We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 255: English reviews
Edmonds
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having always stayed in Phoenix but never in Scottsdale, this looked like a good place to stay to attend the Barrett-Jackson auction at Westworld. We like Best Western hotels, this one had a moderate room rate compared to others in the area so we thought we'd give it a shot: one of the best decisions ever. Not much within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. We strive to make sure each one of our guests feels like they are at home with family. Thanks again for your continued support and loyalty to our hotel. Looking...

Taos, New Mexico
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed on the 2nd floor of the hotel, room 204. Avoid it if you can. Our room faced the interior court yard and the bedroom the Scottsdale airport. The air conditioner was broken and attempts to fix it did not work. Even though we were there in the winter, this kept the room stuffy. Staff did not move us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for yourself and other guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Best Western served us well. We were on the road all day and need a hotel for the night before heading to the Phoenix airport the next morning. I had pre-booked the hotel, for the price and that it was close to a shopping mall. We would only have the evening, so all we could fit it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Winnie W
Port Washington, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me say this is an older place that is remodeled and they did an excellent job of it. Steve at breakfast will knock your socks off. Never had service like this at a breakfast in any chain of hotel. Had a kind suite,very roomy inside. Only complaint is the very small bathroom. I understand that it is almost impossible...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. We strive to make sure each one of our guests feels like they are at home with family. Thanks again for your continued support and loyalty to our hotel. Greg...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location in North Scottsdale is close to Kirkland Commons, good restaurants, Musical Instrument Museum, and 101 access. Although older property, suite was clean. Rooms were large with small bathroom. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. We strive to make sure each one of our guests feels like they are at home with family. Thanks again for your continued support and loyalty to our hotel. Greg...

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there over Xmas break from the cold. Grand daughters had a ball at the pool all day. Had drinks and supper at the hotel. Lots of great air craft pics in the bar.Next to the Scottsdale airport. The gal in the pub was very helpful about the menu only opens at I think 4:00 P M , not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shortcut751
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. We strive to make sure each one of our guests feels like they are at home with family. Thanks again for your continued support and loyalty to our hotel. Greg...

DURANGLO, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

WOW!! We came to this Hotel for a soccer tournament.. It is a very nice place, great courtyard, kinda makes you feel like your in Hawaii. Nice pool and hot tub. The room was fine BUT the Hotel Staff was the KINDEST, Most HELPFUL, Best Staff I have Ever Experienced. The Kitchen staff goes Above and Beyond. At breakfast, before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Byron T
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. We strive to make sure each one of our guests feels like they are at home with family. Thanks again for your continued support and loyalty to our hotel. Greg...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You get what you pay for !!! Mattress needs to be replaced. The cleaners could not speak English thus making requests impossible. A couple of them were just young teenagers from Africa not really trained at dealing with the paying public. Steve in the breakfast room was EXCELLENT !!!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 680alfg
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here on TripAdvisor. We apologize we didn't meet your standards this time. We would encourage you to call "Guest Services" next time you would like to request anything for your room. We believe in equal opportunity here at our hotel, and regardless of race/demographics we feel our Hospitality staff are...

Sherman Oaks, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value for the money. Great location for shopping in Scottsdale. The suites were large and staff is very friendly and helpful. No noise from the airport inside the room. Didn't have a chance to try the breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T4925FGerick
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. We strive to make sure each one of our guests feels like they are at home with family. Thanks again for your continued support and loyalty to our hotel. Greg...

Williams, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a nicely appointed, clean suite, the pool was heated to 80* and the hot tub to 104*. Great fun for the youngsters. Most of the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was great. A good selection for carb lovers, paleos and vegetarians. We were next to a landing strip so there was a fair amount of airport...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katarinas387
ThunderbirdSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear, you found your stay enjoyable and of great value. We apologize you found the rooms dark. We choose LED lights to be more in line with energy conservation, and to have less of a carbon footprint on our environment. In other words...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

350 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double (64)
Viewed
Standard King (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
VIP Suite (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Scottsdale North - Airpark
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
#41 of 76 in Scottsdale
576 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale North/Perimeter Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of North Scottsdale, two blocks from Kierland Commons, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites is a newly renovated all suites hotel. A warm and friendly atmosphere and a smiling face from our guest services staff are just the first hints of what is in store for you during your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites. For business or leisure, our hotel offers the services and features to help you make the most of your stay. We are pet friendly! Our resort hotel and Silver Wings Restaurant and Lounge, located in the center of north Scottsdale and two blocks from upscale “main street” Kierland Commons shopping and dining, offers many of the services and amenities that are found at larger Scottsdale resort hotels at a fraction of the cost, yet with an improved service only a smaller hotel can offer. Plus, our hotel is literally only steps next to the new Scottsdale Quarter shopping, dining, and offices. Should nostalgia strike you, our hotel is only minutes from Old Town Scottsdale with its myriad of boutique shops and galleries. At the BEST WESTERN PLSU Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites you are “close to home". We treat you to our own special brand of hometown hospitality. Our location is a perfect setting for your leisure travel in the Valley of the Sun or those ever important business meetings and seminars. No matter what your purpose for coming to Scottsdale, Phoenix or other points in the Valley, our resort hotel makes it happen for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites

Address: 7515 E Butherus Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85260-2416
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Price Range: $143 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Thunderbird Hotel Scottsdale
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#24 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#26 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you want peace and quiet, do NOT STAY here. The airport is right next door.”
 of 5 bubbles 691BrigitteB, 4 days ago | Read review
“Could not find a pic of the bar, but had some nice craft beers”
 of 5 bubbles Shortcut751, 1 week ago | Read review
“We were on the 2nd floor. They had elevators and lots of different stairs. Parking all around you your close anywhere you are.”
 of 5 bubbles byront128, 1 week ago | Read review
“select a room away from the front entrance since the airport faces the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelRalphy, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Request a room away from the stairs and airport side.”
 of 5 bubbles , Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay