We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall

Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (3)

About

#30 of 53 hotels in Tempe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
52Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
156Reviews
3Q+A
40Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 62
  • 49
  • 24
  • 12
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
***Read this review*** Most of the reviews online are really happy or really angry. My review is just REALLY HONEST. My review is a God-honest account of what happened in June 2019. I stayed at this hotel for 1 night because I didn't want to drive 3 hours back to where I live at night. I checked in at approx. 9pm and checked out at approx. 9am the next morning; standard stay. A week later I see a charge for $200 in addition to the $102 cost of the stay. Upon inquiry, I was emailed by Paul [-], Operations Manager who said that the TV was missing and if I wish to return the TV we can refund the money. This is an implication that a crime was committed by me. I wouldn't steal a hotel TV or anything from a hotel room. I advised him & his manager ronald byland [sic] (not capitalized because that's how his email signature line reads) that I checked out at approximately 9am with the front desk clerk and to please review all CCTV and it'll clearly show me not stealing a TV. In addition, I parked directly in front of the lobby and did not enter or move my car one time. Quite honestly, I wouldn't accept a hotel TV for free if someone tried to give it to me. Mr. byland responded only defending his lack of evidence, his subordinate, and citing a googled defamation definition. Why wasn't I contacted and asked about this? Why wasn't the CCTV reviewed? After all, this is a 41" TV that would clearly be on video. Why wasn't a police report filed? Why was I charged $200 when ronald said the TV costs $499? This situation screams impropriety and cover up! I obviously would advise you to not stay here. God-forbid you find yourself in this situation. I will also add that Ronald has not elevated my concerns to his supervisor despite my requests to do so. He has also not responded to my follow up emails. This is an honest review. This hotel has chosen to blindly charge me instead of due diligence and due process. Unfortunately for Mr. Byland and this hotel, I'm the wrong one. As a career law enforcement officer and military veteran, I won't be illegally charged and defamed. I will add that I stayed at this hotel before and had no issue. To be honest, I found the location to be reasonable (not a great area) and the hotel comfortable and pleasant. Aaron
Read more
+1
I arrived to the hotel after completing a mobile check in. Upon arriving, my credit card was declined three times and they made me use another card. I wanted them to run the card as it was my Marriott card that I use for all my travel and they refused. After using another card, I got to my room and called chase who informed me the hotel put in the wrong expiration date when they entered my info. I’m disappointed that they said it was on me when the mistake was in there end. The overall hotel is dated and in a bad area. The room was not clean and the shower plug was broken. The floors were dirty as well. I had no regular coffee in my room, only decaf. The breakfast was really bad. As you can see from my photos, I couldn’t even eat the eggs. My fork broke when I tried to cut them.
Read more
Response from ChristaD286, Assistant General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Dear Shane0517, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your experience as described above. We failed to meet expectations of cleanliness and we will address the issue with our housekeeping team. With regards to mobile check-in the credit card information is not entered by the hotel as this is done when the reservation is made prior to the guest's arrival. When we receive an alert requesting mobile check-in, all we can see are the type of credit card used (Visa, etc.) and the last 4 digits of the credit card information that was provided when the reservation was made. If the credit had expired prior to your arrival or had declined at the time of check-in, then we are required to ask for another form of payment. The hotel has undergone a full renovation which was completed in 2017. We will address the other matters with our team with both housekeeping and breakfast to ensure this never happens again and to improve overall guest satisfaction.
Read more
I was in town for a conference and this was close to the conference center. The rooms were good and service was excellent. Our sink water smelled weird and the shower would not drain. Other than that, it was a great location to stay at. I would definitely take advantage of their free shuttle.
Read more
Response from RonaldB2420, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Responded May 31, 2019
Hello ang10342, Thank you for you kind review. We are very happy to know we made an impression on you. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in the restroom area. We have had maintenance look over the items to ensure they are correct. Please comeback and see us again!
Read more
Loved this hotel so much! The house keepers do an amazing job, my room was immaculate clean. The patio area by the pool is fantastic to chill. I am giving it 4.0 just because I did not quite like the breakfast, but overall I had a very good time here and will want to book it again if I come back.
Read more
Response from RonaldB2420, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Responded Apr 11, 2019
Thank you Olesya K! We loved that you liked our property! Those kind word get shared with my team everyday when we get these comments. Just so you know, Marriott is currently working on a different breakfast scheme and offerings this year! So when you come back, We will be better than ever! Thanks Again Ronald
Read more
I was really disappointed with my stay at this hotel. It started off bad with the hotel changing my reservation without my knowledge, and got worse with actually being there! I booked a 2-bedroom suite over 3 months prior to my stay. Even though I am Platinum, and have suite-night awards I can use, I wanted to guarantee that I would have enough space for my family of 4 (I have two tall teens, that both now like to have their own bed and if possible, their own room - so I figured this suite would be ideal). I went to check-in online the day before my stay, and much to my surprise, my reservation information showed a Queen studio for one person. Huh? So I went online to check my reservation and discovered that my 2 bedroom reservation was changed to a 1 queen studio, and a second 1 queen studio reservation had been added. When I saw this, I knew exactly what they had done - they SPLIT the reservation. I knew this because I read a review on the Marriott site of someone that had this EXACT thing happen to them (they booked a 2 bedroom suite directly with the hotel, and when they went to check-in, they were told they'd been "upgraded" to two single queen studios). Of course, I was furious! I hadn't been notified about any issues with our original reservation, and the hotel just up and changed it. With my Platinum membership status, I know I have a room type guarantee, so I should at least have had an email or a phone call, with the assurance of the monetary compensation for not being able to guarantee my reservation room type. When I called to figure out what was going on, I got some run-around before I was able to chat with the Operations Manager, Paul - and he apologized and said there was a mix-up (something about a potential plumbing issue near the room that was blocked off for my reservation), and he proceeded to change my reservation back to the 2 bedroom suite, and block off a different room for me. He didn't know why it was done, and why I hadn't been notified when it had. When we arrived the next day, everything went smoothly, and we got the 2 bedroom suite we reserved. We even received a written apology from Christa, the assistant general manager, with nice mini bottle of wine. While that was a wonderful gesture, and much appreciated, I would've expected more considering I was Platinum, and planning to spend nearly a week in their hotel. I was all set to put that rotten start behind us and have a wonderful stay! Unfortunately, that didn't happen. While I'll admit some of the issues we had during our stay were bad luck, some of it were just problems with the hotel that cannot be resolved: 1. Stairwell Noise - each floor has four 2 bedroom suites, and two are located at opposite ends of the hotel - right next to the stairwells. As you may have gathered from reading the other reviews here on TripAdvisor, the walls are paper thin in this hotel. So anyone staying in those rooms will get to listen to every single person going up and down those stairs, and then get rewarded with the SLAM! when the door to the stairwell slams shut. So, of course, during busy times, or times when there are more guests deciding to use the stairwell, you get woken up every time someone uses the stairs. During our stay, it sounded like every 5 mins. Yes, even in the middle of the night!!! First we had kids in the room next door that were up and down the stairs constantly (but at least they weren't in the stairwell in the middle of the night), and then we had a baseball team that had team members in and out of the room next door, yelling, knocking on the door, slamming the door, and then running up and down the stairs at all hours. It was insane!!!The most noise I've ever experienced in a hotel. Worse than the room I once had that had the ice machine right across the hall! Complaints were useless, although staff seemed sympathetic when I called. And of course, relocating would be pointless, seeing as how ALL 2 bedroom suites had the stairwell across or next to it. 2. AC Problems and Noise - this hotel has central AC, which is normally great and much less noisy. In this case, it was not. It was SUPER noisy It would turn off and on every 2 minutes, and each time it did, it woke me up. I travel with a sound machine and earplugs, and the sounds the AC made were sooo loud, even with the fan constantly running. Another problem with this AC was that the thermostat was in the larger living space, but there were vents in each room blowing the same amount of AC. The larger room was 2-3 times the size of the bedrooms, so while it may have been a nice 70 degrees, the bedrooms were FREEZING and the cold air was blown right into your face as you lie in bed. Needless to say, the AC had to be turned off at night. Thank goodness it was only in the high 80s/low 90s during our stay, and we had the option to do this! 3. The plumbing - there was one day when the hotel experienced the most nasty sewage smell. I think only some rooms/areas were affected. We had to open the windows to air it out. For a few days after that, we still smelled it a bit when we turned on the sink water. Another plumbing issue that seems to be an older one (I read another TripAdvisor review about this) was the 2 bedroom suites seem to lack hot water. Our showers were warm. I like my showers to be very warm. These were just warm enough to not be considered cold. That was disappointing. Also - the bathtub is curved, and not flat enough for someone with a wide stance to stand flat. I almost slipped and fell during my first shower because of the curve.. My kids said it was because I'm old and my balance isn't as good as theirs (haha) but the tub was curved, and slippery with no bathmat - it deserves mentioning! 4. The pool - the photo of the pool online looks fabulous. In reality, it's VERY small. Like, slightly bigger than a hot tub. It is 3-5 feet deep. The whole time we were there, not one person swam in the pool. It was certainly hot enough, and the pool was open. Maybe it was more to do with the plumbing issues that week than it was from the size of the pool, but either way, don't expect to have a fun-filled pool holiday at this place. Even with all of those problems, I must say the staff were really helpful and friendly. That did make a difference. I also did really like the location of this hotel. It was very convenient, and despite some other reviews to the contrary, I felt it was very safe. Breakfasts were good, and staff even left food out a little longer for the late sleepers. The rooms were clean and well-appointed, and the room renovations were well-done. I think if you can tolerate a lot of noise, and aren't fussed about the little problems, you could have a good stay here. Would I stay again? No. Unfortunately, there were just too many issues that made our stay unpleasant. I could see someone staying for a night or two lucking out with a good experience - but we stayed here 5 nights and got a good feel for what the hotel was like, and overall, it wasn't good. I was sooo happy to get home and finally get a full-nights sleep!!!
Read more
Response from ChristaD286, Manager at TownePlace Suites Tempe at Arizona Mills Mall
Responded Apr 17, 2019
Dear Pokee, Thank you for your review. I apologize for all of the issues that occurred during your stay. Although we did correct your reservation back to a two-bedroom suite it was unfortunate to discover that your reservation had been changed without your knowledge. Sometimes as we discover maintenance issues in the suites our aim is to fix it as quickly as possible which will sometime result in having to change the reservation. We did fail to communicate with you once that change was made. Again, please accept our apology. We did have a number of teams staying with us during your stay and there were many noise complaints. Each time we received a noise complaints we had to address it with the coaches and chaperones but we made every attempt to address it at the time. Other maintenance issues are being addressed such as the plumbing in the hotel so that we can make it a better stay for all guests. We want to ensure that above anything else that our team will do what they can to assist you as best as possible to make it a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we will address the issues as quickly as possible. Sincerely, Christa
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
towneplace suites tempe hotel tempe, tempe towneplace suites
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
TownePlace Suites Tempe
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaTempe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing