We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buffalo Pointe Lodge

Traveler (51)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (7)

About

#8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A Route 66 original. This Bed and Breakfast dates to 1909 as a lumber barrons mansion, then the bus stop and Mayors' house. Located downtown Williams and 45 minutes from the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. See you soon!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
113Reviews
0Q+A
11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 39
  • 41
  • 14
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our trip was to visit the Gran Canyon via the Grand Canyon Railway. We wanted to be within walking distance of the depot. The price was best in town for a bed and breakfast. We met travelers from Europe and Japan while there. Very nice conversation with the other guest and the couple we were with. Allie was a great and fun host. Everything was ready upon our arrival and each morning at breakfast. Mary’s eggs with spinach were awesome. This is a house that’s been converted to a B&B so some rooms are large and some a bit small but it was quiet and comfortable. The sheets on the beds were nice! They have pretty good WiFi. Best thing was the hostesses and meeting new friends from around the world.
Read more
Response from Alley A, Manager at Buffalo Pointe Lodge
Responded Jun 12, 2018
Russell!! Thankyou so much for staying with us!! I enjoyed you so much!! Come back and by a place here!! lol. Would love to see you all again!! We always love POSITIVE people!! You all are such nice people!!
Read more
When we first pulled up to the Lodge we noticed that it was in poor repair. There were shingles missing from the roof and the screen in the upper floor room was broken. So when we went in to check out our room we had to go through the kitchen. The linoleum tiles had holes in them. The bathroom sink was cracked. The next morning we came out of our room only to find a group of people sitting around the table acting like it was their own personal breakfast. I had to reach over someone's shoulder just to get the last bagel. My wife got the last piece of watermelon. Yes, she had to reach over somebody's shoulder too. The coffee was only warm. Furthermore, the cook/proprietor was making hot water for the group at the table so they could make tea. Another couple was so disgusted that they left without breakfast. The only interaction I had with the owner was when she presented me with the bill. My first thought when we showed up was to book another property-this one was so shabby
Read more
Response from Alley A, Manager at Buffalo Pointe Lodge
Responded Jun 13, 2018
Yes we are preparing for a nice paint job, and a roof job soon! We have several projects we are working on at the Buffalo Pointe Inn. We are fairly new owners, trying our best. We have the best breakfast, and we do not slouch on our food. Im sure Ernie was getting ready to refill the watermelon and the bagels. Maybe you came late, because we always refresh our food and keep it refreshed until 9. Anyway thankyou for staying. And by the way, we never have groups only for breakfast. People that stay here, are usually super friendly. Maybe you felt insecure, and I apologize for that.
Read more
+1
At arrival there was an envelope with my name on which had the key for my room. We arrived later on the evening (9pm) so having no one at the reception was fine. We went into our room, which was old, broken, worn out and in general not a nice place to stay. WIFI was not reliable, only worked very close to the door, otherwise the signal was too weak (internet speed was very slow). We tried with 3 mobile phones and a laptop and working in IT for over 15 years I can comfortably say, the WIFI network was absolutely rubbish. Our room (Room 3) was accessible through the kitchen, so after arrival we heard some people talking in front of our door, we went out to see if it is anyone from the reception. (I wanted to ask about the WIFI). It turned out to be there were other guests as well, looking around. They arrived hours earlier however there was no one at the property either. Their TV did not work, and their room was similarly bad. They were shocked by the state of the property. It was such a strange feeling that guests were walking around in a hotel/motel where no staff were present and shared their bad experiences upon arrival. When we went to sleep I could hear someone was doing the dishes (or doing something similar) in the kitchen for a long time, I was about to go out and ask them to be quiet, so we could sleep - as my 4 year old could not fall asleep because of that. By that time, the noise has stopped. The next day, we went out for breakfast, it was said between 7-9, but when we went there around 8am there was just basic breads and butter and orange juice etc put out on a table. A bit later a woman came (receptionist?) and started making some egg but it took absolutely AGES. She did not say a word to us, did not mention she is making eggs, we found out because we saw here doing that. I had the feeling she was deliberately delaying it so we would leave before it is done. After breakfast we left as fast as we could, I had to pay for the room - as it was not yet done - and paid for the same lady at the reception desk. If I could give ZERO stars for this place I would. Dirty, old, broken rooms and chairs, disgusting bathroom and "delayed" breakfast, with pretty much no internet. Horrible place, would not recommend anyone to go there
Read more
Response from Alley A, Manager at Buffalo Pointe Lodge
Responded Jun 12, 2018
I am so sorry you are such an angry person. The Buffalo Pointe Inn is a FABULOUS older building, that we are working hard to maintain. We have done alot to upgrade since we have obtained the Buffalo Pointe INN. example: new tvs with direct tv in each room, we are in the process of painting the building, new bedding and some new bedroom sets, etc. Ernie is a wonderful lady, who trys hard to do a super great job. Guests really love her. She is FABULOUS!! I am so sorry you are mad, because we would not give you everything for free. Guests like you, should go to a BIG chain. But then again, you dont want to because it costs alot more. You want things for free. If I could give guests like you,a ZERO, I would!! VERY rude people. Would not recommend you to any other place. And by the way, we never do dishes at night. NEVER!!!! You are just making up things. You came to the least expensive place to stay, wanting bacon and eggs. But we have danish yogurt, fruits, eggs, bagels, toast, juice, cofftee, milk,,cereal, etc. So now you want to complain.
Read more
I spent one night with my wife in a very small room (room 1). No space, everything is old and worne out. The bed sheets were dirty and already used before our arrival (lots of hair and smelled very bad!!!!) The bathroom is very small and some towels were very old. The window of the bedroom has no correct shade. A gap lets lots of light through and anybody could see in the room at night. The breakfast is placed on one table only. So if you arrive later you have to disturb the other guests to reach the remaining food... the bagels were hard as stone. This was our worst stay of our whole trip. For the same price we have stayed in so much better other hotels. The owner should be ashamed to treat guest as they do! PS we complained about this at the end of our stay to the manager. She did as if it was a surprise and not normal. But afterwards we have found many similar complaints on Booking.com
Read more
Response from Alley A, Manager at Buffalo Pointe Lodge
Responded Mar 22, 2019
I think you have got our placed confused with another place. We never, I repeat NEVER use dirty sheets, or not change the sheets out! Our place is very clean, we are proud of that! So please get your reviews correct on which place you stayed.
Read more
Location is a positive though room #4 was 9'x11' with in need of a new bed (plywood is more comfortable), mold along tub, questionable wiring (GFI), dust around AC, baseboard heater not working or minimal at best, minimal amenities (no hairdryer, iron, coffee maker, etc.), staff difficult to find on arrival and initially grumpy or gruff then pleasant, didn't stay for breakfast as we wanted out.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$103 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mountain Country Lodge
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaWilliams
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing