We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Main Street (Toward Tzununa) | 150 Meters From Center on Left Toward Tzununa, San Marcos La Laguna 12001, Guatemala
Traveler (52)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (3)
Overview
Main Street (Toward Tzununa) 150 Meters From Center on Left Toward Tzununa, San Marcos La Laguna 12001 Guatemala See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Kitchenette
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
44
15
17
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
44
15
17
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga platform drum circle good vibes live music movie night san marcos the managers offer yoga fun place mayan ladies overlooking the lake the location is perfect huge breakfast every evening paradise on earth shared bath the owner
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 91 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2018

my boyfriend and I staying in one of the privates with shared bath and it was pretty gross. the room was damp and smelled bad, dirty, sheets stained, window pane repaired with tape etc. The bathroom always smelled (probably because trash hadn't been emptied) and...More

Thank Allee L
Response from Bryan L, Owner at Hostel del LagoResponded 6 days ago

We never asked to be on Tripadvisor. We never tried to get in any guidebooks. We wanted to build a place that my wife and i would have liked to discover when traveling. Del Lago has always been a word of mouth location. A place...More

Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Rooms are okay, don't come here for peace and quiet the hostel kids run around the place hard to find silence. People constantly trying to sell you things whilst your laying around in hostel, usually they are on the street but they walk around inside...More

Thank H3793PVryanw
Response from Bryan L, Owner at Hostel del LagoResponded 6 days ago

I’m normally saddened and a bit annoyed by flippant negative reviews. But this review bothers me on a much deeper level. I’m curious as to whether your view was ruined by the little girl selling chocolate, who finishes school and then walks the town to...More

Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Del Lago. Perfect location right on the lake with amazing views. Our private room was a bargain at Q130 per night with a shared bathroom between three rooms. Hostel is clean and has a great common area. They offer yoga...More

Thank SGMac
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed the inclusive breakfast, room basic but had recently had a lick of paint. Most the clientele and ‘staff’ could do with a good feed and a wash. Drumming circles/loud music each night went on until gone midnight, very painful and out of rhythm. As...More

Thank jdizzle_13
Response from Bryan L, Owner at Hostel del LagoResponded 6 days ago

While I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast and basic rooms.... I would like to clarify a few things. There is one drum circle a week. It is on Tuesday’s. It ends at 9:30 pm. We do not allow drums or any music into the night....More

Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

The prices are interesting when you stay 3 nights (third night free). Really good breakfast !! But not the coffee that you have to pay... nice bar , lots of places to chill , the Pier, hammocs, couch .. the 6 bed dorm is not...More

1  Thank Marine G
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$10 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Photos
Traveler (52)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (3)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hostel del Lago staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All the rooms are of equal quality!"
nialm2013
Apr 2, 2018
Read review
"I prefer 4,5 beds rooms then noisy 10."
honzaj157
Feb 23, 2017
Read review
"private room was great value, comfortable and clean"
katelI8001QG
Sep 18, 2016
Read review
"Private rooms are worth it."
120rachaell
Sep 18, 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing