We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Save
Share
16770 N Perimeter Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85260-1007
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Marriott Hotels
$259
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/29/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 5 left at
$259
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/29/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Etrip
$211
View deal
Orbitz.com
Booking.com$259
travelup.com$282
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (263)
Room & Suite (88)
Pool & Beach (17)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 04/29/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Updated 04/29/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#25 of 93 hotels in Scottsdale
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Travel brilliantly while enjoying all the comforts of the Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains. Our hotel is located minutes away from well known attractions in Arizona, including WestWorld of Scottsdale, TPC Scottsdale and Old Town Scottsdale; as well as world-class shopping and dining at Kierland Commons and Scottsdale Fashion Square.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
693Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 344
  • 243
  • 84
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sally S wrote a review Sep 20
glorious Midwest99 contributions44 helpful votes
Well situated for our next-day trip to Flagstaff, on the north end of Scottsdale. Clearly an older Marriott that apparently was due for refurbishing before COVID. So if you can handle a less than updated decor (think the sponged walls of 1990 and earth tones palette), it's clean and totally functional, with a nice pool, large bar/restaurant area, and patio seating. We got a great deal and found it just fine for our one-night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded 5 days ago
Dear sallysW3955BY, Thank you for all of the excellent comments in your review. Although we strive to make your stay a complete success, we appreciate the constructive feedback as we try to deliver a first-rate experience to all of our guests. Having said that, please accept our apology for not fully meeting your expectations during this visit. While we are awaiting our upcoming remodel, our goal is still to provide the finest in service for our guests. Thank you again, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Donalei Smith Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer C. wrote a review Jul 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota117 contributions74 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I first stayed at this resort in February for the weekend and went back recently. I'm not sure if all the rooms are suites, but both times I've stayed I've been in a king suite, on the first level, just near the pool. I like this resort, because it's close to great restaurants, shopping, hiking and is near the freeway for access to other parts of the valley. The rooms are a bit outdated, but they are still comfortable, the staff very kind my few days here were quite relaxing! I would stay again on a future visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded Jul 31, 2022
Dear jkcarnah, Thank you for returning to Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains. We are happy your overall stay was good, and you liked our friendly staff, accommodations, and convenient location. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we appreciate you for sharing that you will be returning in the future. It will be our pleasure to host you again. Sincerely, Donalei Smith Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asolas wrote a review Sep 7
Phoenix, Arizona45 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We’re here as I write this and our room overlooks the pool and the TPC golf course. However, at the same time it’s directly in the flight path of Scottsdale airport. All day and during the night you can hear either the Lear Jets, corporate jets, etc taking flying in or idling for take off. At first it’s interesting but after awhile you just want some quiet. The food in the restaurant is very good, the servers are really friendly. The valet service we had was so nice and always ready for us. Housekeeping is a big downfall. We came back to our room and our door was left ajar and the only thing that was done was making our bed. We had no extra towels or anything and we skip a day of service since everyone is so short staffed. The grounds are kept up nicely because it is seen from the golf course. If you need a place for a business stay or you’re passing through this is a great place to stay. The pool area needs some work and our personal patio probably hasn’t been cleaned in months. The service is better than some of the five star resorts we’ve stayed recently.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear SRH_60, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad you chose us for your visit, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our hospitality. However, we hope you will accept our apologies for the noise concerns due to the airport's flight paths. While we know this cannot change your recent experience with us, please know for future visits, our front desk is available at any hour to help make you as comfortable as possible. Furthermore, Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings in your room. Guest comfort and satisfaction are a top priority for us; therefore, we regret knowing this was not your experience. We have escalated these issues to the appropriate departments. We are grateful for your patience and all your comments, and we look forward to another opportunity to prove our commitment to service excellence. Sincerely, Donalei Smith Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RoyalSilk wrote a review Sep 4
Edgware, United Kingdom262 contributions138 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for two nights. There was a problem with check in when our room was not available till 4pm despite Marriott Bonvoy emailing me the day before to select a check time (I selected 2pm)! This caused unnecessary frustration. Our original room had a view over the car park and the front desk agent, Zain, was excellent in reassigning us a room with a very decent view instead. This was much appreciated. Always ask. Other aspects of the service were below par however. I had to wait over 30 minutes for an ironing board to be delivered to the room, to replace a ridiculous (and IMHO, dangerous) table top model which collapsed each time I tried to use it. The UHT pots of milk in the room had also gone off and I needed to order more. We wanted to switch off the aircon in the room at night, partly on account of it being very noisy and also that it blows cold air in your face in bed (for some reason the compressor is in the bedroom part of the suite, not the lounge part). However we could not switch this off (there isn't an off switch). The maintenance man suggested we simply set the thermostat as high as possible to prevent it coming on. A bit weird. So all in, a curate's egg - some parts excellent others well below expectation. Tip is to avoid a room in the north wing - it looks over the car park but to ask for a room in the west or south wings which look over the golf course and pool area. Notwithstanding the above, the room was very comfortable if in need of updating - I understand this is planned for summer 2023 throughout the hotel. The clientele at these places is however of a certain age and would probably be content with the eighties decor for the present. The common areas of the hotel were, as you'd expect, of a high standard including the pool area. So overall, a mixed bag.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the north wing unless you want to look out over the car park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear RoyalSilk, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize that your room was not ready upon your arrival and for the frustration this caused. We are also sorry for the air conditioning issue you experienced and for not providing the exceptional stay you deserve. We want our guests to see our dedication in everything we do; therefore, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations with our service. Your feedback is valuable to us and has been addressed with the appropriate individuals to ensure we are well-poised to serve you in the future. Thank you again for being loyal to our brand; we hope you will allow us a second chance to restore your confidence in us. Sincerely, Donalei Smith Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
defs76 wrote a review Jul 2022
arizona48 contributions18 helpful votes
We checked in July 2. The front desk staff were friendly and offered us coupons to the WestWorld Fireworks. Our room was on the West Wing and was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed for a nice stay. Breakfast was delicious and the service was great. We did not use the pool but the fitness room was well-equipped. We enjoyed our stay and will return as well as recommend to friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded Jul 8, 2022
Dear defs76, Thank you for your nice review and for recommending us to future travelers. It was a pleasure reading about the excellent service you received from our team, especially the front desk associates. We are also glad your room provided the comforts you expected and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet as well. We will be happy to host you again at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains. Sincerely, Brandy Staab Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YYCGent wrote a review Jul 2022
Calgary, Canada509 contributions191 helpful votes
This was our first visit to this resort. Check in was great and while we were acknowledged as Titanium members, we didn’t receive a room upgrade which was a bit disappointing as there were rooms available. Our room was comfortable. The decor is dated and there were some tears in the blackout blinds. The pillows were a bit hard, and the water pressure in the shower was pretty bad. However, we were there for a short low-key, relaxing vacation, so for our purposes it did us just fine. The pool was really nice. Good size, lots of towels and chairs. Alexis served us at the pool a few times and was great. The fitness centre is well equipped but the lack of proper air conditioning really impacted the ability to workout (which was strange because the common areas inside the hotel were very well air conditioned). Ultimately it was too hot in the gym to work out every day. The lounge had a great breakfast and we really enjoyed the patio and eggs Benedict. Our server, Sue was amazing - so friendly, knowledgeable and kind. Overall a good visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded Jul 8, 2022
Dear YYCGent, Thank you for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy member and for being our guest. We appreciate your feedback and letting us know that your overall stay with us was satisfactory and that you particularly enjoyed our breakfast and the pool. It is also pleasing to read that you liked our associates, especially Alexis and Sue. However, we apologize for the issues you encountered with your accommodations and the air conditioning issues with the fitness center. We will share your concerns appropriately to ensure a much better guest experience. We are grateful for your patience, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sincerely, Brandy Staab Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WhaleDriver wrote a review Jul 2022
Kirkland, Arizona27 contributions14 helpful votes
The first room we checked into, a north-side mini-suite with a “private” courtyard, was a disaster: the room smelled soooo bad, we had to move. The second room — also a mini-suite — was nice, clean, and much better smelling. The bar poured good drinks, but the candied cherries used were terrible, a small matter. Good staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The “private patio” of the north side rooms was a decorative cinder block area that impeded the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear 747Whaledriver, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel; we are delighted you had a great stay. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our cordial service, amazing bar, and comfortable accommodations. While we are glad your concerns were resolved, we are still sorry about the inconvenience you experienced due to the issues with the initial room. Thank you once more for choosing Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains, and we look forward to your return. Sincerely, Brandy Staab Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AMarie525 wrote a review May 2022
Oakmont, Pennsylvania187 contributions85 helpful votes
Friendly front desk service and valet too. Most of my time for my one night stay was spent at the fabulous and relaxing pool. Lots of chairs and umbrellas plus they provide beach towels for the guests. The fitness center is located on the same level and you can refill your water bottles and use the rest rooms. Food at the restaurants was just ok but the service was fast and friendly. Quick drive from the Phoenix Airport.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ground Level
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded May 10, 2022
Dear AMarie525, Thank you for being our guest at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains. We are pleased you had a comfortable one-night stay and our location was perfect for your needs and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our pool. Your compliments about our front desk and valet staff are much appreciated. We value your feedback and hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you our way. Sincerely, Brandy Staab Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dneuburger wrote a review Mar 2022
352 contributions151 helpful votes
Let me begin by saying the front desk staff is very good and service oriented but there isn’t much I can say that’s good otherwise. When I was dropped off at the hotel entrance, the bellman rudely told me I couldn’t leave my bags there. Umm, I’m just checking in dude. Where am I supposed to put my bags if not at the entrance. I thought the food was pretty good on-site at the hotel restaurant which prompted me to order the same dishes for breakfast and lunch the following day. The day two meals were just not good. For example if I order a side order of bacon I don’t expect it to literally come out cold. Not room temp. Cold! The room was ok but none of the four outlets in my bathroom worked and the fan for heat/AC blows right into you as you lay in bed. The shower features two temps: “too cold for a penguin” or “hot enough to steam mussels”. I felt like Goldilocks as I just couldn’t get it right. If you have kids, there is a pool. Decent size. If you don’t have kids but want to hang out poolside with lots of screaming kids please check out the pool. I don’t mean to sound so negative but I’ve been a Marriott Platinum level rewards guest for many years and this hotel was not up to par. There are better places to stay in the Scottsdale area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Dear Dneuburger, We appreciate your loyalty as Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite Member; We regret not exceeding your expectations. Our hotel is known for its careful attention to detail and outstanding service; therefore, we apologize that this was not your experience and regret the inconvenience by our staff and the AC unit in the room. Your comments will be shared with our team to ensure we focus on preventing such mistakes going forward. We hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to regain your trust. Sincerely, Brandy Staab Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stuart L wrote a review Mar 2022
troy, United States2 contributions
My wife and I spent four days at this hotel. The manager Jason is an outstanding person and he took very good care of us when housekeeping dropped the ball at the beginning of our stay. The hotel has nice views, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hotel is due for an upgrade, but it is still nice. The hotel is kind of pricey in the spring, but hotel prices have really shot up everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Responded Mar 28, 2022
Dear Stuart L, Thank you for staying with us and also for the excellent review. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed the excellent service by Jason. We will share the compliments with him. We hope to see you again soon, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Sincerely, Brandy Staab Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scottsdale marriott at mcdowell mountains hotel scottsdale, marriott mcdowell mountains, marriott scottsdale
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaScottsdaleNorth Scottsdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
266
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Which popular attractions are close to Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Nearby attractions include The Promenade (0.6 miles), WestWorld of Scottsdale (0.5 miles), and AZ on the Rocks (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toro Latin Restaurant & Rum Bar, O.H.S.O. Eatery + Distillery, and Twin Peaks Scottsdale.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cosanti (5.5 miles).