We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Show Prices
#5 of 52 Hotels in Tempe
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,291: English reviews
Northern California
Reviewed June 15, 2014

It is a beautiful property built to organically meld into the desert hillside site in Tempe with a lovely layout of 2 connecting lagoon style pools and a handful of hot tubs strategically scattered around the gardens. There are excellent views from many spots including the enjoyable nature walk to the top of the butte itself. A plus for Spring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bosdog
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback. We will definitely recognize the staff that you mention and we will work on the perception received from the other staff. We strive for excellence and this experience is not the norm when it comes to our guest service. I am truly sorry that some staff did not seem so...

Mesa
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Buttes to celebrate our anniversary and were very impressed. This was our first time here and enjoyed the stay. The pros: This is still a resort! There are several negative reviews about this resort that portray it as aging, old, and in disrepair. While the property is getting older, I was very impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod R
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate the time you took to be detailed and thank you for recognizing the staff. We enjoy sharing comments like yours with them. We look forward to hosting more getaways for you. Sorry that early check in was not available the day you checked in. We will...

Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have been going to this resort for years. We live locally and use this resort during the summer months for a "staycation" Unfortunately, over the years, this resort is losing it's appeal and is no longer the fabulous property we used to enjoy. When Wyndam owned the resort, they had live music by the pool and in the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cissy M
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review in regards to your stay with us. I am sorry that the cleanliness of the property did not live up to its normal expectations. We do our best to maintain what we are known for, and that is a clean property with friendly staff. We appreciate your time and thank...

Sterling, MA
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This property is unlike any I have ever stayed at. They built it into and around the Buttes so there is unique rock formations and garden through out the property. The rooms are newly renovated and very nice. There are multiple hot tubs through out the property built into little niches. The staff at this property is top notch. My...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tgj777
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback in regards to your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting another stay for you. We will gladly share your kind words with the team. Thank you

Tucson, AZ
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at The Buttes for a family reunion over Memorial Day weekend. The resort was quite busy, but it only impacted our stay at the beginning - we were not able to get into our room until almost an hour and a half after the published check-in time. The room was clean and comfortable. The towels were actually thicker...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank singsinthecar
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience for others to see. We appreciate your time and stay with us. While we do have extra charges for some of the amenities we offer we do have an optional hospitality fee the helps save money and bundles the charges we do have. We do hope you come back. We...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have been frequent guest at the Buttes in Tempe and are President level. However, this stay will end out visits here. We are non smokers and we were told my management that the smokers have priority over non-smokers. We couldn't eat at the bar due to 4 women smoking. the resort is full of non-smokers and they clearly cater...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shelley D
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Personally as a nonsmoker I understand the want to not be bothered by smoke from surrounding smokers. I assure you that we support our nonsmoking policy when it comes to guest rooms and the designated nonsmoking areas on the grounds. The area in which you were bothered by is...

Wittmann
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great property but if don't smoke look else where The allow smokers every where and if you complain they tell you piss off The have a smoking a non smoking area but the central bar area is smoking so non smokers can use it. There are 6 people on the smoking side but the non smoking is packed and they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ron A
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Personally as a nonsmoker I understand the want to not be bothered by smoke from surrounding smokers. I assure you that we support our nonsmoking policy when it comes to guest rooms and the designated nonsmoking areas on the grounds. The area in which you were bothered by is...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I decided to take a last minute staycation at the Buttes for a little rest & relaxation. We had a great time and upgraded our room to include breakfast, wifi and parking, it was well worth it! This resort does not charge a "resort fee" at least not yet. The pools were amazing and the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank genaro214
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback in regards to your stay with us here at The Buttes. We appreciate your stay and do hope you staycation with us again. Thank you!

California
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The location is convenient for my business appointment and the senior discount made the hotel more reasonable in price. The grounds are attractive but due to the location, the hotel is oddly configured and somewhat difficult to get around. The restaurant was overly pretentious with dishes described as though we were at an exclusive restaurant in Paris while in reality...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dick K
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share some details in regards to your stay with us. We are glad you enjoy the facility itself. I am truly sorry that dinner was not to your expectation. We always look to exceed ones expectations in all the amenities and services we provide. We will share your feedback with the culinary team...

Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend at this property and were treated like royalty. The rooms were spacious, well appointed, and beautiful. The setting was unique and fun to explore. Most impressive however was the service. Outstanding. From the front staff, to the restaurant crew, to the towel girl, all were happy and helpful. Thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Curt H
Michelle S, Director of Rooms at Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and thank you for taking the time to share comments in regards to the exceptional service received from the staff. Do come see us again. Thank you!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

433 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (391)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tempe
South Mountain
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Impressive Mountaintop Conference Resort with view of Phoenix & Valley of the Sun located in center of historic Twin Buttes area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes

Address: 2000 W Westcourt Way, Tempe, AZ 85282-1005 (Formerly Wyndham Buttes Resort)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Tempe
Price Range: $132 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buttes, a Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Tempe
Marriott Hotel Buttes
Marriott Tempe
Tempe Marriott
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tempe
#5 Family Hotel in Tempe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tempe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Phoenix Marriott Tempe at The Buttes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room with a patio”
WiakoloaWahine8, 1 week ago | Read review
“Facing the pool area, but all views are good.”
DarMarb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Some of the rooms have patios, really nice to sit out & enjoy the property.”
parispls, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“3rd floor next to the pool”
ajbrue, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Select a patio room if available”
  • View from tunnel
  • View of the scenic tunnel
snippsnapsold, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question