We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale

6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
32 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1713)
Room & Suite (390)
Dining (133)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Updated 04/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#28 of 87 hotels in Scottsdale
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Capture the moment as well as your imagination. Immerse yourself in contemporary elegance of The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale. A distinctive lifestyle experience, The Phoenician, located in Scottsdale, Arizona, invites you to soak in the splendor of unparalleled resort amenities, from our our three-level pool complex to our enriching spa, athletic club and golf course. Settle into palatial guest rooms, suites or casitas, featuring spacious bathrooms, Italian linens, elegant furnishings and breathtaking Sonora views. Your palate will thank you when you savor the cuisine found in any one of eight dining venues, including the classic J&G Steakhouse and laid-back Mowry & Cotton. In Scottsdale on business? Explore our 160,000 square feet of indoor/outdoor event space for your conference or special occasion. Then, discover the vibrant entertainment, shopping and cultural districts of nearby Old Town Scottsdale. Relax in style at The Phoenician, the premier luxury hotel in Scottsdale, AZ.
Read more
Property amenities
Coffee shop
Snack bar
Conference facilities
Photo copier / fax In business center
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Body wrap
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Separate living room
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Good to know
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
2956Reviews80Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,829
  • 601
  • 257
  • 138
  • 131
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dad2Twins1969 wrote a review Jan 8
Signal Mountain, Tennessee20 contributions32 helpful votes
This is my third time here. Love to come here in the winter time. What a wonderful property. Great spa. Great pool. The food is top notch too. Great experience. Highly recommend. Golf is great too. Love to get up with the sunrise in the AM great views and have a glass of wine at Thirsty Camel bar around fire table.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Dad2Twins1969, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale. We are pleased to read how happy you were with our property, spa, pool, and delicious food. Providing an exceptional stay to every guest is what we strive for every day. We hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable visit. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
jaizee wrote a review Jan 4
San Francisco, California103 contributions146 helpful votes
The Phoenician is a large resort - my expectations were not high and I have to say we really enjoyed our time here. The rooms are not “new” or stylish, but I had nothing to complain about in terms of cleanliness or “worn out” furniture. We did have a very large room (Executive Suite) and I did not feel like there was enough furniture to fill the room up adequately but the bed was comfortable and there was so much space for my family (2 adults, 2 kids). Our room did not have a great view - looked out onto a concrete structure - we were trying to decide if we wanted to ask for a better view but looking at the layout of the hotel, it seems like many of the rooms do NOT have a view. I can see how this could be very disappointing to some people and while it would have been really nice, ultimately it didn’t affect our overall enjoyment. One additional quirk was there was a cricket stuck between the walls (we spied an antenna) who was pretty loud at night. We did not get the staff to do anything about it because we didn’t want them to spray chemicals near where our kids were sleeping. We were there at a busy time of year - the biggest issue with that was that every morning when we tried to get breakfast at the main restaurant, Mowry and Cotton, there was a very long wait. And the restaurant staff definitely seemed a bit overwhelmed. One of the best things about the resort was the pool scene. Plenty of chairs such that I didn’t feel the need to ever fight for a spot. More importantly, the staff at the pool was the best. Our favorite was Gennaro (I am so sorry but I probably have his name wrong - it starts with a G though. He was really great and memorable but it’s been over a month since we stayed and I am not good with names!). Literally as soon as you sit down they bring you a pitcher of ice water and replenish throughout the day. Additionally I think the pool menu is much better and more inventive than the usual pool menu at other resorts. I read some people complain about the music by the pool but I liked it. I would be the first to complain if it was too loud but I never found that to be the case and I liked the soundtrack. We also loved utilizing the pickleball/basketball/tennis courts. Easy to get court reservations even at this busy time of year and easy to borrow equipment. It’s a great amenity. Finally, we had dinner one night at J&G and enjoyed it immensely - the views are spectacular and the food was so good. (We hadn’t planned ahead and didn’t know anything about the restaurant beforehand - the concierge booked the table for us on our first day of our stay). Overall, we had a really nice experience here - I am surprised to say that we want to go back already!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jaizee, Thank you for your wonderful review and for all the wonderful things that you had to say about The Phoenician. We are delighted that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed our contemporary, elegant rooms and the amenities we offer, including the pool. It was a pleasure to read that our pool staff took excellent care of you. We will be happy to pass on your compliments to the associate you mentioned. We are also pleased that your experience at our in-house restaurant, J&G Steakhouse was fantastic and that you enjoyed our delicious menu. However, we do want to apologize for the wait times at the breakfast. During busy travel times, it can get a bit crowded. We appreciate all of your feedback, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Denise Seomin, Director of Public Relations
Read more
Anish S wrote a review Jan 2
Chicago, Illinois708 contributions246 helpful votes
As you can read from the other reviews and blogs, this is an incredible resort with an amazing backdrop of the camelback mountain. From the lobby to the hotel grounds to the golf course, the property is beautiful. Not to mention the gym, which looks amazing. Rather than concentrating on all those positives, I'll highlight the few negatives we came across during our 4 night stay at the resort. 1. The biggest frustration for us was the self-park garage. The garage is attached to the hotel so getting from the room to the car wasn't an issue (though you do have to take a different elevator). The issue was getting in and out of the garage itself. You have to swipe your room key card to open the gate. However, 95% of the time the gate did not open. Coming in, this was rectified by pulling a ticket. On the way out though, you had to call for help so they could remotely open the gate. It's really weird to have such broken technology for a resort of its class, not to mention the fact that each room is $500+ per night. Either fix it so guests are not troubled with this nuisance, or just leave the gate permanently open. 2. You could see some wear and tear in the room hallways and the bedrooms themselves. They should spend a bit of time making the hallways and the bedrooms look just as nice as the lobby and the grounds. The rooms have a marriott look and feel and smell to them. Which I would not have expected. 3. Resort offers free beer tasting every day at 11 AM. This was a very weird experience for us. The first day the bartender offered all 3 beers but only to those that showed up at 11 AM, not any later. The next day, the bartender/manager stated that the beer tasting is only for one beer, not all beers. What kind of beer tasting is this. My family and I assumed this was a normal beer tasting where you get to try multiple beers on tap, hence we sat down at the bar looking to enjoy the experience. However, after we were served the beer, the bartender/manager were whispering to each other and it was obvious they were talking about us (based on how they kept using their eyes to point at us). 4. The pools have 2 hot tubs. One upstairs by the main pool and the 2nd on the lower level. The hot tub up top was always full given it's the most convenient. Unfortunately the hot tub downstairs had the heater broken so the water would be luke warm at best. It's unfortunately that a hot tub cannot be heated during the winter months - hopefully they fixed that quickly. 5. While certainly not something a hotel is required to provide but we wished there were more vegetarian options for the pool menu. The online menu shows more veg options but apparently that's outdated as the menu we were given in person has limited veg options (which was confirmed when we questioned the lack of options with the bar manager). Everything else was amazing at the hotel. The service (except for what i mentioned was great as well). A special shoutout to concierge, especially Rebecca who responded to every email of mine and always provided the right suggestion/recommendation for dinner and for hikes. She was def. integral in ensuring a successful and enjoyable vacation. For families, this is a wonderful resort and a very comfortable stay with spacious rooms and large pools.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 581anishs, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at The Phoenician. We are glad you had an overall satisfactory stay and appreciated our beautiful property and the great service you received from our staff, especially Rebecca. However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations and we apologize for the concerns you had with our parking and accommodations. We also regret any inconvenience you experienced with our hot tub. We will take this up with the appropriate individuals to improve going forward. We are grateful for all your feedback and hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
Morris C wrote a review Dec 2021
Cedartown, Georgia89 contributions23 helpful votes
We spent two nights here after a conference at the Westin to unwind and just relax. Amamazing property and staff. Highly recommend. Awesome pool area, great dining options, and a friendly, hard working staff. Will return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear morris c, Thank you for taking the time to share that your stay at The Phoenician was perfect in every way. It is rewarding to know you were impressed not only with our well-maintained property and exceptional hospitality but also with our excellent dining options. We are also glad you could take advantage of our pool area. Your recommendation is appreciated, and we love knowing you plan to return. Sincerely, Denise Seomin, Director of Public Relations
Read more
MsHellfire wrote a review Dec 2021
United States306 contributions439 helpful votes
Booked this trip based on a superb experience staying in February and decided it would be a perfect one stop shop experience for Christmas. Unfortunately the flawless stay last time was not replicated this time but I still enjoyed this property more than JW Marriott Camelback. Found it very difficult to book in for afternoon tea even trying well in advance. Managed to get the Bonvoy ambassador team to help me. Struggled even more to get a reservation at J&G steakhouse which was a frustrating and lengthy endeavor and I eventually found out that the restaurant was not only closed the night I wanted to dine there but the ONLY place I could have dinner was Mowry & Cotton. So much for my one stop shop resort full of options. With less than a month to go before my stay the hair salon rang me to advise they were cancelling my hair appointment because they were closing for an indefinite period of time. Check in: very easy experience. For Ambassador status I was afforded a small upgrade. Unfortunately sun didn’t seem to hit the balcony at any period of the day which was in stark contrast to my previous stay. $37 breakfast credit which could be used towards a la carte and buffet options. Room was ready early - was great to be able to drop my things in the room before the spa treatment. Room: well sized basic room. I liked that there was a bathtub but it wasn’t a large one and due to the shape and size was not really conducive to soaking. Toiletries were Byredo. Bottles of water were supplied and re-stocked throughout stay. Housekeeping came daily and for turndown also. Spa: last time was flawless but not so this time though treatments and therapists were very good. One of the reception staff was antagonizing and impatient when I was asking questions of her. The spa attendant during my first visit could not have been more unfriendly and unhelpful. Attendants were nowhere to be found when I needed them during the first visit and restroom by the relaxation area was out of paper towels for the four hours of treatments. Second visit no one was rude or unhelpful but at the salon the nail file sliced into several layers of my skin and cut me which was uncomfortable. Third visit during my stay was very good with different spa attendants on duty than the first visit. Afternoon tea: a bit expensive for the holiday experience. They were offering photos which was a lovely gesture but if I may suggest - that type of information would be good to have with the holiday afternoon tea information because had I known about it, I would have put make up on and as it was my hair wasn’t done nicely due to the cancelled appointment I had booked in for before the afternoon tea. Mowry & Cotton: delicious a la carte breakfast and gracious servers each time. Dinner food was also good despite not being what I was hoping for in terms of variety of restaurants. Really nice service from the front desk - asked for a late check out but it couldn’t be afforded for my room. They managed to find me a another room instead for my last few hours and it was so appreciated. I hate resort fees and was able to take advantage of none of the inclusions because I had no interest in them. I hope a hotel significantly more wealthy than I am enjoys the forced donation from me. While I think resort fees are unethical, if you must charge them, please think about a dining or spa credit. Overall it’s still a great property with polished and professional staff but I no longer think of it as the best Marriott in the US which was my impression after my first stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear MsHellfire, Thank you for your loyalty and for being a Marriott Bonvoy member. We are delighted to read your kind remarks regarding your time at The Phoenician. It is excellent to know you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations, easy check-in, and our friendly front desk service. Thank you for mentioning your wonderful dining experience at the Mowry & Cotton, our in-house restaurant. We are also glad you could take advantage of our spa. However, your comments let us know there are areas where we could focus attention to improve our service. We will evaluate what we can do differently going forward to avoid such inconveniences. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope you will stay with us again when your travels bring you this way. Sincerely, Denise Seomin Director of Public Relations
Read more
$277 - $807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the phoenician, scottsdale hotel scottsdale, phoenician hotel scottsdale, the phoenician hotel scottsdale
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaScottsdale
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale
Which popular attractions are close to The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Nearby attractions include Arizona Party Bike (1.9 miles), Alcatraz Escape Games (4.7 miles), and Mavrix (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a spa, a concierge, and conference facilities.
Which room amenities are available at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frost A Gelato Shoppe, Cafe Monarch, and Franco's Italian Caffe.
Are there any historical sites close to The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wrigley Mansion (4.4 miles), Cosanti (4.2 miles), and Old Adobe Mission (1.9 miles).
Does The Phoenician, a Luxury Collection Resort, Scottsdale have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.