We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saguaro Scottsdale

Save
Share
4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3942
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$171
$144
View deal
Expedia.com$144
Official Site$144
Priceline$144
Hotels.com$144
Travelocity$144
FindHotel$171
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (503)
360
Panoramas (4)
Pool & Beach (163)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Saguaro Scottsdale
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#57 of 85 hotels in Scottsdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1117Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 390
  • 328
  • 214
  • 117
  • 68
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Deena F wrote a review Jul 2021
Queens, New York269 contributions122 helpful votes
This hotel is perfect for what it is. It offers amazing options for large groups. It is for sure an old motel that has been repurposed. rooms are old and lackluster but the amenities are really what makes your stay. The pool and bar service is excellent. Also was a huge fan of the hotel's restaurant and happy hour. They made the whole process easy from start to finish. I would probably only stay here again if it was a big group or a bachelorette because the rooms are not great. But all in all this was the perfect hotel for our girls trip.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Saguaro Scottsdale
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Deen! Thank you so much for the kind review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed all of our wonderful amenities, and will see you back for a future visit!
Read more
2LPhx wrote a review Jul 2021
Phoenix, Arizona2 contributions
I have to say from start to finish my stay at The Saguaro was absolutely incredible! One gentleman made my entire stay! It started with phone call that morning. I had stated that I was coming in for an early birthday present to myself and would it be possible for an early check-in. A very friendly guy by the name of Giles answered the call, let me know that check-in wasn't until 4, but what was the name on the reservation so he could see if it was available. I gave him my name, he said it was available and to come to the hotel whenever was convenient for me. What a great touch! I didn't feel rushed to get to the property. I continued to tell him that I was celebrating my birthday early which is next week, I discovered that my birthday was the day after his. I knew from that point that I was going to like this guy. When I got to the hotel he let me know that I received a free upgrade and that my room was now facing the main pool. I was almost in tears saying "Wow, no one has ever done this for me" When I got to my room, there was a bottle of champagne with a card that read "Happy Early Birthday Twin" I immediately called the front desk letting him know how special he had made me feel. The rest of my stay was amazing, room was nice, bed very comfortable. Pool party with DJ was so much fun, staff at the pool are very friendly and every time I came to the front desk, he remembered who I was. When I was getting ready to check out, he shared with me that he was said to see me go, that is when I shared with him, I was nervous celebrating an early birthday by myself but he made it the best birthday ever! He is a great asset to your front desk staff! You struck gold with him and I will defiantly be back because of him and how special he made me feel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Saguaro Scottsdale
Responded 6 days ago
Hi! Thank you so much for the great review! We are so fortunate to have Giles on our team as Front Office Supervisor, and his dedication to exceptional service shows here! We cannot wait to have you back!
Read more
Mark wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
2 stars... Those stars were due to the location - walking distance to everything in Old Town... If I was looking for a 20 something party atmosphere, might be 3.5 stars. Started off with a non-inviting reception when we checked in - no smiles, no welcome, just here are your keys and your room is over there (pointing)...Got to our 3rd floor room, and there was an air conditioning unit sitting on the floor at the end of the hallway - not a good sign...Got in our room and was about 83 degrees - cranked up the AC to the max and left the room because it was too warm to be in there... Got back to our room about an hour later and no change in temp - called the front desk to let them know, and the said they were going to send  maintenance... Half hour later I called back to see if they could just put us in a different room... They did, but later found out that they knew previously that all 3rd floor rooms were having AC issues...WTF. Apparently the DJ they have at one of the pools draws young partiers - music was so loud and obnoxious I felt like we were at a Spring break hotel - my girlfriend even saw a top less girl walking around the lobby from the Mexican restaurant we were eating at that they have there ! (Regarding the restaurant- ordered a pitcher of house margaritas, and charged us $60 for it - not to mention when we were done with it, it was still filled to the top with ice...note they did adjust it down to $45) Decor is bright and colorful, but outdated and seemed they haven't done anything since they first opened - just looked rundown ! Also never got housekeeping service to our room...granted we didn't leave the room until noon (had the "need service" sign on our door knob when we left), but got back later that night, and no service. Bottom line - if you're 21-30 and single, and looking for a Sprink Break atmosphere, this might be the place for you...If not, do yourself a favor and go elsewhere !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Saguaro Scottsdale
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Mark, I am disappointed to hear this feedback. I would love to hear more about your stay if possible. Specifically which room(s) and dates of your stay if possible so I can look into this further, and hopefully discuss a return visit. Kind Regards, Clint Sparks csparks@thesaguaro.com
Read more
rochellemharris wrote a review Jun 2021
Sao Paulo, SP27 contributions23 helpful votes
I checked in, and then checked out within an hour. This place is not what it appears to be in the photos, and is not 4 stars. At best, it is 2-3. I feel compelled to write this review -like others- because of the questionable ethics of the photos presented here and on other sites. They look nothing like the real state of the hotel or the rooms and I felt ripped off and lied to. Firstly, a 4 star hotel would have some kind of assistance with bags, even if only trolleys. This isn't really an issue for me personally, but to give you an idea, 4 stars would generally require this. Rather, you'll lug your bags across the driveway and through a dark motel setup that is pretty similar to the off-strip lairs in Las Vegas. So from the get-go, the treatment is backpacker hostel style. This place was clearly a motel, and still is. Someone has added some air-conditioning units and bought some Ikea furniture to meet some kind of basic requirement. Either that or the hotel is just flagrantly declaring themselves 4 stars when it is not. The hallways are in poor repair, dirty purple carpet and cement (since it's basically a ghetto-style open apartment building) and doors that do not shut properly at all, even when you pull them shut. This could easily be jimmied, and since the hallways are open air (not in an enclosed building), you rely completely on the security keeping watch of who enters the premises. I requested a change of rooms, since the first stank of mould. However, the second also smelled of mould and salt damp/water infiltration, and the ceiling is made of nasty old stucco. 4 star hotels generally don't use stucco as a surface, pro-tip. There were stains on the walls, the carpet is stained, dark blue, and looks like a dirty old pub carpet and doesn't match the decor, further making it obvious that this place has been partially upgraded to meet some kind of basic requirement. The bath fittings (tub and shower) are clearly original, old as hell, and look like.a deceased estate home, probably from the 50s. The basin and floor have been replaced, though. The walls were stained, and given the state of the walls, carpet, hallways, grimy doors to the rooms, and stench of mould, I had no desire to sleep in any bed this hotel offered and immediately requesting cancellation, refund of the remaining nights, and booked myself in elsewhere. I had booking.com contact the hotel and apparently a full refund was offered, which I appreciated. However, upon leaving, I asked the employee just starting his shift if the room had been refunded yet, to which he snarkily -complete with eyeroll and glare- answered yes. As of right now -over 24 hours later- I have received no notification of this, no refund or even a response from the hotel when I wrote to them directly. They have also charged me $150 for incidentals, and have not refunded it. I will be reporting this establishment to the BBB for misleading advertising if I have not received their response within the next 24 hours. Do not stay here unless you're really skint for cash or plan to get blackout drunk and don't mind staying in absolute squalor. The only upside is the excellent location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Saguaro Scottsdale
Responded Jun 27, 2021
Hi Rochelle, We are very disappointed in seeing this feedback, and that we did not meet your expectations this time. We appreciate your patience while we have fully resolved the billing and payment concerns with your booking agent. We are diligently working to grow our staff and enhance our property to provide nothing but the finest for our valued guests. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to reach out. Kind Regards, Clint Sparks
Read more
Alison S wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The Saguaro is the perfect place to stay in Scottsdale. The room was spacious, and we were able to walk right to the pool from our outdoor patio! The pool is so much fun - friendly people and staff and delicious drinks. It’s also the perfect location - walking distance to Old Town that has a variety of fun dive bars and clubs. 10/10 recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Saguaro Scottsdale
Responded Jun 23, 2021
Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and cant wait to have you back!! Kind Regards, Clint Sparks Director of Rooms
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaScottsdaleDowntown Scottsdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
194
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Saguaro Scottsdale
Which popular attractions are close to Saguaro Scottsdale?
Nearby attractions include Scottsdale Center for the Arts (0.1 miles), Old Town Scottsdale (0.2 miles), and Old Adobe Mission (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Saguaro Scottsdale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Saguaro Scottsdale?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Saguaro Scottsdale?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Saguaro Scottsdale?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Saguaro Scottsdale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rehab Burger Therapy, Sugar Bowl Ice Cream Parlor, and Daily Dose.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Saguaro Scottsdale?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Saguaro Scottsdale located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Scottsdale.
Are any cleaning services offered at Saguaro Scottsdale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Saguaro Scottsdale?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Saguaro Scottsdale offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.