We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 555: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location within easy walk to central Apia. Service not as good as expected particularly at early check in. Rooms are spacious and clean. Beds okay - firm and clean without being luxurious. Breakfast is okay though not what it was a few years ago. Grounds generally are looking a bit tired - this should not impact your stay unless... More 

Helpful?
Thank mal220747
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Mal The majority of our guests comment on breakfast and our grounds being a feature. As a regular visitor could I ask you make contact with me so I can address your concerns in person. As much as I appreciate the great reviews we constantly receive I know I have to take the good with the bad but nothing... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children) stayed at the Tanoa Tusitala at the beginning (6 nights) and end (3 nights) of our recent trip to Samoa. We're already talking about returning the next time that we visit, because of the warmth, humour and great service of the staff - especially Helen and Taitai at reception, and Sarah, Havira,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KJP1972
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa KJP Holy awesome review Batman! It seems the friendliness of the staff has really made an impact on you. As I've mentioned before on this forum the success of a hotel goes far beyond the bricks and mortar and it really is the staff that are our competitive advantage. We certainly feel the new properties offer a new dimension... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Being regular visitors to Samoa this was our first time staying at Tanoa. Me n my husband got married 16/09/16 at Tanoa and they exceeded our expectations. Lafo did an amazing job going above and beyond to make sure our day was perfect despite our wedding being the same week as the Fashion Show. The outside set up for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Newly weds First of all congratulations on your wedding and thank you for choosing Tanoa Tusitala for your event. I appreciate you flagging the efforts of our staff during such a busy period at our hotel and am glad all the people in your party enjoyed such a momentous occasion. We specialize in large groups and are a very... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Tanoa for its position which was perfect, easy to walk into town yet away from the noise. The grounds are large and beautifully landscaped, with superb Samoan carvings dotted through the gardens. When we arrived I realised that the accomodation wings are two storeys with no lifts and we had been allotted an upstairs room. I instantly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aitape
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa aitape As always I am glad the staff were so accommodating and you were also able to soak in the elements of Samoan culture that the hotel offers. Great to hear about the staffs flexibility and professionalism. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Samoa. Regards Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pros - Location, Pool, Buffet Breakfast, Breakfast And Bar Staff are lovely. Cons - Staff at reception was rude, disorganised and pushes blame on to other staff members when things go wrong. -I stayed here for a week and it was a struggle to get 2 towels a day. I had to ask everyday for towels. I would recommend to... More 

Helpful?
Thank ashleymF3658KV
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Ashely As our hotel is the busiest in Apia our price value proposition sets the bench mark for our competitors. Regardless this value is immediately deminished if you perceive our staff members to be rude and we cant deliver on basic services. This is clearly not the norm nor the experience of the majority of our guests, however I... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tanoa.. loved that aircon was soo powerful and cooled the room with an instant. We stayed 2 nights, enjoyed a beautiful buffet breakfast. Swimming was beautiful loved the pool and that its near the bar. Found we had to keep calling for towels as both times rooms were serviced (we had 2 rooms between our group) we didn't receive fresh... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ToryyLane
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Tory Despite our air-conditioned rooms, awesome buffet breakfast and a lovely pool it seems the towel fairy has struck again. As mentioned in a previous response I personally unloaded a container of towels last week so I hope this nuisance will be a thing of the past. Otherwise glad you had a great time with us. Regards Jason and... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at the Tusitala are the jewels in the crown of this hotel. We nearly stayed at Aggies and I'm so glad we chose the Tusitala, it has character, soul and a really relaxed island atmosphere, without trying to be, it just is. Thank you to all the staff. Sincerely. Truly. Thank You.The Tusitala team made our week in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Schwalger
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Schwalger What a lovely review! Our goal is to make the same impression on all our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and noting the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. We are mindful of the other accommodation options in Apia and we know that we have to maintain the level of service that you mention... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights during Teuila festival. Our room was very spacious which was great. Breakfast in the mornings was really nice so as the pool which we spent alot of time in. The staff were great! Breakfast staff, bar, waiters, housekeepers all so lovely except for reception we didnt have the best service from them. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara T
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Sara Despite the towel debacle I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I personally unloaded half a container of towels this Saturday so I hope to never hear of this service gap again. Please be advised I will embark on another towel rant with my lovely and hardworking housekeepers and by the grace of the hospitality gods the problem... More 

Ogema, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I, Ipi P. IELI Vice President of SOFIAS had a blast at this hotel the hospitality that was shown to us was perfect. Everyone had a blast Thank you very much to Selau, Lofi, Jason and all the staff members in the housekeeping, kitchen, bar and front desk for being great hosts for the group. Keep it up TANOA.

Helpful?
Thank iieli1984
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa iieli It certainly was a blast and we were glad we were able to accommodate such a large group of distinguished ladies. We hope that this now becomes an annual pilgrimage for the Sofias. Regards Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I, Nani Uso, secretary of SOFIAS really appreciate the service from Tanoa Tusitala. The staff members were lovely and helpful. Everyone showed great customer service. Thank you very much Selau, Lofi, Alex , Tafale , Taitai and all the staff members in the housekeeping, kitchen, bar and front desk for being great hosts for the group. We really enjoyed our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Penani U
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review

Talofa Penani It was a real pleasure to host your group and you all certainly added some glamour and pizazz to the hotel during your stay. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to Tanoa Tusitala being the hotel of choice for your group in the future. Regards Jason and the Tanoa Tusitala team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

194 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (189)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apia hotels
1.5 mi away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
2.4 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 31 in Apia
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amanaki Hotel
Amanaki Hotel
#3 of 31 in Apia
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Millenia
Hotel Millenia
#15 of 31 in Apia
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to all major offices,and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There is 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features a swimming pool and children’s pool, Tamarind Specialty restaurant, tennis courts and Poolside Bar.Senakai Spa is located at the Hotel, and is the perfect place to rewind, relax and enjoy some wonderful Spa treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Price Range: $155 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Apia
#5 Family Hotel in Apia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay