We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
Tucson
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Since there was a Certificate of Excellence for the best hotel and resort from Trip Advisor displayed in the lobby, I don't believe I need to say anything more. All I'd like to say is that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and will certainly go back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank junaidadil
Whitney S, Public Relations Manager at Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place is amazing! Definitely not your cookie cutter chain hotel. This place has charm, character and a style all it's own. Sure there are things that could use some updating, but we stayed in the Roadrunner section and had no complaints at all about the bed or tv like some on here have mentioned. The pool area is stunning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 18Rowdy51
Ionia, Michigan
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My stay at the Esplendor was absolutely wonderful, on a work related assignment I was there for 3 weeks and the staff is oustanding.,My room was very nice and housekeeping did a great job. To all my new friens at Esplendor..GREAT JOB!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I needed to be nearby for a work assignment, wanted to be a little farther from the border, so chose Rio Rico. The grounds are beautiful, and Jesus at the front desk was very efficient and friendly. Lot of stairs to reach the room, as the property is on a hillside, so keep that in mind. The room doesn't look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
Maggie E, Public Relations Manager at Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico, responded to this review

Thank you for your time in reviewing our property and thank you for choosing us on your visit to the area. I am very sorry we fell short of your expectations. We take all of our comments seriously and have looked very carefully at each area you have pointed out, with the goal of preventing future occurrences. Thank you again...

Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our second time here. Considering the first time we stayed here it was free from a gift I didn't give it a second thought.this time since we had to pay it was disappointing.l Rooms were HOT, beds were uncomfortable, the service from the front desk was not helpful. We asked for a fan and the clerk didn't even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lacye3
Maggie E, Public Relations Manager at Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico, responded to this review

Dear Lacye3, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take all of our comments very seriously. Our staff takes great pride in providing not only excellent facilities, but excellent service as well. We have looked very carefully at each area you have pointed out, with the goal of preventing future occurrences. Thank you again for your...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was a planned trip for two for a quick getaway to southern Arizona from Phoenix. Went into it with high expectations, not so much because of the review on here so much as past experience with Heritage Properties having stayed in their properties in Santa Fe and Albuquerque last year. Reserved a "theme" suite because the picture made it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank northernk
Maggie E, Public Relations Manager at Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico, responded to this review

Dear Northernk, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our staff takes great pride in providing not only excellent facilities, but excellent service as well. We have looked very carefully at each area you have pointed out, with the goal of preventing future occurrences. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff making up for the...

morfeo3
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed there for one night. Given the area and choice of hotels I really liked the Esplendor. Yes based on what previous guests indicated there is no elevator and the rooms are old. Very true but that didnt bother me one bit. The rooms have a cool western decor with the carpet being very cool indian design. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank morfeo3
Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Be prepared to lug suitcases up 3 flights of stairs if your room is on the 3rd floor! It is an older hotel that does not have any elevators. The rooms are located in various buildings on the grounds. Our building had rooms with the high desert view. If you don't want to lug your suitcases up lots of stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GVgolfer2aces
lg1955
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Spent two nights a couple weeks ago, very disappointing. Grounds and pool area are very well kept and nice, but rooms need updating badly and the TV got so hot it was scary. Beds were not comfortable and needed a chair or loveseat for watching TV. Restaurant was slow service in the evening and our food was cold when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lg1955
MESA, AZ
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Hoteland ground were very cleanand well kept. The Rooms need to be updated The beds were not comfortable at all squeeky and the springs wre coming thru. The Room needed a chair or two the. TV was old and hot. The Resturant service was slowwwwwww

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AZFAN92
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rico
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
40 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Nogales
22.6 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover simplicity, beauty, and understated elegance. The Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico combines the essence of the Old West with spirit of Old Mexico. With its acclaimed cuisine, championship golf, and memorable vistas, Esplendor Resort offers an exciting place for travelers to enjoy the beautiful scenery and history of southern Arizona. The 179 comfortable guest rooms are adorned with evocative Southwest furnishings. Just 40 minutes south of Tuscon, Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico will transport you to another world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico

Address: 1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648-1610
Location: United States > Arizona > Rio Rico
Price Range: $60 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor Resort At Rio Rico Hotel Rio Rico
Esplendor Resort Rio Rico
Esplendor Hotel Rio Rico
Rio Rico Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are quiet because it is far from anything.”
denisebO8535EN, May 21, 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra $20 for a suite”
divenride, Apr 27, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an outside room on an upper floor for the best views.”
ba272, Apr 25, 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a pool and garden view. Other rooms have beautiful panoramic views of the surrounding valley and mountains-- just beautiful!”
  • View of Santa Cruz River Valley from hotel patio
faldago, Apr 4, 2016 | Read review
“Pool side has more activity and noise”
rprmontana, Mar 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question