We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Kingman, Arizona
Reviewed December 19, 2014

Every once in a while, I need to remind myself why I write these reviews. If I have an outstanding experience, I want to compliment the facility and recommend it to potential guests. If my stay has been unacceptable, I feel a responsibility to forewarn prospective guests. Many reviewers comment solely about outside timeshare amenities or local attractions. My reviews,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank NWArizona
Edwin H, Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Hello BlueKauai21, we most definitely strive to provide our Owners and Guests with a clean and safe unit for their stay and I sincerely apologize for you having a negative experience with us…and, we will use your feedback to improve our service. Allow me first to explain that the unit you stayed in is NOT a WorldMark or Wyndham unit...

South Windsor, CT USA
Reviewed November 22, 2014

While the ease of accessing everything in and around South Mt and southern areas of Phoenix, this location has a few issues to be resolved before more 'stars' are awarded. First the negatives: odd odor in the reception area, annoying loud music in the pool area and the allowance of residents to have it turned off only to blare their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KLGale
Edwin H, General Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Hello KLGale, I appreciate you taking the time to review our resort and we are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do not allow the Owners and Guests to play their own music at the pool so I will address that issue with our staff. It is continuous feedback such as yours that will make us...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed November 9, 2014

we spent three night here and felt that we could easily live in one of these units. The one room we had we well set out and the bonus of a lock up garage. The unit was clean and we could not fault the housekeeping at all. The washing machine was noisy but in the garage, so not a problem....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mon55
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, Mon55 for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We are so glad you enjoyed South Mountain Preserve and our pool/BBQ area. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed November 2, 2014

I have to admit, I was apprehensive about coming to this WM property after reading reports of poor housekeeping and dirty rooms reported from multiple people on Trip advisor and on the WM forum. I think WM corrected this because I can tell you that my two bedroom unit was clean and ready for us the day we arrived. My...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jgmackay2000
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, Jgmackay2000 for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The reason there are no BBQs for each unit is it is against Phoenix City Code. We are working on getting some more propane BBQs to put near each building. Again, thank you for reaching out and...

Washington
Reviewed October 31, 2014

The resort itself is fairly normal for Worldmark. The units are nice. Supposedly remodeled a couple of years ago. However, it is the South Mountain Preserve that beings us back here. We hike every morning. The weather is perfect and the hikes can be simple or tough. We always choose a three bedroom unit for the space and guarantee of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAG28
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you,LAG28 for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.The South Mountain Preserve is an awesome park. We offer a guided trail walk once per week with a representative from Pink Jeep Tours for free that you may be interested in on your next visit. Again, thank you...

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed October 25, 2014

I was so excited to learn that WorldMark now has a property in Phoenix and I just had an opportunity to stay for three nights. The only negative at all about this new resort is the location. It seemed strange to me to drive through a business park, made up primarily of Charles Schwab buildings, to reach the resort. Other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbbieH
Edwin H, Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, AbbieH for the kind words. We will be sure to share these with our staff. For your future visits please feel free to request a 2nd floor unit for which the washer/dryers are located inside the units instead of the garage. (with the exception of the 1 bedroom units which are all on the ground floor) Our staff...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Staff was great, area was clean and location was perfect for my wife's conference at the Arizona Grand. The pool area was nice and relaxing but one of the hot tub was not working. I liked the location cuz I got up and went for a hike right outside the front door. The condo was very clean and didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Utah_traveler99
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, Utah_traveler99 for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.The trails that leave from the property into South Mountain are amazing. We have repaired the hot tub and it is in working order, we apologize that you experienced it being down.Again, thank you for reaching out and...

California
Reviewed October 14, 2014

Like other reviews when you walk in the unit you think this is pretty nice. Well it didn't take long to see how dirty it was. The couch had two rips in it with multiple stains, baseboards were filthy. In a corner by the couch there were dead moths and dirt, decorative vase had trash in it, dirty around toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kstuewe
Edwin H, Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Dear kstuewe, I sincerely apologize for not meeting the standard we set for ourselves...we strive to make all our guest's stays as pleasant as possible. We appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience and your comments will assist us in our re-training efforts of our housekeeping staff and to make future guest's stays are up to...

Rosenberg, Texas
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The units are very spacious, nicely decorated and well equipped kitchen. The pool area is beautiful and great for kids with a splashpad and different pool options. We really loved the wildlife and hiking - just from our porch we saw a cyote and a jackrabbit, as well as several birds and lizards. When we arrived I realized that our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris C
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing withcleanliness issues. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Thank...

New York
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The location on the South Mountain Preserve was fantastic. We went hiking each day right from the resort. There were 2 large pools, a small warm pool, a hot tub and a splash pad. All of the pools were well maintained and designed in a way in which the pool area never felt crowded. The resort is conveniently located 1.5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa M
Anna H, Front Office Manager at WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve, responded to this review

Thank you, Melissa for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.We are glad you enjoyed the pools and the location of the resort. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
South Mountain
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is nearly impossible for anyone who is in any way sensitive to the beauty and grandeur of nature to stand in this special place and not feel the power that the Pimas refer to as the strong medicine of the South Mountain Preserve. Here, we have rediscovered a special place to share with our owners and guests. This is truly a place of deep relaxation and natural beauty. A place gently cradled in the largest regional wilderness park preserve in the country which covers over 50 square miles of pristine Sonoran desert. Surrounded by unspoiled panoramas and teeming with a stunning variety of wildlife that belongs to this desert community, it is seemingly a remote retreat, minutes from downtown Phoenix. ... more   less 

Additional Information about WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve

Address: 4647 E Francisco Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5366 (Formerly Desert Arroyo)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Price Range: $146 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Arroyo Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel Phoenix
Canyonview Hotel South Mountain Preserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hampton, Virginia
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from WorldMark Phoenix - South Mountain Preserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“beware the west facing patios in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles tomq123, Feb 27, 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanGreeley_Co, Jan 3, 2016 | Read review
“I booked on airbnb website and got a great rate as these are privately owned condos”
 of 5 bubbles Lollypup1, Dec 30, 2015 | Read review
“Prefer ground floor at this location”
 of 5 bubbles Ed86351, Dec 20, 2015 | Read review
“I like the rooms on the back because you can see the Preserve it backs up to.”
  • This is seen on the trail right behind the resort.
  • Love the wild life and nature
 of 5 bubbles Judyann1962, Oct 29, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question