We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Canyon Plaza Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Canyon Plaza Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 940: English reviews
Michigan Center, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying near the canyon rim is going to be expensive for a decent room, even outside the park like this property. I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the attractiveness of the property, despite some negative reviews I had read. The only drawback is that it is behind other business farther back from the road, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert S
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was happy to hear that your stay with us satisfactory. Our staff strives to provide good customer service to our guests during their stay. Your very positive comments will be forwarded to the appropriate Department Managers so they can review them with their staff. Again thank you.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Dining service in hotel is awesome but expensive! They have seasonal lounge which only open in busy season of Grand Canyon, but in winter, they still have an traditional restaurant which say they have buffet but actually not. around the area you have very few of eating options, so don't be picky and make sure you have enough budget.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin C
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was happy to hear your dining experience was satisfactory. I will be forwarding your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager so he can review with his staff. Again thank you.

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only good thisng about this place is its close to the grand canyon. I would like to throw this hotel down the grand canyon where it belongs. We booked this hotel online and the picturesonline looked greart. Little did we know the pictures were 30 years old. The room is old & outdated. The door in the batroom hits...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bacardminnesota
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I was disappointed to hear that your stay with us was no satisfactory. Our staff strives to provide the best possible customer service to our guests during their stay. I will be forwarding your comments to our appropriate Department Managers so they can review and address these issues. Again thank...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read some of the reviews and I was expecting a rundown place but we were so surprised. First of all, we travel with our little dog and it looked like there was no other place except in Williams -which is a long drive away from the canyon that would take us. And then we read that some people had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review on our property. I was very happy to hear that your stay with us was comfortable and that our staff was able to assist you with ideas on how to view the Grand Canyon. We strive to provide our guests with the best customer service during their stay. I appreciate your comments and...

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were booked for two nights but only stayed for one. Most of the hotel is under construction which they failed to mention. I booked this hotel specifically because they had a fitness room but it was all torn up and unusable. The woman at the front desk had no idea so she told me about it and I wandered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sassafrass_0275
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. Yes we are under construction at this time which is normally our low season. I can only apologize for the inconvenience. I will be forwarding your comments to the appropriate Department Managers so they can review...

Reviewed January 15, 2017

Let me start off by saying that there were some major advantages to Canyon Plaza - the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the indoor hot tub being right outside our door was great, and it's right next to the National Geographic visitor center which was great. Unfortunately, there were two massive problems that really make it a place I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren T
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. I understand the confusion regarding our location as our legal address is Grand Canyon, Arizona although we are located in Tusayan. Our website states we are 1 mile from the entrance to the Grand Canyon and...

Milbridge, Maine
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

Booked a room here after reading reviews here. It was extremely easy to get to and the room was priced fairly. The best part is how close it was to the entrance to the south rim! Can't go wrong here. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank goodnews_11
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was happy to hear your stay with us was satisfactory. I appreciate you mentioning how convenient our location is to the entrance to the Grand Canyon. Your comments will be forwarded the appropriate Department Managers so they can review with their staff. Again thank you.

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed January 5, 2017

I booked the room through tripadvisor and paid $150 during winter. The room was shabby, very old, in the main building. Heater did not work, we literally shivered through the night. No microwave, coffee maker too didn't work. No breakfast was included in that price. They have renovated only the Reception and lobby, but altogether very old property. Next night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Senjuti
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. I would hope that our Front Desk staff would have been able to accommodate your request for either a new room or have maintenance look into the problems you encountered. My apologies. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate Department Managers so they...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed January 5, 2017

The hotel room had two double beds. The room was very nice and had two sinks and shower and tub. The room was very clean and modern. There was a refrigerator, table and chairs as well as a chair for working in the work area. Room had a coffee maker. The Hotel has an interesting layout where all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FSTSK8R
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our property. I was happy to hear your stay with us was satisfactory. We strive to provide the best customer service to our guests to make their visit comfortable and enjoyable. Your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate Department Managers so they can review with their staff. Again thank you.

Reviewed January 3, 2017

This hotel is good for a night or 2 while visiting the Grand Canyon. The hotel is clean. They do seem to have problems with keycards working in the doors. There is an outdoor pool, but it was closed in November. The rooms were large, 2 beds and a tv, with a separate living area with another tv, couch, chair,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer D
Ann W, General Manager at Canyon Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was happy to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory and that our staff was accommodating. Your very positive comments will be forwarded to the appropriate Department Managers so they can review with their staff. Again thank you.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

832 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (417)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (189)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (402)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Full Room (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Full Room with Balcony (47)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (46)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Balcony (46)
Viewed
Double Queen Suite (64)
Viewed
Mini Suite with Balcony (52)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
1,938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,761 reviews
5.7 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Price Range: $98 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Canyon Plaza Resort staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Canyon Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“To stay near the Canyon, a decent mid-priced room (for this area)”
 of 5 bubbles W1438QNroberts, 1 week ago | Read review
“Winter time is cheaper”
 of 5 bubbles 517martinc, 1 week ago | Read review
“We liked the ground floor, but we have a little dog.”
 of 5 bubbles 346elizabethw, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Take a room with a lower number or a room in a different building. There are two buildings at least with this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles FSTSK8R, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“Try to stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles KiaTy625, Dec 30, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question