We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frost and Fire Hotel

Save
Hverhamar, Hveragerdi 810 Iceland
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$226
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/15/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
$226
View Deal
Free cancellation until 04/15/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
$226
$206
View Deal
SAVE $20
Free cancellation until 04/18/20
Nustay.com
travelup.com
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (749)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (135)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Hveragerdi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
See why so many travelers make Frost and Fire Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Hveragerdi. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, extra long beds, and a desk, and you can stay connected during your stay as Frost And Fire Guest House Hotel offers guests free wifi. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk and a sun terrace. Plus, Frost and Fire Hotel offers a pool and breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to Almar Bakari or Dalakaffi - Hot River Café, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Frost and Fire Hotel. During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Reykjadalur Hot Springs (0.8 mi), Hveragerdi - Stone and Mineral Museum (0.7 mi), and LA Art Museum - Listasafn Árnesinga (0.7 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Frost and Fire Hotel as you experience all of the things Hveragerdi has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Hot spring bath
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German, Icelandic, Norwegian
861Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 536
  • 227
  • 67
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Please read all the negative reviews on Frost and Funi Hotel. That was my experience It was the poorest hotel compared to price. The food at the restaurant was reasonable in quality . I had ordered something else from the restaurant from online, But got something else.
Read more
Response from Hotel, General Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, if I may ask when did you stay at our hotel? and what precisely went wrong?
Read more
My husband and I were excited to visit Iceland and this hotel until we were forced to cancel our plans two weeks before as our country restricted international travel. I requested a refund through Expedia and the hotel declined, offering only a voucher for future use. This policy is highly insensitive to the global crisis we are all facing. The most responsible policy would be to provide a full refund and CLOSE the hotel in the interest of public safety, if only for a few weeks. Travellers - re-think your reservation and support a business that has more in mind than profits.
Read more
Response from Hotel, General Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello. Thank you for your input. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with our hotel. Your reservation was a non refundable one and made through a third party that you would need to contact as well in order to have the possibility to cancel free of charge. Like most small businesses in Iceland ( and throughout the world) we offered all guests who had a non refundable deal to reschedule free of charge or to receive a credit invoice that could be used any time that suits you. We are truly sorry that we cannot grant full refunds and free cancellation of non refundable deals, if we possibly could we most certainly would do so. Best regards
Read more
+1
NOT what they make it appear to be on their website. We booked a standard room with river view for 2 nights and I was very excited for this stay because from the things I saw on their website the rooms and the setting looked so amazing! Walked into the room after checking in to find out that all we saw on their website was exaggerated. (Maybe we got their oldest room? I don’t know. But for €232 a night? No way!) We settled in, as you can see from the pictures there’s no luggage rack to place our luggage. Had to keep them on the floor. No desk in the room as stated in the booking confirmation I got - pic attached. ( I had some work to do so this was a big disappointment) No iconic wooden door or decor as depicted in pictures for standard double room setting on booking.com To make things worse, the heater in our room didn’t heat properly. They had kept another unit which we could plug in and switch on for heating so we used that next to our bed as it was of no use kept anywhere else in the room. On the second night it started giving off a burning smell so we had to switch it off and sleep. Not at all comfy when it’s -2 C outside! Bathrooms were sooooo ordinary, with rust on the shower and mirror. Tiny shower. Horrible water pressure!! No bathroom amenities except for 2 all in one soap containers. I expected better from this hotel because honestly the previous hotel we stayed at for 1/4 of this price had better heating, heated bathrooms and the same soap containers this sad place had to offer. Check my other reviews for the name of the place. We were 100% happy about our stays in Iceland till we came to this place. Other points that I want to raise - - Pool was unusable because the temperature setting was 10-15 degrees but they said we can take a dip if we wished to & the pool or the access path was not cleaned. (Photo attached) - The Hotel hot tub we used was 30 C while it was supposed to be at 35-40C. Not a comfortable dip in that either. - The restaurant was closed on our second night. But we still paid for the full facilities the hotel website had to offer. In conclusion; - The hotel is not what the website depicts. I browsed their website to see if our room or something similar was featured but I couldn’t find anything. - Not at all worth for €232 a night. - Travelled all over Iceland this was the most expensive and the worst hotel we stayed in. We were 100% happy about our previous stays. Sad that I trusted their website. - It appears to me that the owners have taken things for granted and not maintained the place to the standard people expect paying this kind of money. This place needs a face lift big time. A few things I was very happy about - The two receptionists who were there were very nice and helpful ladies. - The continental Breakfast was great with many wonderful choices - The location of the hotel is really great as you can just take a 30 min hike around the river to see geothermal spots etc. - The soup that we had for dinner was very nice but sadly can’t say the about the cod and the vegan dishes we ordered. - Sauna was good Don’t go here unless the management decides to do something about their short comings. And don’t stay in room no 14 which was ours.
Read more
Response from Hotel, General Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Anura. We are really sorry to hear about your bad experience since we strive to make all of our clients happy with their stay. We are really sorry that you did not like the room. We do value every input from our clients and try to take notes from them. It is true that during your stay we had some problems with heating the pool, unfortunately we will not be able to fix that until spring when the ground has thawed. Due to the cold and extreme wind during your stay the hot tubs were not as hot as they usually are, this is unfortunately the case with out side hot tubs. However people did use both of them during your stay and we checked them frequently both of them were around 36°C when checked. Since I am not sure when you accessed them, maybe they were colder when you tried them if so we do apologize for that, we do wish that you've would have told us. We are glad that you liked the breakfast, sauna and the reception staff. regarding the restaurant, that is something we have no power over and not related to our hotel, so we kindly ask our clients to take all complaints about Varmá restaurant to the right TripAdvisor page, I am not sure to which hotel facilities you are referring to regarding the restaurant, breakfast was served as usual. Again we are really sorry that you id not enjoy your stay however we do really hope that you might give us a second chance so we can make it up to you one day.
Read more
+1
Nestled along the banks of Hot River (the clue is in the title) this is a fascinating place to stay. Rooms are chalet-style and look like they’re geared to short-term stays (we were here for only 2 days). The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. We were here when there was lots of snow and wind about so needed a chilly trek to and from the hotel reception and restaurant. We only ate breakfast here which was very adequate and plentiful although not hot food except self-made waffles (yummy). As with many places in Iceland, everything here which requires heat is driven off geo-thermal sources, they even have a geo-thermal oven outside where they cook some food. Also, the hot water and heating comes from hot springs which obviously brings a challenge. The first night I had no hot water or heating in my room but oil-fired heaters were provided and plumbers came the following day and fixed the hot water. I looked upon this as part of the charm of living “off grid” to some extent and wasn’t bothered by it. The hotel staff (thanks Beata) were quick to sort things out and were delightful to deal with. Just for note, we chose to eat just down the road in the town where we found some excellent eateries. I’m slightly disappointed that I didn’t try the food at the hotel cooked in a hot spring ...... I will next time.
Read more
Response from Hotel, General Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest Thank you for your time and your review.We are truly sorry about the hot water during your first night! We hope to welcome you again in future.
Read more
This hotel is the perfect base for exploring the south of Iceland. The hotel isnt a hotel in the true traditional sense.. the rooms are in fact chalets... with nowhere to hang your clothes or drawers to put stuff in which is difficult when there is 3 of you in 1 room. No where to put your cases and no storage in the bathroom. I found it quite claustrophobic. The breakfast were lovely although the resturant was expensive
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
frost and fire guest house hotel hveragerdi, frost and fire hotel, frost and fire hveragerdi
LOCATION
IcelandSouth RegionHveragerdi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Frost and Fire Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Frost and Fire Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Reykjadalur Hot Springs (0.8 miles), Hveradalir (3.1 miles), and Hveragerdi - Stone and Mineral Museum (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Frost and Fire Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Frost and Fire Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Frost and Fire Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Frost and Fire Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ölverk Pizza & Brewery, Restaurant Varma, and Skyrgerdin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Frost and Fire Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Frost and Fire Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Hveragerdi.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Frost and Fire Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Norwegian, and Icelandic.
Does Frost and Fire Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Frost and Fire Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.