We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveler (102)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (8)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Spectacularly set overlooking Killybegs Harbour and with views of the surrounding Donegal Hills, the Tara Hotel features 26 tastefully decorated bedrooms and 5 suites, most of which have harbour views. Complimentary wireless internet (Wi-Fi) is available throughout the hotel and all our rooms feature en-suite, 26" flatscreen T.V, tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and safe as standard. The spacious Station 59 bar is ideal for relaxing with a coffee and a snack whilst enjoying the sea view. For something more substantial carvery lunch is served throughout the week and an extensive bar food menu is available every day until 9.30Pm. Turntable Restaurant offers a more contemporary, sophisticated setting to enjoy a meal; our team of chefs work closely with local and regional suppliers to bring you the best of produce, expertly prepared and presented. Our Leisure Club boasts state of the art fitness equipment & weights area. We look forward to welcoming you to the Tara Hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Bay View
HOTEL CLASS
769Reviews
117Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 440
  • 244
  • 53
  • 19
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Loved the Tara hotel but just a few little niggles that could be sorted. We arrived on a fri and found hairs all around bathroom. Wallpaper was ripped in bedroom and peeling away in corners. We liked the thought of having a balcony, even though it was shared with other rooms.
Read more
Response from TaraHotelKillybegs, Front Office Manager at Tara Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear pstewart930 Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Please accept our sincere apologies that your room and the shared balcony was not up to standard. We really do appreciate your feedback and will ensure this is kept to our usual high standard in future. Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest regards Loretta
Read more
I was charged 15 euro for two fried eggs , chips and a salad I was told it was put in as the dinner meal ham eggs chips "no ham" 15 EURO for eggs and chips Was very unimpressed didn't want to argue and I didn't want to make a scene
Read more
Response from TaraHotelKillybegs, Front Office Manager at Tara Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear kinmup Please accept our sincere apologies for this error. If you would please contact us here at the hotel and we will organise to refund you the difference. Warmest regards Loretta
Read more
This cosy Bar/restaurant is a good place to relax with coffee and sweets with a beautiful view on Killybegs Harbour and these big boats ! The Nutella Donut is really the best of desserts ! Taste it ! I recommend !
Read more
Response from TaraHotelKillybegs, Front Office Manager at Tara Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 913cl_mentp We are delighted you enjoyed your time here in the Tara and thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely feedback. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Warmest regards Loretta
Read more
We are just back from a weekend at the Tara Hotel and it was fab. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite room looking onto the harbour. We ate food in the bar both days and it was very tasty. We had squid, prawn tempura and fish and chips. Reception staff were really
Read more
Response from TaraHotelKillybegs, Front Office Manager at Tara Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dolan94 On behalf of the team here at the Tara thank you for taking the time to leave us your lovely feedback. We really appreciate your kind words regarding your dining experience and our staff. We look forward to you next visit. Warmest regards Loretta
Read more
I'd give this place 5 stars for service , 5 stars for food and 5 stars for the view . We had the fillet steak with the surf and turf option. The prawns was mouth watering . Meat was cooked to perfection . Peppered sauce was sooo good . Absolutely delicious!!.We thoroughly
Read more
Response from TaraHotelKillybegs, Front Office Manager at Tara Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear ontheroadagain2019 On behalf of our culinary team thank you for your lovely review regarding your dining experience and thank you for the kind feedback in relation to our service. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you & warmest regards Loretta
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementTara Hotel
Family Room
Our Luxury Bedroom
Fishing boats at rest in Killybegs' harbour.
View of the harbor
View of the harbor
PreviousNext
1234567
Our rooms have Tea & Coffee supplied.Hopefully we will see you in the future. Warmest regards Loretta
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello from Killybegs, We are located only 25 minutes from the beautiful Slieve League. We can arrange a taxi for you if you would like. Please contact me here at the hotel if you need any further assistance, I look forward to hearing from you. Warmest regards Loretta
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello we do offer some balcony rooms, please contact us here at the hotel if you would like to make a reservation, We look forward to hearing from you Warmest regards Loretta
1 vote
Show all answers
is there a pool?
Hi, The Tara Hotel does not have a swimming pool, however the Hotel does have a fully equipped gymnasium
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Joseph, We serve food until 6 o clock on christmas eve, we are closed on Christmas day and we start serving food again on boxing day at lunch time. I hope this helps, regards, The Tara Hotel Management.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Try to get a room with the shared balcony. Gives beautiful views "
"Try to get a room overlooking the harbour"
"Get sea view room"
"No fridge. But in these areas it is very common."
"Get a room overlooking the water - nice view!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tara hotel killybegs
LOCATION
IrelandKillybegs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing