We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
556 Highway 179, Sedona, AZ 86336-6145
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$195
Tripadvisor$195
Travelocity
Orbitz.com$195
FindHotel$195
Etrip$195
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (899)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (493)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 50 hotels in Sedona
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
All rooms include: Continental breakfast, fireplaces, whirlpool bathtub and remote-control TV. Some include balcony over Oak Creek!Initially built in 1972 as an art gallery, then totally refurbished and transformed in 1995,The Inn On Oak Creek perches on a bluff overlooking Oak Creek, Arizona's premier year-round spring-fed stream.Within easy walking distance are Sedona's best art galleries, boutique shops, several fine restaurants, and Tlaquepaque shopping village. Almost as close are National Forest trails that will take you to the heart of Red Rock Country. While Sedona offers many choices with accommodations, you will not find one with a better location, stunning views, and a quaintness like the Inn On Oak Creek!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
1770Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,631
  • 121
  • 17
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kyra C wrote a review Aug 7
1 contribution
We have stayed at The Inn Above Oak Creek a few times. Every time is perfection. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and property! My favorite place to stay in Sedona, for sure! We are definitely looking forward to our next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vacationgrl2010 wrote a review Jul 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota88 contributions66 helpful votes
We stayed in room 11 the first day of our trip. We wanted to stay in town one night to walk to dinner, galleries and shops, etc. Was also a perfect place to stay to do an early morning hike to Cathedral Rock. We loved this hotel - it was very clean, very quiet, the bed was comfortable, the view of the creek was lovely. The inn has a continental breakfast of fruit and breads and snacks ready to take with us on our hike. They even left us a bottle of wine for our anniversary. We were very impressed by this stay and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Moore, General Manager at The Inn Above Oak Creek
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are very happy that you got to enjoy what makes us -US! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope your anniversary was one for the books!!
Read more
Henry R wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions
We stayed here for a week in July. We feel it is possibly the best hotel we've stayed in. The location is nestled in a grove of trees right over Oak Creek in Sedona. It is a boutique hotel with a beautiful lobby opening out to an outdoor deck overlooking the creek. It is a small hotel with two floors. If you want a large hotel with a restaurant/bar and shops and room service this is not for you. If you want a beautiful room with peace and quiet and a great location, this is it. Take a look at other reviews and we think you'll be impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Moore, General Manager at The Inn Above Oak Creek
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the kind words Henry, it was wonderful to have you both with us!
Read more
Martha H wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
Why can't a hotel say they do not have an elevator on their website. Unfortunately some of us have mobility issues. Don't bother telling the person to check you in because she doesn't care. Hopefully the rest of our stay will be better than the initial visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Moore, General Manager at The Inn Above Oak Creek
Responded May 27, 2022
Hi Martha, I have double checked and we do not have an elevator listed under our hotel amenities and services but we have added the fact that we do not have an elevator, today, in order to make it crystal clear. For future reference, if you have any questions about a property or are uncertain about what is offered please feel free to call. We are always more than happy to answer any questions that you may have to ensure that we are a perfect fit for you. Most importantly though, I truly regret that you were made to feel that we do not care at check in. It's our goal to make all of our guests feel at home away from home. But after chatting with Kim C, I am glad you are considering returning and giving our first floor rooms a try! We are looking forward to having another chance at welcoming you!! Your friend at the inn, Kimberly
Read more
Miguel9128 wrote a review May 2022
Boston, MA70 contributions34 helpful votes
We recently stayed at the Inn for 3 nights while visiting Sedona and surrounding areas. The facilities are beautiful and so are the rooms. We had the pleasure of staying at room 7. The Inn itself is located right in the town of Sedona, walking distance to fabulous restaurants, shops, and all the major tour offices if you booked a sedona adventure. Parking is plentiful at the inn. As in previous reviews no need to drive around, just leave your car at the inn and walk around. A couple of things that you need to know when you stay at this facility (probably due to COVID). There is no maid/room service. No one is going to make your room while you are staying there. Also, there is a "continental breakfast" which feels more like an "airbnb experience" where you have full access to the Inn's kitchen (like when you stay at your friends place), help yourself, and grab the milk/the oj etc from the refrigerator. It was a little confusing to us at first but we quickly figured out where to find everything. In Sedona restaurants tend to serve you really large portions for an entree so we were able to take our leftover food back to the inn, microwave it and eat it comfortably in their patio dining area with no issues. The staff at the inn were nice and polite, they helped with recommendations when asked but not overtly engaging/friendly/welcoming as we have experienced at other inns where we have stayed at. Lastly, a word of caution for room 7 - if you are elderly, have unsteady gait/balance problems you may want to reconsider this room as entry to the shower/jacuzzi can be a little bit tricky. Overall it was a fabulous experience staying there and would stay there again if plans called again for Sedona. Perhaps room service will be back by the time I return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Moore, General Manager at The Inn Above Oak Creek
Responded May 23, 2022
Hi Ariza, We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and tips about our inn! This is a fantastic location for enjoying the heart of Sedona without the headache of dealing with traffic. I've talked to our staff about communicating better because we do offer daily housekeeping but it is by request only. We have since updated our Welcome Letter that all guests receive as well to hopefully make this clearer. Basically just put your hang tag out requesting housekeeping and we will make sure you are taken care of! We hope to see you again next time you are in Sedona!! Your friend at the inn, Kimberly
Read more
Tony C wrote a review May 2022
Imperial, Missouri3 contributions1 helpful vote
The Inn met all our expectations for a relaxing retreat. We had room 5 which has a porch overlooking Oak Creek. Nice deck and beautiful ground for taking in the scenery of Sedona. They offer a small but satisfying selection for breakfast that met our needs each day of the our trip. Even though Sedona can get crowded stepping into the Inn all the crowds disappeared and we felt like we were in a secluded country bed and breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Moore, General Manager at The Inn Above Oak Creek
Responded May 23, 2022
Hi Tony, We are very glad you were able to our quiet, ideal location. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again! Your friend at the inn, Kimberly
Read more
Guide590259 wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions39 helpful votes
The inn has a perfect location. You do NOT want to look for parking spaces in Sedona. Stay here and walk to town.....maybe one mile. (You did come here to hike :) Quiet location, situated above the river. Grounds are beautiful. Rooms are not luxurious but very nice..... so is the price :) Four stars for service ? Don't misunderstand....the staff...".hello Kim"....was great.! But the breakfast (included) was ......a little sparse. Explanation was....."the Covid situation".....understandable, but hopefully some sanity will soon prevail. Having stayed in Sedona several times.....I DO recommend this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Moore, General Manager at The Inn Above Oak Creek
Responded May 7, 2022
Thanks for the shout out! We are all so glad that you enjoyed much of what we have to offer...from the ideal location, beautiful grounds right on the creek to our comfortable rooms. Our continental breakfast is a 'work in progress' at the moment. We are exploring what we can serve without out cooking since we are not a bed & breakfast. Thank you for giving us a try and we can't wait to have you back next time you are in Sedona!!
Read more
TBDWorldTraveler wrote a review Apr 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania252 contributions166 helpful votes
Room (#10) was oddly designed and needed some love. Needs paint. Carpet is rippling. Loose tiles in the bathroom. Enormous jet tub is impractical and has a fire sprinkler inside the awkward shower area. My road-facing room was quiet enough to sleep, but I could hear every single car pass by. The room needs more table or desk space. The mattress was spectacular, though. Others have expressed concern about the communal space. I actually like this on hiking trips as you get to meet other adventurers. It didn't really matter this time, though, as the only thing I commonly saw downstairs were hummingbirds. The patio area is beautiful. They have a nice fireplace. Breakfast was subpar. Low-grade packaged breads, cereal, and OJ. It starts at 7:30, which is far too late for anyone who wants to get a parking spot at a trail. I say don’t bother. Location is excellent. Across the street from a very good Mexican restaurant and around the corner from a shopping area. You can walk to dinners from the hotel. The owners have rightly said that prices have gone up since the beforetimes. And my room was cheaper than most alternatives in Sedona. I could overlook the issues noted above, but premium prices should come with higher quality. Just because other hotels have increased prices by 20-40% doesn’t mean that this hotel is worth the same increase as-is. The owners could put this $ back in to the hotel, but clearly aren't. Overall, this is a decent but significantly overpriced place to stay. I’d stay here again for a lower rate, but it definitely isn't worth what they're currently asking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Moore, General Manager at The Inn Above Oak Creek
Responded May 6, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn, TBD WorldTraveler! The inn was recently sold, and it took me a minute to get the TripAdvisor account switched over. My apologies for the delay in responding. I would like to take a minute to introduce myself since the Inn is under new ownership, and I am now the General Manager. I've been at the Inn since January of 2014 and have been managing it as the live-in innkeeper for the last 3 years. Many just know me as Kimberly. I wish we could have chatted while you were here, but I will take this opportunity to acknowledge your comments, TBD WorldTraveler, and advise that the new owners do have plans to make some enhancements and address any needs. As we all know, it’s been a tough couple of years. Sedona is more popular than ever and rates- even before inflation set in - were increasing at lightning speed. For the time you came, I looked at rates of other comparable hotels (not the resorts). Most were priced in the $400 range which is almost double what we were charging for your room. In no way am I disputing your frustration; I am simply saying that Sedona has changed in regards to pricing. When compared with other comparable hotels, we still feel like we are providing a great value for our quaint property that, as you mention, is in an excellent location. Regarding the room and the design of it, I am actually surprised to hear this. In the last 5 years, we have had hundreds of guests stay in that room and this is the first I have heard of this. I am sorry you did not like the design of the room. Since lots of changes are in the works, we will be looking at our continental breakfast and what we can do to improve it. We welcome suggestions and are always happy to make accommodations for early risers. If you let us know your plans, we can give you a tour of where everything you need 'lives' and show you how you can make yourself at home away from home. We appreciate your feedback and will endeavor to better convey this message to our guests. Finally, I'm really glad to hear that, despite being on the roadside, you were able to get a comfortable night’s sleep, TBD WorldTraveler. Sedona is an “early to bed early to rise” hikers’ town so it does quiet down a lot after the dinner rush. If you are a light sleeper or simply craving the serene setting Oak Creek is known and loved for, our Creekside rooms are for you. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
Read more
lajesi wrote a review Apr 2022
York, Pennsylvania6 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything about our stay was perfect. First, the property is absolutely beautiful. The location is ideal. We loved that we could walk to shopping and restaurants. Next, Kimberly , the Innkeeper, is so kind and helpful. I saved the best for last…room 12 was FABULOUS! We’ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
momto3longisland wrote a review Apr 2022
South Farmingdale, New York220 contributions127 helpful votes
Loved this little Inn. It was quaint and so peaceful with the creek in back and all the finches and hummingbird’s in the back. Breakfast is simple but it’s good enough to put a little something in your stomach before you head out. Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn on oak creek hotel sedona
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaSedona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn Above Oak Creek
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn Above Oak Creek?
Nearby attractions include Trailhead Tea (0.3 miles), The Hike House (0.1 miles), and Exposures International Gallery of Fine Art (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn Above Oak Creek?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn Above Oak Creek?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn Above Oak Creek?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn Above Oak Creek?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn Above Oak Creek?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pump House Station, The Hudson, and Dellepiane.
Is The Inn Above Oak Creek located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Sedona.
Does The Inn Above Oak Creek have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Inn Above Oak Creek accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.