We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat

Save
Share
3500 E Bill Gray Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-9186
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (79)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 02/28/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat
Updated 02/28/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#43 of 50 hotels in Sedona
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat, located in the Red Rocks of Arizona, is owned and operated by Tao Fellowship, a 501 (c)3 non-denominational “non-profit” organization. The center was created to share the timeless principles and spiritual practices of ancient wisdom and tradition of SunTao. Combined with modern teachings of energy healing and personal development, retreats at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat provide paths and environments for your holistic healing and self-realization.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Hiking
Walking tours
Conference facilities
Internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Yoga room
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Korean

Location

Full view
Contact
3500 E Bill Gray Rd, Sedona, AZ 86336-9186
Getting there
Pulliam Field25 miSee all flights
Prescott Airport30 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
71Reviews3Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 53
  • 9
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Heather Joan H wrote a review Jun 2021
San Diego, California3 contributions
Mago Garden is settled on sacred land on Sedona's energy vortexes. It is a quiet and beautiful place to reconnect with nature by walking the healing lake and garden in the middle of the Red Rocks and a beautiful view of the hills. There is healthy, freshly grown foods and fresh eggs for breakfast as well as gluten-free and vegan options upon request. The rooms are simple and all you need. There are no phones in the rooms but there is a community room with computer access. There are healing retreats (for singles, groups, and more), yoga and guided meditation and holistic healers on site for you to plan a stay! I love to visit at least once or more times a year! The weather can change so bring layers and a bathing suit to swim in the pool or enjoy the hot tub!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
parkemb wrote a review Mar 2020
Covington, Washington93 contributions23 helpful votes
Sedona Mago is a vast property placed far out in the Sedona desert amongst the beautiful red rocks and mountain scenery. This is spiritually charged environment, ran by the Tao followers of Iichi Lee. Which is Korean based and has its own style of mindful practices. Finding materials or itinerary to your program will be difficult as everyone is asked not to share the practices. We won’t use the word SECRET, but perhaps sacred. The intent is to keep biases minimal and minds open... there is practices of energy healing and motion. Which is advertised on their site. The idea of working on the deepest self (which can be intense and exhausting) is a core belief here. Food is vegetarian or pescatarian, honestly I think it was one of the best parts. I was never wanting for meat, but perhaps a cocktail or two would’ve been nice. It is a alcohol free environment. Housing is minimalist and eco minded. You will have a place to sleep and the basics, but not pampering style that a nice hotel would offer. The drive is mildly wash board and honestly not that bad. There is plenty to do in a slower pace kind of way, vortexes, pool, walking trails, meditation gardens, classes, and Sedona and neighboring towns are close enough it’s practical.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Victoria Z wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution5 helpful votes
I vacationed in Sedona three times before with my family and loved it every time. In September, my daughter-in-law gave me the book “The Call to Sedona” by Ilchi Lee. I had just retired and wanted inspiration for the next phase of my life. After finishing the book, I had ‘the call” to Mago. I felt it was something I had to experience by myself. I registered for the Full Moon Mediation in October, booked my flight, and reserved a seat on the Groome Shuttle from Phoenix to Mago. I was prepared for the 10-mile bumpy entry-road to Mago after reading the reviews. However, my knowledgeable shuttle driver, Pete, filled the ride with historical and present-day insights. Before I knew it, I arrived at the Welcome Center, asked for a hair dryer and teapot at the desk and walked to my casita. Red rocks, red soil, a red adobe casita with a fig tree growing in front of it was home for the next five days. I would have been happy to sleep on the chair outside, that’s how good it felt to be there. Once inside, I did a 360 taking in the cleanliness, colorful bedding, a red plush sofa, a fridge, and NO TV. I dropped my bags on the tiled floor and praised myself for having the desire, courage, and health to make this trip from New Jersey. I arrived three days before the Full Moon Mediation. I never felt lonely. I felt like the staff members looked after me. Kristi befriended me, read my aura, and made me feel at home. Allen and Keith taught the 8:00 am complimentary Energy Movement classes outside and introduced me to the TAO Way of Life. Master Han Myung guided and comforted me through the Balancing and Healing Chakra session which was emotional and transformational. I’ve had plenty of Chakrah sessions prior to Mago, but they were “child’s play” compared to the blocked energy released under Han Myung’s healing hands. In my free time, I walked and hiked a fraction of Mago’s 178 acres while enjoying the warmth of the sun and the view of the mountains. I walked the labyrinth barefooted, I swam laps in the pool and relaxed in the hot tub. I meditated under the willow tree at the Healing Garden. I did all this and more before the Full Moon Retreat even began! These activities worked up an appetite. Hannah, Dining Room Manager, nourished me with conversation and some extra fruit for a back-in-my-room-by-myself evening snack. (Hope she doesn’t get in trouble for this.) The Full Moon Meditation participants came from all over the United States. Led by Han Myung, she gently nudged us to the “big reveal.” We discovered that we wanted inspiration and healing from the experience. When the Full Moon peaked, it cast a heavenly glow over us, capturing the oneness with all creation. My message from the moon? “Be lighthearted and don’t take yourself so seriously. Laugh at yourself more.” Within two hours, I got a chance to try that out when I misplaced my room key. Usually, I would experience anxiety over something like that. Not this time, I’m sure the Night Manager who brought me a new key wasn’t laughing, but I smiled, looked up, and whispered “Thank you, Moon.” Before the Full Moon Meditation, we walked the “120 Steps” based on Ilchi Lee’s book “I’ve Decided to Live to 120.” If you don’t do this, it would be like going to Paris and bypassing the Eiffel Tower. Except in this case, you’d be missing a glimpse of your own life, past and future. It’s vital to stay in the present, or certain years of your life might just vanish. Did my trip to Mago inspire me for the next phase of my life? Was I healed? I just scratched the surface, but I know I came home happy. Taking the advice of Ilchi Lee’s words, I asked my soul for the purpose of my life. I GOT AN ANSWER! It’s almost too good to be true, so I’m not telling yet. I signed up for the live online membership classes with the AMAZING Ian Martin (twice a week) to keep my connection strong until I return to that heavenly place on Earth called Mago. For those reading this, consider yourself blessed if you get the “Call to Sedona.”
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Karina wrote a review Oct 2019
Albuquerque, New Mexico14 contributions11 helpful votes
The weekend there was wonderful. The place is gorgeous, and the food is always healthy and amazingly tasty. Everyone I met there was super friendly and the store sells beautiful things. I can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
SMR0323 wrote a review Apr 2019
Escondido, California23 contributions7 helpful votes
Incredible experience. 10 miles of dirt road is easy and worth it. it will absolutely beautiful location with the best sunrises and sunsets you can imagine. Staff was incredible, the rooms were beautiful, and the hiking trails and Labrinth’s were amazing. We only staying two nights but wish We had time for more. Each day starts with a beautiful sunrise in the guided meditation led by Amy who was absolutely inspiring. Stay including meals a day and the food was as good as it gets I love Riley there’s more than I expected. The chefs are Jaslie know how to please. The healing Garden Lake is so peaceful . Experience was so inspired that we will go back year after year and enjoy online webinars with Margot on a regular basis. If you go anywhere in Arizona Mago Retreat should be at top choice. I just retired and Mago feel like I have a whole new life begins. If you’re looking for your truly spiritual experience head out of town from Sedona to Mago Retreat, it will change your life
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IanMartinMago, Manager at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat
Responded Aug 12, 2019
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you had a great time and everything was good for you! We are continuously working to keep improving our dining, amenities, and locations on property. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
cineplex wrote a review Apr 2019
Winnipeg, Canada14 contributions9 helpful votes
I attended for a yoga-cleanse retreat, This was a disaster form the first attempt at booking...lots of incorrect information. I was told there were no available rooms for the night before the retreat so I- with much difficulty - booked a room in the nearest town. Because of this, I would not able to use their shuttle to the retreat ($100 cab ride). On a subsequent phone call for specific directions to their location (very secretive), I was told there were lots of rooms available! So I cancelled my previous arrangements (with a cancellation fee) and booked with them. The yoga -cleanse was not as advertised. One reason I picked this retreat is that it promised individual health assessments at the beginning and end and individualized suggestions for health. No individual attention - except for 1 person! I was told it was because she came from England to attend (she was American). The retreat leader did not give much information and even tho we had a daily Q&A, most answers were, "We will get to that"...but never did. I waited days for the yoga to begin-and asked - not answered. Another participant told me we were doing yoga but it was a different kind. This was perhaps 15 - 30 minutes per day. Instructions to meeting places were not clear. This place is large and it would have been better to meet at a central location and walk together. One day the instructor told us were were meeting at a certain location. She changed the location after I left and I wandered looking for them, returned to the office and the instructor had not posted the meeting place with them, wandered some more, got a lift with a landscape crew in a golf cart who drove me around until they were found. Missed most of that event. Considering you are in the midst of a desert, the whole artificial lake and surrounding flora are out of place. The swimming pool was never open. The food was only okay but we did not eat most of the days as we were doing a cleanse...still paid for food. Mealtimes...usually a social time, are silent. They should tell you that this center is connected to a person they follow and to a particular philosophy (including their own style of yoga). At the least, you could research this before attending and be more tuned in if you decide to attend. Most of the people in my group were already devotees for this person or belonged to groups in their city that followed this philosophy. This meant they already knew what to do...for those of us who didn't, there was not enough information or instruction. This was a high stress retreat!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Departure772284 wrote a review Jan 2019
4 contributions3 helpful votes
An amazing experience of calm, rest, and beauty. The food is very heathy. The spiritual philosophical overtones is of the highest of human experiences. If you need a break from this over- stimulating world, Mago retreat center is not to be missed. Your heart will thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dr. Angg wrote a review Nov 2018
Upper Marlboro, Maryland50 contributions26 helpful votes
I attended a Integrative Medicine and Nutrition retreat for mental health providers retreat in September and had a great time! The weather was awesome between and sessions I had a chance to walks around the property. The center has a outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, man made waterfalls, labyrinth, healing vortex locations, healing garden and much more. They don't have an on-site spa but they were able to bring massage therapist from a local spa in the area. Most of all, it was wonderful to have access to delicious healthy foods. I had a chance to try some new dishes to add to my list of food to try to duplicate. The food service staff was professional and quite friendly. The water supply was plentiful so make sure you bring your own refillable bottle. My room was clean, comfortable and spacious. No TV (hence the word "retreat) in the room and spotty internet (better in the registration building/Mago Store and meeting rooms. Remember that this place is located in the desert so if you're a city person like me, you might be a bit anxious walking the property. My fellow attendees had stories of seeing a pig (that really was a huge rodent LOL), tarantulas, snakes and bats. Also don't forget to bring a flashlight because it gets very dark at night. In spite of it all, I would definitely go back. I highly recommend this location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IanMartinMago, Instructor at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat
Responded Aug 12, 2019
Hello! We are so excited to hear you had a great time here for the Integrative Medicine and Nutrition retreat! Your group was a pleasure to have, and we are constantly working to improve and maintain our facility and the sincerity we all feel here, so you can keep having meaningful times here. We hope to see you again sometime!
Read more
IndyMomma wrote a review Sep 2018
Washington419 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
This is a hidden gem. At 1st driving down the 10 mile dirt road was a little nerve wracking it’s very secluded. Once at the resort it is absolutely stunning. 150 acres of magnificence. Water falls, vortex’s, ponds, meditation areas, healing rocks, inspirational signs, excellent food, simple cozy rooms, a pool, massage, plenty of different walking trails. This is definitely a place to get in touch with yourself again. Their are no TVs in the rooms however there is WiFi and a 24 hour lobby with computers, books, tea, water and a great couch to relax. You won’t be disappointed staying here..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IanMartinMago, Instructor at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat
Responded Aug 12, 2019
Hi Mindy! Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you were able to experience all of the natural sites on property. We hope we can give others a memorable experience like we did for you! We hope to see you soon!
Read more
danihawk wrote a review Jul 2018
New York City, New York179 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
I was very excited to visit Mago Retreat through my yoga center, but also a little nervous since I had never gone on a retreat before and being from the East Coast it was hard to imagine being so far out in the desert. All of my worries were unfounded and I had an amazing time during my visit in June 2018. The property is very well maintained and I'm sure it will be even more beautiful on my next visit since there were lots of landscaping projects going on. I stayed in one of the newer casitas with another woman from my center and it was perfectly clean and comfortable for both of us. I'm admittedly a pretty high maintenance traveler and the shower and bed were comfortable, and there was plenty of shelves and drawers to unpack. The best part was getting up in the morning and exploring the property-it was possible to do so without running into anyone and watching the sun rise over the red rocks was really powerful. Everyone who works at the retreat is lovely and the food is truly outstanding. There were plenty of options at every meal and everything I had was delicious. One of the people working there told me they're making a cookbook and I will be first on the list to buy it, although I think the fresh ingredients they use are a big part of what makes the food so special. The only negative of my entire stay was that I clumsily knocked down our shower curtain and I had to contact the front desk a couple of times to get it fixed. There's no maintenance people on-site after around 7pm so if you haven't any issues after that you're out of luck until at least 8am the next day. If you're looking for a place to truly unwind and connect with the beauty of the desert I highly recommend Sedona Mago Retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaSedona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Honanki (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sedona Mago Center for Well-being and Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Korean.