We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
California
Reviewed October 14, 2014

Like other reviews when you walk in the unit you think this is pretty nice. Well it didn't take long to see how dirty it was. The couch had two rips in it with multiple stains, baseboards were filthy. In a corner by the couch there were dead moths and dirt, decorative vase had trash in it, dirty around toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kstuewe
Edwin H, Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Dear kstuewe, I sincerely apologize for not meeting the standard we set for ourselves...we strive to make all our guest's stays as pleasant as possible. We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience and your comments will assist us in our re-training efforts of our housekeeping staff and to make future guest's stays are up to...

Rosenberg, Texas
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The units are very spacious, nicely decorated and well equipped kitchen. The pool area is beautiful and great for kids with a splashpad and different pool options. We really loved the wildlife and hiking - just from our porch we saw a cyote and a jackrabbit, as well as several birds and lizards. When we arrived I realized that our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris C
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing withcleanliness issues. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Thank...

New York
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The location on the South Mountain Preserve was fantastic. We went hiking each day right from the resort. There were 2 large pools, a small warm pool, a hot tub and a splash pad. All of the pools were well maintained and designed in a way in which the pool area never felt crowded. The resort is conveniently located 1.5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa M
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, Melissa for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We are glad you enjoyed the pools and the location of the resort. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

rocklin
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I was amazed at the spaciousness of the condos. The kitchen was equipped with plenty of silverware and kitchen necessities. The mini packets of spices helped tremendously and came in handy. This place was beautiful and the decor was spot on (not the cheesy carpet band accessories I've experienced in the past). The cleanliness was not necessarily bad; but, could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tr21
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, TR21 for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are doing some renovations that we expect to make our property even better. I apologize that there were some details that were overlooked. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next...

Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

When I 1st walked in, it looked like it was going to be a nice place to stay. As I started to walk around I realized that the place was not as clean as it looked. I brought cleaning wipes with me and as I wiped things down I realized how bad a job housekeeping did if any. The kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvia G
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Slyvia G, We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with a unit that was not cleaned to standards. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The property and Resort Unit were and awesome experience though I had a problem with excessive noise from tenants above. I notified management and the problem was quickly resolved. my overall experience was excellent. It was a very clean and beautiful place. There's no going back to staying in hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RonnieH227
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

We are so sorry about the inconvenience from the noise of other guests. We know it is important to feel completely relaxed when on vacation. Thank you for letting us know while you were on site so that we could do what would could to limit the noise for you. We are happy to do what we can in making...

Moose Jaw
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Spent 7 days at the WorldMark South Mountain Preserve in a spacious 2 bedroom condo with a garage. Master bedroom had a king size bed, full bathroom with closet that would fit a double bed and you still would have room to walk around in the closet! Other room had 2 doubles and a spacious closet. There was another bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shirley J
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, Shirley J for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to assist with area reccomendations. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Chugiak, Alaksa
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days in June 2014. We are mom, nanny, and 3 year old daughter. The unit itself was clean and adequate. We exchanged through RCI for 3 nights and we were placed in a 2 bedroom unit on the ground floor that did not have a garage. This was ok with us since it was to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mart0146
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you,Mart0146 for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are so glad we were able to accomodate you for extra nights. Glad to hear your trip home was manageable. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

West Richland, Washington
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in a two bedroom condo and it was very nice. Everything worked, you got your own private indoor garage for the car, it was clean, the pool area is very well maintained. It is out of the way, there are no restaurants within walking distance, grocery stores are a bit of a drive,and so are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pickyandproudofit
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We are Raintree Vacation Club owners and originally stayed at this property in 2010 soon after they acquired it. The property needed a face lift, but was well managed. The property was mostly sold to Worldmark in 2012 or 2013 and we stayed there again in December 2013 and had a terrible experience. The reservations were lost. Then when we...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Susan A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
South Mountain
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#16 of 174 in Phoenix
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is nearly impossible for anyone who is in any way sensitive to the beauty and grandeur of nature to stand in this special place and not feel the power that the Pimas refer to as the strong medicine of the South Mountain Preserve. Here, we have rediscovered a special place to share with our owners and guests. This is truly a place of deep relaxation and natural beauty. A place gently cradled in the largest regional wilderness park preserve in the country which covers over 50 square miles of pristine Sonoran desert. Surrounded by unspoiled panoramas and teeming with a stunning variety of wildlife that belongs to this desert community, it is seemingly a remote retreat, minutes from downtown Phoenix. ... more   less 

Additional Information about WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Address: 4647 E Francisco Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5366 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Price Range: $221 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Arroyo Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel South Mountain Preserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hampton, Virginia
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles AlisonSaskatchewan, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“beware the west facing patios in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles tomq123, Feb 27, 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanGreeley_Co, Jan 3, 2016 | Read review
“I booked on airbnb website and got a great rate as these are privately owned condos”
 of 5 bubbles Lollypup1, Dec 30, 2015 | Read review
“Prefer ground floor at this location”
 of 5 bubbles Ed86351, Dec 20, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question