We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were a group of 14, 12 adults and two small children, in six rooms at the Tanoa Tusitala for five nights - overall a very positive experience for all of us. Facilities are great, rooms really spacious and the air conditioning was bliss! The hotel is close to everything - a great location! Our departure flight left late in... More 

Helpful?
Thank amdmtbi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've rated the Tanoa good, as mostly it is. The rooms are clean and spacious and bright. The staff at the deck are friendly and attentive. The food at The Deck has enough variety to not make you want to eat there more than once. However, the staff at the breakfast restaurant seem to have something they forget everyday. Is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KevinDwyer1956
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Kevin Thank you for your feedback which is particularly valuable coming from a long stay guest as often our gremlins become more apparent if you stay with us for extended periods. Consistency of service is the main area that we need to continue to monitor and our regional trainer will be spending time with us shortly to address this.... More 

Charlotte
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been unable to get into the Tanoa on previous visits (full both times), it was a pleasure to finally stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and the room was well presented, modern and very comfortable - it looked like it may have been recently refurbished. The pool bar was very pleasant. Breakfast was included in our rate -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-NC
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Kiwi NC As you have pointed out we do experience very high occupancies at our hotel due to our proximity to town, friendly staff and comfortable rooms and amenities. We are glad that you were finally able to experience our brand of hospitality and urge our guests to book early so as not to be disappointed. We hope to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thank you so much to Lafo, Jason, Selau and the staff @ Tanoa for having us stay for such short notice. Enjoyed it sooo much we wanted to extend our stays. Beautiful place to stay, awesome friendly staff and yummy food.. I recommend to anyone going to Samoa. A++++++

Helpful?
Thank Lopusi T
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lopusi We are glad that we were able to accommodate your family reunion at such short notice. As a family owned hotel ourselves we are happy you were all able to celebrate here with us in true Samoan spirit. We and Samoa will miss you all until next time. Regards Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay at Tanoa was great, it would've been perfect as the hotel itself and its facilities was stunning. We stayed at Tanoa for 18 nights and my only concern was with the bed bugs that we had in our room. We automatically thought that it was just mosquitoes during our stay so we did not think anything about it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marian M
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Marian Any reference to Bed Bugs is a hotels worst nightmare and this was brought to our attention at check out. As a result your room was immediately inspected by myself personally. Whilst I do not deny you may have been bitten by something I can assure you there was no evidence of aforementioned bedbugs that if present do... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing service and a massive mention to Jason & EJ for there efforts in looking after me. I have stayed at this hotels for six years now and must admit in the past two years the overall service of the hotel has improve ten fold. I generally visit Samoa 4 times a year on business. All a big mention to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank O9204ECstevea
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Steve As a loyal return guest we are certainly encouraged by not only the fact you continue to stay with us but the fact that you have witnessed improvements. I will certainly pass on your compliments to EJ and the chef and of course look forward to seeing you shortly. Regards Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I had an amazing experience! It was very professional and we were so happy with our stay! Everyone was so friendly and made us feel so comfortable, the food was amazing and the entertainment was so beautiful! We are definitely coming back in 2017 for our next visit in samoa, Thankyou so much Tanoa it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janelle L
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Janelle Always a pleasure to receive such a glowing endorsement of our property. Our professional and friendly staff are indeed what defines us and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Regards Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team. More 

Apia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I attended a conference held here in November and I was a bit disappointed with the food served particularly the chicken...the conference setting and facilities were very good though. They should work on improving food quality.

Helpful?
Thank ApiaTraveller
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Apia Traveller As you are aware as an Apia resident yourself, Tanoa Tusitala is the premier conferencing hotel in Samoa and has hosted numerous dignitaries and sporting teams. We welcome all feedback and are constantly looking at ways to improve. If you would like to drop into the hotel and be a little more specific in terms of your... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for a family trip with ten of us including four children under ten. It is ideally located in central Apia right next to the bus station, the 'old market' (which sadly burnt down in the last couple of days) and the fish market. The hotel is well designed in well kept pretty gardens with a large... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Oranges99
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Oranges Thank you for taking time out to write your review and hope you had a painless trip all the way back to the UK. Moreover we are glad that you and the tribe enjoyed their stay in Samoa and were able to catch up with family and have an authentic Samoan experience. Important to us is that you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tanoa is a comfortable, clean & well appointed hotel. The restaurant delivers great food and you have the option of room service. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is central enough but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Beach Road. The grounds are well kept and staff are always well presented.

Helpful?
Thank Lori S
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Lori Whilst we never would be so bold as to say we are the best hotel in Apia we will certainly graciously except your compliment. There are several different accommodation options depending on your budget and we all offer different levels of comfort according to your requirements. As the largest hotel in Apia we are certainly very popular with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 31 in Apia
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aga Reef Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amanaki Hotel
Amanaki Hotel
#3 of 31 in Apia
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#22 of 31 in Apia
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lupe Sina Treesort
Lupe Sina Treesort
#1 of 31 in Apia
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay