We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
810 Hveragerdi 810 Hveragerði, Hveragerdi Iceland
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (93)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (7)

About

#2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hveragerdi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Eldhestar is a cozy countryside hotel with a luxurious atmosphere, featuring 37 spacious rooms, a restaurant and hot tubs. In 2015 the hotel was expanded, now offering a larger, bright dining and conference room. Then in 2016, 10 comfortable, new rooms were added. The hotel is dedicated to the Icelandic horse with colors and materials in Icelandic nature, genuine craftsmanship and old tradition inspiring the interior. Hotel Eldhestar was built with ecological techno-logy and was the first lodging in Iceland to receive the Nordic Swan Eco-label. Hotel Eldhestar is ideally situated for sightseeing in South Iceland.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German
110Reviews3Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 48
  • 15
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paola C wrote a review May 2020
Reykjavik, Iceland100 contributions6 helpful votes
We really enjoyed the experience. Horseback riding was fun and the guides were very well prepared and friendly. We enjoyed the food as well and the staff was very friendly. The bed was also very comfy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
adolfo o wrote a review Mar 2020
Santa Maria, California67 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
My daughter chose this place as the first overnight stop in Iceland. It’s situated close to a highway and located near a gas station. The place is so clean and nice. We were given a room in their Guest House with a shared living room, refrigerator and with some kitchen utensils to share. There’s a selection of teas that was also there for the guests use. There are 2 shared toilet and shower and one toilet for the guest house. Towels are provided and shampoo/conditioner and liquid body wash. There’s a restaurant on site that served dinner but the breakfast is free. The selection is excellent, from waffles to cereal, drinkable yogurt, toast, a variety of bread spreads , jams, cold cuts to make your sandwich, eggs, bacon and sausage, fresh fruit and orange and apple juice. Too bad it’s winter otherwise they also have a horse farm to see. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
chanshuikay wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom1,218 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here in Jan 2020. The hotel is conveniently located for visiting the golden circle and is great value for money. The staff were marvellous, all smiles and polite. Room and bathroom were spotless and comfortable. In the bedroom there was a hairdryer, soap and shower gel/shampoo, TV but nothing more. The room had heated floor and a glass back door with great view, which were nice touches, unfortunately we didn't see the northern lights when we stayed. The hotel offers horse riding tours, hence the hotel premises and rooms are decorated with a horse theme which was neat. Tea and coffee and cookies were available and self service in the lobby. There was a hot tub but we didn't try it. Breakfast was adequate. Compared to other places we stayed at in Iceland I thought Hotel Eldhestar was awesome value for money and can wholeheartedly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Eldhestar
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Hotel Eldhestar and thank you very much for the very nice, informative review. Your comments will really help other guests with questions they might have. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a great value for the money :) I might say, one reason we don´t offer any appliances in the hotel rooms is because we are eco-labeled by the Nordic SWAN and have to be quite strict with our water and electricity usage among other things. We hope you come back sometime and will hopefully get to see the Northern Lights while sitting in the hot tub! Best regards, Tammy
Read more
arkhitekton wrote a review Sep 2019
Chicago, Illinois9 contributions7 helpful votes
We arrived after check in time (the staff accommodated us) and left pretty early so our experience was short. We mainly picked this location as it allowed for an early start on the Golden Circle the next day. While we did not have interest, I would imagine coupling the hotel with their horse tours is a nice benefit. The rooms and the beds were nice and befitting of the horse farm. They also had an eco friendly approach. The hallway had a tile floor so in the morning you heard people rolling their luggage. The breakfast was disappointing, it was picked over by the time we arrived at 8:30 and nothing new was brought out while we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Eldhestar
Responded Oct 14, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Hotel Eldhestar and for taking the time to write a review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay...even though it was short. It´s great to hear that you enjoyed room and the comfy bed and hope you slept well. However, we are sorry to hear that you heard guests rolling their luggage. The tile floors were chosen due to the rainy, snowy conditions in Iceland as this surface is the easiest to keep clean and the most durable. I am also sorry to hear that breakfast wasn´t refilled, I will absolutely speak to the kitchen about this as this is not acceptible. Thank you again for the nice review and we hope you consider staying at Hotel Eldhestar if you return to Iceland in the future. Best regards, Tammy Front Office Manager
Read more
Misfit wrote a review Apr 2019
Oregon11 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a nice place to stay that is still close to Reykjavik. We stayed here to ride the Icelandic Horses and were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very helpful and answered all our questions. It is always nice to have an onsite restaurant but we only had breakfast there so I can't comment on their dinners. Our rooms had a view of the horse pasture and we could watch as the brought the horses in for the night and moved them back out in the mornings. Hveragerdi is also a cute little town that was pleasant to visit. It is a good value for someone looking to be close driving distance from the city (Reykjavik) but not wanting to spend the price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Eldhestar
Responded Oct 11, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for the nice review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and also breakfast! You´ll have to come and have dinner with us sometime :) I´m also happy that our staff took good care of you! The horses, well, aren´t they pretty spectacular? We are glad you got to enjoy them as well! Thank you again for the review!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IcelandSouth RegionHveragerdi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Eldhestar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Eldhestar?
Nearby attractions include Reykjadalur Hot Springs (1.3 miles), Hveradalir (4.7 miles), and Hveragerdi - Stone and Mineral Museum (1.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Eldhestar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Eldhestar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Eldhestar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Eldhestar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ölverk Pizza & Brewery, Ingolfsskali Viking Restaurant, and Skyrgerdin.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Eldhestar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Is Hotel Eldhestar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.