the mention as well as they get a little prize from the hotel here for a personal mention on a Public Forum. Again thank you and we hope to be having many more christening from you. ;-)...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.3 mi away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
13.5 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,703 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,869 reviews
11.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
822 reviews
13.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Price Range: $60 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Shearwater Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shearwater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“make your needs known when booking a room.”
 of 5 bubbles G4661KGkareng, 1 week ago | Read review
“Make sure no weddings on while you are staying”
 of 5 bubbles Connells_Carrig, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms are stunning. My particular room had a view of the sun rising - stunning. (235)”
 of 5 bubbles , Dec 9, 2016 | Read review
“Use the free underground car park”
 of 5 bubbles PatW798, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure it's not a smokers room”
 of 5 bubbles 102patrician, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay