We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Save
Share
5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
JW Marriott
$529
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/23/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$529
$509
View deal
SAVE $20
Free cancellation until 09/23/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Agoda.com$509
Expedia.com$509
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1595)
Room & Suite (457)
Pool & Beach (199)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Updated 04/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 187 hotels in Phoenix
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Pursue your passions and discover award-winning service at the AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. Our hotel in Phoenix, Arizona, showcases an array of extraordinary amenities for couples, groups and families, including an on-site spa, championship golf at Wildfire Golf Club, seventeen pickleball courts, five pools and a lazy river. Stretch out in gracefully designed rooms and suites with luxury bedding, modern technology and floor-to-ceiling windows; many feature views of the mountains, golf club or resort pools. Invigorate your mind and body at Revive Spa, or play a round on one of our two immaculate golf courses, designed by Arnold Palmer and Nick Faldo.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Paid public parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
3,223Reviews103Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,022
  • 819
  • 235
  • 81
  • 66
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jason T wrote a review Yesterday
New Baltimore6 contributions2 helpful votes
Overall our experience was great. We visited during spring break and knew the hotel was going to be busy. The staff were very friendly and positive people. The lazy river and play area were great for our 12 year old. He met alot of friends and kept active and busy the entire time. The bars had a great liquor and wine selection for us adults. Poolside drinks were great as well. Food was great at all of the restaurants. The rooms were a bit small for a JW in my opinion. Housekeeping was spotty, we had to call the front desk for towels several times but they were fast to deliver them.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded today
Dear Jasonmthuss, thank you for the warm compliments. It is always wonderful to hear from our guests, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled that you and your family were able to take advantage of our five sparkling pools, lazy river, and waterslide. It was our pleasure serving you at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Geni1980 wrote a review Apr 9
Williams, Arizona19 contributions6 helpful votes
We checked in on a Monday and checking out on Saturday... we haven’t been anywhere in over a year and even without this pandemic I was reminded why hotels are not family friendly. We reserved a suite and the pull out sofa bed was full of metal springs... we had to get two roll away beds for our kids that weren’t great or ideal. Then there was a concert that could be heard even if the tv was blasting and or sound machine until 8:30pm! We asked for housekeeping and they came a couple times, but just did the bare minimum and didn’t wipe things down... we are always very clean we just wanted the trash to be taken and the room tidied up a bit. The kids got a rash from the pool and all of our skin was insanely dry and no lotion would help! We also live in the desert and frequent the pool and other families complained as well about the pools... food was fine, but the restaurants weren’t open a lot of the time and It was hard to get service accept at the stone grill they were on it and great. I’m saddened and unhappy with the service we’ve had in the hotels we’ve been to In general in the last 10 years. There is no more quality in hospitality at hotels and it seems like customers are a bother... good thing there’s other options to stay at other places other than hotels these days...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Geni1980, We are truly sorry for not delivering the exceptional stay you deserve. Everything we do is aimed at giving each guest an enriching visit, so we are disappointed to know this was not your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the sofa bed in your room and for the disturbances from the nearby concert. We want you to know that we are working on ways to combat the noise issues. We know this was an inconvenience and hope you were still able to get a restful night's sleep. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Kasey D wrote a review Apr 4
2 contributions
Very disappointed thus far. Arrived with very excited children. Requested a room for 4 people when booking two months ago, was given a kind bed room with a twin pullout that was stained with pee. Room was tiny. Discussed with front desk personnel three times before finally speaking to a manager who at least moved us off the ground floor with no pee stains. Off to a bad start. Worst hotel we have been to with Marriott yet. Being gold members, would have at least expected a room upgrade to accommodate 4 people.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 987kaseyd, Please accept our apologies for the housekeeping issue you experienced. Our team works hard to provide clean and comfortable accommodations, but we obviously missed important inspection procedures. We have addressed this with our team and we are grateful for your patience. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area. We would welcome another opportunity to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
FranklinRicard wrote a review Apr 4
IA9 contributions4 helpful votes
TL;DR: Family of 5, 4 day/3night stay. Property itself is nice; small, outdated rooms with stained furniture; bad housekeeping; lack of good food options; mediocre service; not worth the price. Check in: know acknowledgement of elite status, welcome gift, etc. Service: We requested a rollaway bed and extra towels before our check in, at check in, then had to do it again two more times throughout the day before our request was granted. Restaurant servers and bartenders were great, but Marriott hotel staff were standoffish and unhelpful. We rented a cabana ($800/day) and the concierge just walked us to our cabana and said "this is yours" and walked away. Rooms: Disgusting and outdated. We booked a two twin room with a rollaway bed and it was cramped. I know, I know, that is a lot of furniture, but I have stayed in Courtyards that are twice the size of the rooms here. The furniture and decor are from the 1980's and very worn out. The blue sitting chair had stains all over it. The furniture on the balcony must be 10 years old and is falling apart. The balcony itself had food all over it when we arrived. The room had trash along the beds housekeeping must have not wanted to clean up. The bathroom is large, again, outdated. Beds were hard, rollaway was like sleeping on knives. We were told we had a view of the mountains... you could see them, just above all of the air conditioning units of the hotel. Just a bad, bad experience. Food: quite possibly the most underwhelming aspect of the resort. There are a handful of restaurants to choose from and they all stunk. The only saving grace was Starbucks (you'll wait in line a half hour no matter the time of day) and the taco bar by the lazy river. There are no breakfast options before 7:30 besides Starbucks--so beware central and east time zone folks. Breakfast is just overpriced grab and go food. Pools: the pools were ok, overly treated and our kids skin were irritated. We splurged on an $800 cabana by the lazy river and it made for a relaxing day by the pool for our younger kids. If I were to ever consider staying here again, I'd likely book the cheapest room, pay for the cabana for the days, go in on it with some other families, and stay on another property. Our experience was that bad. For the price you pay and the expectations that go along with the JW brand, they really struck out here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay in Unit 1 area.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear FranklinRicard, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry you experienced so many difficulties during your stay with us. This is not the type of review we are accustomed to receiving, and it is very disappointing to read. Your comments will be shared with our team, and we will take the appropriate steps to prevent these issues from happening again. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Bridget M wrote a review Apr 4
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We are currently staying here. This is day three and zero pool chairs available. Come on Marriott - chairs sit all day with pool towels on them and no uses them. I can’t even buy a cabana or pool chair all sold out. Zero social distancing by the pool. Really disappointed that I cannot spend time at the pool. Will NEVER come back. Complained to front desk and response was yeah I can’t get you a chair. WHAT? Not even a comp or I am sorry. WOW Marriott shame on you.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear bridgetmZ3838JJ, We are truly sorry for not delivering the exceptional stay you deserve. Everything we do is aimed at giving each guest an enriching visit, so we are disappointed to know this was not your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not able to get a chair by the pool. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$250 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jw marriott desert ridge resort & spa phoenix hotel phoenix, jw marriott desert ridge resort and spa phoenix, jw marriott phoenix, marriott phoenix, phoenix marriott
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaPhoenixDesert Ridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
950
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Desert Ridge Marketplace (0.4 miles), AMC Desert Ridge 18 (0.5 miles), and Almost Psychic LIVE!: Magic Show & The Mind Reader (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Desert Ridge, Roy's Restaurant - Desert Ridge, and Ocean Prime.
Are there opportunities to exercise at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cosanti (8.1 miles).
Does JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.