We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

Save
Share
Agujitas River Mouth, Drake Bay Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (451)
Room & Suite (83)
Pool & Beach (74)

About

#7 of 16 hotels in Drake Bay
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Since it was founded in 1985, Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has continued to be a family run business. Our focus has been to take good care of our guests so that they'll feel right at home. We try to be as flexible as possible, taking into consideration people´s needs and we do our very best to fulfill special requests. For instance, we will prepare meals for special diets. Furthermore, the hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the area. It has large open areas with a bounty of beautiful flowers, tropical plants, big mango trees, and beach almond trees that attract the raucous macaws. The property gives you the feel of being in a private island since the river flows along the backside of the property and the whole front side meets the ocean. In addition to this, most visitors come to us by boat and the access by land to the hotel is a small path, unreachable by car, that is submerged in a jungle. Best of all, there is a paradise like view of the bay and ocean, reflecting the deep blue sky and, beyond that, hills bound in lush forests.We offer all sorts of extras that help make our guests' stay more comfortable and enjoyable. For example, we include a full laundry service. Kayaks close to the water are always at our guests' disposal. We have a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, dock, and hammocks to relax under the shade of a tree with the cool ocean breeze blowing on you. From our hotel we take guests on adventures in snorkeling, hiking, diving, canoeing and whale watching. Visitors often see four species of monkeys, sloths, tapir, caiman and a myriad of birds, including the scarlet macaw, mangrove hawk, toucan...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Massage
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Fishing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
423Reviews11Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 318
  • 72
  • 24
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
08Mambo wrote a review Yesterday
Austin, United States7 contributions
Words are not good enough - look at the pictures - of this wonderful resort lodge. It is the only accommodation in Drake Bay with a pool, and after a long sweaty day hiking, hopping in a pool with the entire Drake Bay as your view with the bar right next to you, is, well, PERFECT. We swam under a rainbow in the sky - unbelievable. The rooms are air conditioned, clean, excellent bathrooms, indescribable VIEWS of the palm trees swaying against the backdrop of a small beach and Drake Bay, with beautiful parrots flying by our rooms... what?? The food was delicious and the staff wonderful - pls tip well, even if the meals are included - these folks deserve it. They can book all of your tours too. It was an adventure getting there... i.e. taking a boat across the bay to get there- magic! Crocodiles, fish, dolphins were spotted >> should I stop now, or are you all very jealous?? HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: book 8 -10 months in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Barneyq101 wrote a review Nov 2022
Reading, United Kingdom701 contributions195 helpful votes
3 excellent day and nights. Accommodation Hot showers! Timely free laundry service. Food excellent with good choices including a very good tenderloin steak. Vegetarians well looked after. Considering how remote we are this was great effort.liked the bay by the pool. Lovely tours to Cano and Corcovado national park. Very well organised with very good guides. Wish we could stay longer
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MelissaAS wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California13 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful setting, wonderful staff, delicious food. Rooms are basic but bed was comfortable. There’s a resident crocodile. Adonis is adorable; doesn’t look old enough to be tending bar. Don’t think you’ll be walking right down to the beach - it’s a hike but lots to see along the way.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Bring water shoes for getting to/from transfer boat.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicole M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I wanted a secluded but comfortable retreat from our busy lives, and this resort exceeded our expectations. The staff and owner are warm and friendly. Our room was clean, air conditioned, and maybe 100 feet from the ocean. The grounds are gorgeous and charming, there are mangoes everywhere and birds, even some monkeys. The resort sits right on the main hiking trail and we hiked two days in a row. Hands down, the most beautiful hike I’ve ever been on. We stopped at several secluded beaches along the way. To get there, we took a plane from SJO (Sansa airlines), where a taxi was waiting for us (set up by the resort). From there, you take a three minute boat ride to the resort. It’s quiet this time of year so we didn’t see many other people at all. We got a welcome drink and a snack immediately. That brings me to the food: WOW SO GOOD. Definitely the best food I’ve had at a resort and the best food I’ve had in Costa Rica so far. Food is included (three meals and snacks whenever you want - they even packed us sandwiches for our excursions). Drinks are not and you pay for those at the end of your stay. Alonso (the waiter/bartender) is super nice. The chef is too. Everyone is great. We booked one tour - Corcovado - totally worth the one hour boat ride it takes to get there. We saw tons of birds and two tapirs. We did not do Cano island as we wanted to explore and hike on our own. The days end early as Costa Rica gets dark at 6 pm and you will find yourself tired at 8/9 pm. The WiFi really only works at the office and bar area but that was fine by us - we played cards and downloaded some shows to watch. But we were so beat every night that we fell asleep very early. The pool is great - and the drinks Alonso made us were fantastic. This is definitely a once in a lifetime trip - it’s unique and beautiful but there is a family warmth surrounding the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aurora b wrote a review Apr 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
I just returned from my second stay at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort. My first trip was on my honeymoon 27 years ago and on this trip I returned with my wife and 22 and 18 year old daughters. It was just as wonderful this trip as it was in 1995, plus it had added air conditioning and a salt water pool. The grounds are beautiful and full of flowers, macaws and many other birds. The ocean views are spectacular and there are many nice spots to sit and enjoy the view. Food is included with the trip and it is delicious. My family had nothing but good reviews for everything we ate. Marleny and her family and staff do a great job of making everything perfect and I hope I don't have to wait another 27 years before I can return again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
kholex wrote a review Feb 2022
Cheltenham, United Kingdom382 contributions106 helpful votes
What a special place and one I was so sad to leave! We had three nights here and loved every minute. From the moment the boat arrived at the dock everything was perfect. We were greeted with a refreshing drink, given all the relevant info then shown to our room. We had room 1, one of the cabanas, which was lovely and private. Nice outdoor seating area overlooking the ocean, good sized bedroom and a HUGE shower. Air con was great and much needed! The grounds are so pretty, the pool refreshing after a long day, and there’s even a tidal pool at the end of the resort. There’s a short walk (about 15 mins) to the nearest beach, and the path continues to various other beaches along the coast. We stopped at the second one along which was absolutely stunning - sometimes a little rough for swimming but the beach was gorgeous and we had scarlet macaws overhead. There’s kayaks available for the river behind the hotel too, though we didn’t use these. We only did one tour, a trip to Corcovado. The hotel asked before our arrival what trips we’d be interested in and when we checked in let us know they’d booked us in for the next morning which was much appreciated! Very organised and the trip was fab - our guide excellent and it was just us and 3 other hotel guests on the tour which was nice - we saw others walking around in huge groups so ours felt very private. Last but not least - the food. Absolutely delicious and probably the best we had all holiday. Breakfast was fresh fruit, then you could pick from omelettes, pancakes etc. Lunch was excellent - over two days we had a choice of chicken/fish tacos, and chicken/beef burritos. The burritos in particular were amazing. They’ll ask what you’d like for dinner at lunch time - usually a choice of chicken/beef/fish/veggie. Again, delicious and a 3 course meal at dinner time too. Lots of vegetables/salads/rice on the side, everything felt very fresh and healthy but also so tasty. A different fresh fruit juice with every meal. I can’t say enough good things about the food here. Drinks at the bar also great - wonderful piña colada! Every member of staff we came across at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this place. Wouldn’t hesitate to book again if in Drake Bay. A 10/10 from me - absolutely wonderful experience from start to finish.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Katherine M wrote a review Feb 2022
Berlin, Germany102 contributions129 helpful votes
First of all it is not possible to get to this resort by car. You will need to leave the car in a village nearby at the beach and will need to be picked up by boat. This information is very hard to come by. When I finally got to the resort the reception was really disgraceful. The guy didn’t know of our reservation and had to check it up. He found it but he hardly spoke to me and any questions I asked were answered with as few words as possible. Mostly yes or no. I had the impression I was really disturbing him. There was another lady at the reception the next days, equally with a bad behavior. I went to ask something and she kept sitting at her desk with the window closed. Really? I need to shout for her to understand me? What’s wrong with these people, don’t they know how to behave properly towards guests? The view from the room is beautiful, and the room itself is ok. There is no internet or TV in the room. Internet access only at the reception and bar. You can only book the hotel as half board, which makes sense because it is quite difficult to get out of the hotel, especially at night. The food is ok, but nothing special. Breakfast is between 6 and 8 am, dinner is at 6.30 pm. In the 3 weeks traveling throughout Costa Rica, we’ve been in 8 hotels, this was by far the one with the worst attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marleny Jimenez, Dueño at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Greetings, I will clear the confusion that this guest experienced as well as I can. We do not have vehicle access as anyone can see on Google maps or Waze, we are actually very happy with this because it keeps the area much more natural and serene, however it presents it's challenges. This guest reserved through Booking, I try my best to stay on top of guests travel plans so I can coordinate their pickup, however I did not recieve a text message from Booking, for this booking and it was made with only 1 day anticipation. When the guest arrived at the reception, unfortunately I was not expecting her, and for that I am truly sorry. However as soon as I was made aware of the situation I got busy looking for her reservation trying to figure out what had happened, checking on her room to make sure it was ready, contacting the kitchen staff to inform them 2 more people were coming for lunch, and organizing a boat to pickup her husband from the beach as soon as possible, my intention was not to ignore her but to accomodate her and her husband as soon as possible, I am sorry she got the wrong impression. My office partner is Asmatic, and she understandably takes much care of her health keeping the sliding clear glass window closed temporarily when guests aren't around helps alot with currently blooming mango trees around the property, however she is very friendly to customers and goes above and beyond to accomodate their needs. We encourage all travellers to please inform us regarding their travel plans so we can help them to choose the best route, and organize their arrival as safely as possible.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iwona47 wrote a review Aug 2021
Brussels, Belgium188 contributions37 helpful votes
We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. the location is great, food is nice and so are the facilities. the staff in the restaurant is kind. However, the reception is confusing. It was not clear how to arrange the tours - if the hotel arranges them or orders via other agencies. It could be confusing. It would be also nice to get a short information on the offered tours. It can be confusing and stressful if you have limited time. The reception is somehow not very communicative. Even a simple small chat would help. Drake Bay is not an obvious place. As a result I did not feel well in the beginning of my stay - later on I have found out myself.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Linda F wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
We loved our stay at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort. It is in a gorgeous location right where the river meets the ocean, with a long stretch of waterfront property and dramatic ocean views. I particularly like that it is family-run by a lovely Costa Rican family (who are also bilingual) who clearly work hard to keep the beautiful grounds and flowering plants in tip-top shape. The staff were so friendly and kind, and the meals were excellent. I also loved that they have canoes for guests to use; canoeing down the river is definitely worth doing. Finally, the owner told us about a large tide pool just at the end of the property that was a perfect place for our girls to swim. Go check it out!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lena V wrote a review Jan 2021
Appleton, Wisconsin9 contributions
+1
My family and I stayed at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort six years ago and we have kept coming back since. Before our first stay, we researched all of the hotels in the area and felt that the location was the most beautiful; we could not have made a better decision! We could not speak of the atmosphere, the owners and employees, and the amenities more highly. The hotel catered to our dietary needs and made sure that we were comfortable. The all-inclusive resort comes up in conversation at least once a month for innumerable reasons: the breathtaking views of wildlife and the peaceful ocean waves; the luxurious meals; the kindhearted concierge that welcomes you and treats you like family; and the fact that I already plan my next trip days before I leave the current adventure. I greatly look forward to my next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$238 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
drake bay wilderness hotel drake bay
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOsa PeninsulaDrake Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DRAKE BAY WILDERNESS RESORT - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Costa Rica)

Frequently Asked Questions about Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Drake Bay Wilderness Resort?
Nearby attractions include Naturaseekers (1.1 miles), Finca Las Cascadas Drake Bay (1.4 miles), and Drake Bay Art Gallery & Jewelry Store (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Drake Bay Wilderness Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kalaluna Bistro', Restaurante y Cabinas Casa El Tortugo, Drake's Kitche, and Carey Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Drake Bay Wilderness Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Drake Bay Wilderness Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Drake Bay Wilderness Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Drake Bay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Drake Bay Wilderness Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Drake Bay Wilderness Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Drake Bay Wilderness Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.